Student Library Newsletter

In this issue:

Voting & Election Resources from Buhl Library 

Recommended CQ Reports include:

• Election Security and Voting Rights
• Political Polls
• The Electoral College

Meet your Library Staff

Each month we will feature a Q&A with a Buhl permanent staff member or student from the library.

 Meet Conni Shaw

How long have you worked at Buhl Library?

• 19 Years

Tell us a little about your educational background and work at GCC

• I am a GCC alum and graduated with an elementary education degree.
• Here at Buhl, I coordinate the library's Interlibrary Loan Service, copyright and Course Reserves

Name 2 things that people might not know about you:

1. I am creative and enjoy scrapbooking

2. One of my hidden talents is calligraphy. I have put my skills to use addressing envelopes with script for several weddings.

New Faculty Publication 

Halloween Books & Movies  

Here's what's on the list - 

Top L-R

1. It's the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown (film) 2. The Dead Room by Heather Graham  3. Black Creek Crossing by John Saul 

4. The Birds (film) 5. The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

Bottom L-R

1. The Shining by Stephen King  2. Young Frankenstein (film) 3. Heart Shaped Box by Joe Hill  4. Phantom of the Opera (film)

Meet HENRY

by: Gretchen Maxeiner

Discovery vs. Henry - Getting to know the library’s search tools

There are two great tools available to help you find the resources you need in the library collection. Which should you use when?

Discovery

Discovery allows you to search across most of the library’s resources, both what’s on the shelves and what’s in our online databases.  It’s like Google for the library.

Pros

• It’s convenient. You can search almost everything in the library at one time. You don’t need to know which database would be best for your research or decide what type of library resource you want to target.

Cons

• It can be overwhelming. Because it searches so much, you might get a lot of results. For example, a search on “Bible” retrieves over 475,000 results!
• It’s generic. Discovery pulls information from a lot of different sources and does the best it can with it. But it lacks the specialized search features you may find in individual databases or in Henry that are designed for a field or resource type.

Best for when you are

• open to a mix of resource types (books, articles, online content, etc.)
• especially interested in journal articles
• looking for a very narrow topic and really need to explore all options.

Access Discovery through the search box in the middle of the library home page.

Henry

Henry is our traditional library catalog, focusing on the library’s physical collection of books, DVDs, journal titles, etc. It also includes many eBooks that are part of our permanent online collection.

Pros

• It has great features. With features specifically designed for these types of materials, you can track items based on where they are housed in the library or how recently they were added to the collections, virtually browse the shelves, and more.

Cons

• It’s just one piece of the pie. Henry doesn’t include as much online content as Discovery or provide access to journal article information.

Best for when you are 

• looking for print books or DVDs
• researching a broad topic and want to find just a few good books covering it
• interested in using features that are especially suited to searching physical library collections.

Access Henry from the “Books (Library Catalog)” link under “Find” on the library home page.

If you have any questions or need help using HENRY, Discovery or any other library resource you can find the ways to get help from a librarian here. 

Autism Awareness Fundraiser

Back in March Buhl Library began selling Daffin's candy bars for our annual Autism Awareness event to buy school supplies for a local support classroom. This year's classroom is Miss Amy Cline's K - 5th grade autistic support classroom at Lakeview Area School District. We were able to raise $360 by selling 720 candy bars to purchase items on her wishlist.  You can see the supplies below. Thank you for your support GCC and your sweet tooth to support a great cause!

Happy Stay at Homecoming Weekend

In celebration of Stay at Homecoming weekend, the staff of Buhl Library thought it would be fun to recreate one of our favorite photos from years past. 

The image on the top pictured above is from the mid to late 1950s after Buhl Library opened in the fall of 1954. The first two pictured staff members are Mary Reynold, and Isabel Forbes. We're unsure of the identity of the third librarian. They are pictured with two students. Isabel graduated from Grove City College in 1923 and was the head librarian from 1925 - 1960. Mary Reynold is a graduate from 1937.

Flash forward to Fall 2020 more than 60 years later and our front desk area looks the same with the addition of some new technology behind the desk. Pictured on the two ends are our student workers and three librarians behind the desk. From left to right - Cole Greer, Joyce Kebert, Megan Babal, Barbra Munnell and Emma Nitzsche. 

Featured Collection : Celebrating Women in Law 

With the recent death of Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg we are featuring a collection of books about women in law this month. Below you will find books about Justice Ginsburg's life as well as her own writings. Ruth Bader Ginsburg leaves behind a legacy as a champion of fighting for equal rights for everyone under the law especially for women. After graduating at the top of her class from Columbia Law School she was unable to find a job and faced first hand the gender discrimination that she would later argue against in the Supreme Court. Out of the 6 cases she argued, she won 5. She focused on gender stereotypes and their harm to both men and women often taking up cases fighting for equal rights for men as well. Her work has had a direct impact on common activities such as opening a checking account, applying for a credit card or signing a mortgage that we may not think twice about today. However, less than 50 years ago women were required to have a male co-signer on these accounts. I hope that you'll take a few moments to stop in, pick up one of these titles and learn about the important role women have played and will continue to play in the field of law. 

Comment Box