Student Library Newsletter

In this issue:

Faculty Book Talk 

Dr. Lisa Hosack will discuss her newest book Development on Purpose Faith and Human Behavior in the Social Environment on Wednesday February 26th from 4 - 5pm in the library. 

   IN MARCH

Research for the Real World: Finding your Place

Research for the Real World: Finding your Place

Join us for this program sponsored by Career Services and Buhl Library where you will learn about resources to help you find a job, internship, and navigate real world decisions to help you find the best place to live and work.

Tuesday March 10th | 4 - 5pm | HAL 110

Follow us on Instagram

Buhl Library is now on Instagram. Follow us at gcc_buhllibrary! 

Did you know we're also on Facebook and Twitter? 

APA 7th Edition - NEW!

The library has copies of the newest edition of the APA style guide in our collection. We have revised the APA examples on our citing the bible page. All other citation links for APA having been updated on our citations page with the exception of Purdue Owl. They are working on updating their page. 

What's new in this edition?

Easy to Navigate - Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions.

Best Practices - The Publication Manual (7th ed.) has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing.

New Student Resources - Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials.

Accessibility Guidelines - Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options.

New-User Content - Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers.

Journal Article Reporting Standards - New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style.

Bias-Free Language Guidelines - New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality. 

100+ Reference Examples - More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources.

40+ New Sample Tables and Figures  - More than 40 new sample tables and figures, including student-friendly examples such as a correlation table and a bar chart as well as examples that show how to reproduce a table or figure from another source.

Ethics Expanded - Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process.

Featured Database

Historic Documents Series 

For more than 40 years, Historic Documents has made primary source research easy by presenting excerpts from documents on the important events of each year for the United States and the world. Each volume includes approximately 70 events with well over 100 documents from the previous year, from official or other influential reports and surveys, to speeches from leaders and opinion makers, to court cases, legislation, testimony, and much more. Full-source citations are provided. Readers have easy access to material through a detailed, thematic table of contents and a cumulative five-year index that directs them to related material in earlier volumes.

Meet HENRY

by: Gretchen Maxeiner

On the Carousel

Are you a visual learner? Are you happier engaging with images than with text? If so, check out some of these graphic features in our library catalog Henry, which aim to present information to you in a different way.

Carousels

On Henry’s home page you have probably noticed streams of book jackets and DVD covers. These are called “carousels”, and they offer an easy way for you to sit back and browse highlighted titles. Try it! There are two tabs that are passed through in rotation, or you can click on one in particular:

• New Books: presents the very newest materials added to the catalog (they may not even be on the shelf yet!)
• Special Display:  presents some of the materials currently on display in the lobby as part of the library’s monthly exhibits.

Flow Display

If you like the carousels, you’ll love the flow display option as a way to view your search results. By default in Henry, results appear in a vertical list, but if you change the “View As” setting, on the upper right of the results page, to “Flow”, you can view your results as a carousel. Here you can scroll through cover images of your results and click on any to bring up brief details about the title.

Virtual Shelf

Here is one last cool graphic feature. Once you find a book of interest, you can “virtually” browse the shelf around it. To do this, from the details page for an item, click the “Browse Virtual Shelf” button beneath the title header.

This will bring up a popup window of the virtual shelf, showing an image of your book and then the books that are before and after it in call number order. This is a great way to help you find resources on similar topics, which are typically grouped together by the call numbers.

Meet your Library Staff

Each month we will feature a Q&A with a Buhl permanent staff member or student from the library.

 Meet Janet Elder

How long have you worked at Buhl Library?

• 14 Years

Tell us a little about your work at GCC:

• My goal in the library is to communicate with students and faculty to proactively eliminate long-overdue books and late fees. I am the contact person if you have overdue, damaged or missing library items.
• I also coordinate bookbinding and conduct inventory of our awesome book collection.

Name 2 things that people might not know about you?

1. I live on a 40+ acre farm where we raise beef cattle and sheep.

2. I really enjoy gardening. I have both flower and vegetable gardens at my home.

Library Resources We Love 

Book Series 

These are a great collection of books that cover a wide array of topics. Click the links below to browse the topics that are covered. From the results list you can filter to see the most recently published titles or add your search terms to the search box along with the series title to see books related to what you are researching.

• A Very Short Introduction 
• Opposing Viewpoints 
• Historical Dictionaries 
• Defining Documents 

Online Resources

• Salem Health: Searches the following online encyclopedias: Psychology & Mental Health, Genetics, Infectious Diseases & Conditions, Magill's Medical Guide and Complementary & Alternative Medicine.
• Salem History: Searches the following online encyclopedias: Great Lives & Great Events encyclopedias as well as the Encyclopedia of American Business, Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society, Decades in America series (1920's through the 2000's), and the Defining Documents series.
• Scribner Writers: Includes biographical and critical essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 authors from around the world. Entries include concise essays, citations, and biographical information, placing the author's work in personal and historical context. (Great for finding literary criticism!) 
• Ebsco eBooks: Our growing collection contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. Subjects covered include business, education, literary criticism, philosophy, political science, religion, engineering, and others. New titles are added monthly. Books can be read online or downloaded onto another device. Portions of books can be printed.
• CQ Researcher: Covers today's most important issues and controversial subjects. Each weekly issue is an in-depth, single topic report featuring current status, outlook of the issue, timelines and extensive bibliographies. 
• Statista: consolidates over 3 million data points on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources. Market Outlooks provide market sizes, forecasts and other indicators for the digital economy, key consumer markets and relevant automotive markets and key economic and social indicators for up to 150 countries. Business Plan export allows students to conduct their own market analysis, as well as create full Profit & Loss statements. 

​Subject Guides

These webpages designed by your Buhl librarians are geared towards your specific class or assignments. They include specific resources including encyclopedias, books and electronic resources to help you with your research.

• HUMA 102 
• HUMA 202
• HIST 143
• Citing the Bible 

We have many guides to choose from. Take a look at this list to see if your class or topic has a guide.

If you need help starting your research and finding the best resources and places to look to find information on your topic, contact a librarian! We're here to help you.  

Book & Movie Recommendations

Comment Box