Library Summer Schedule ☀️
Due to the final stage of the Buhl Library renovation, the library will close to everyone starting on Wednesday, May 11 and the closure will last through summer break. For details on how to access library materials over the summer please review the steps below:
National Library Week 📚
We're excited to celebrate another National Library Week with the Grove City College community! As a way to help us celebrate if you find yourself using any library services during National Library Week (April 3-April 9), we ask that you snap a picture and share it with us on any of our social media platforms:
Facebook (@BuhlLibrary) and Instagram/Twitter (gcc_buhllibrary)
Celebrate National Poetry Month
During the month of April, we celebrate National Poetry Month so here's a list of some of the works of poetry you'll find at Buhl Library
edited by Kevin Young
Buhl - Display : PS591.B53 A37 2020
edited by Victoria Chang
Buhl - Open Stacks : PS591.A76 A83 2004
by Pablo Neruda, edited by Ilan Stavans
Buhl - Open Stacks: PQ8097.N4 A2 2003
by Wendy Dasler Johnson
Buhl - Open Stacks : PS147 .J64 2016
by Isobel Armstrong
Buhl - Open Stacks : PR595.H5 A76 1996
New Faculty Publications
Professor emeritus of history Gary Scott Smith had Mark Twain: Preacher, Prophet, and Social Philosopher recently published. In it, Smith discusses "that Twain was an entertainer, satirist, novelist, and reformer, but also functioned as a preacher, prophet, and social philosopher. Twain tackled universal themes with penetrating insight and wit including the character of God, human nature, sin, providence, corruption, greed, hypocrisy, poverty, racism, and imperialism. Moreover, his life provides a window into the principal trends and developments in American religion from 1865 to 1910."
Professor Josh Mayo recently published Good in Every Thing: Meditations on Shakespeare. In it Mayo "invites readers into a long-neglected tradition of literary meditation: the art of “thinking with Shakespeare.” He returns to classics like Hamlet, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, and Henry V and mines Shakespeare for joy. He models an accessible approach to reading the plays not only as academic subjects or scholarly artifacts, but as quarries of wisdom. Along the way, readers will discover insights into subjects close to the heart of classical education—poetic knowledge, imagination, and the cultivation of virtue.".
What are Academic Sources?
Academic sources (also referred to as scholarly sources) are written by scholars, researchers, or subject experts and are typically utilized by some of the same people, as well as students. While academic sources can take the form of both books and articles, the criteria that make them scholarly is the same. Here are the most important qualities you should look for:
An author who is an expert on the topic. Expertise is often in the form of advanced degrees in the field (which are usually listed), but not always. Years of experience working in a field may also create expertise.
Presence of citations or a bibliography. Researchers tell their readers where data, quotes, and ideas come from so that the information can be verified. These citations can appear in the text, footnotes, endnotes, or a bibliography.
A scholarly publisher. For books and articles, this is typically a university press or other scholarly publisher (such as Sage, Routledge, or Praeger). When it comes to journal articles, the publisher is generally not listed, but library databases will help you determine if an article is scholarly.
Is there a difference between scholarly and peer-reviewed journals?
Yes. Many people use the terms scholarly and peer-reviewed synonymously because the two types of articles share so many of the same qualities, but there is a key difference. In addition to meeting all the qualifications of an academic journal, peer-reviewed articles are submitted and then scrutinized by peers in the field (usually two) before they are accepted for publication. This extra step in the publishing process is an added safeguard to ensure that only the highest quality information is published in these journals.
Is it okay if the information I use is scholarly, but not peer-reviewed?
That depends. Many assignments simply require the use of scholarly/academic sources, so peer-reviewed information is excellent, but not essential. However, some assignments or majors (such as Exercise Science) require the use of peer-reviewed articles. If you are in doubt as to whether a source is appropriate for your assignment, ask your professor. They can tell you what is required.
Where can I find academic sources?
If you need books, academic titles can be found on our shelves and as eBooks on our website. Not every book in the library is scholarly, but the criteria listed above can help you identify academic titles. Academic/scholarly articles can be found by using Discovery and many of the library’s individual databases.
An easy way to identify academic articles is to look for the academic journal icon or use the limiting options provided to limit your search to academic journals under the Source Types category on the left. Many databases also offer settings to limit results to peer-reviewed articles under the Limit To category, but some of our databases, such as Medline and Social Science Citation Index, only include peer-reviewed articles so no option to limit to peer-reviewed articles is provided. We know that this can be confusing so, if you have questions, please ask a librarian.
Are trade publications, magazines, and newspapers scholarly?
No. Trade publications consist of articles written by practitioners in an industry, rather than scholars or researchers, with peers working in that same industry (such as human resources or occupational therapy) as their audience. Magazines and newspapers, on the other hand, are popular sources for sharing information with a non-scholarly audience. While all these sources are credible, they do not rise to the level of scholarly. If you are in doubt as to whether a source is appropriate for your assignment, ask your professor. They can tell you what is acceptable.
Easter Break
In observance of Easter Break, Buhl Library will be closed Friday, April 15 through Sunday, April 17, and reopen at 8 am on Monday, April 18.
Favorite Easter Candy According to the Librarians
Janet Elder - Solid chocolate rabbit or cross from Daffin's.
Kim Marks - Reese's Peanut Butter Eggs -- hands down my favorite.
Joyce Kebert - Homemade chocolate-covered peanut butter Easter Eggs.
David Roberts - I always loved getting the spring-colored M&M's, I know they didn't taste any different but it was just fun to have different colors!
Conni Shaw - CHOCOLATE! I don't remember any specific item though. Although some people aren't a fan I still enjoy PEEPS.
Gretchen Maxeiner - Cadbury cream-filled eggs. I've been known to hoard them and eat them until late summer.
Amy Cavanaugh - Anything chocolate.....
Barbra Munnell - Chocolate covered pretzels
What's New?
Here is a sampling of new resources in Buhl Library. Be sure to also check out the new book display in the library lobby.
Hover over a book's title to view a summary.
First along the River by 
The Gospel of Judas by 
Leonardo to the Internet by 
God, Grades, and Graduation by 
The Fundamentals of Clinical Research by Autism Awareness Project Update!
A hearty thank you to everyone at Grove City College that helped make the Autism Awareness Project candy sale a success. In total, we sold 868 Daffin's candy bars and with those proceeds bought everything on Gretchen Murphy's list for her special education students at Mohawk School District. An extra thank you to Dr. Samantha Fecich and The Council of Exceptional Children at Grove City College for assisting Buhl Library in selling the candy bars to this make this fundraiser a rousing success!
Placing Holds on Items
Step 1:
Search for your item in Henry to see if it's available. If the item says it's checked out under item status, your next step is to place a hold. The hold button should be located just under the title. Go ahead and click the hold button to place your hold.
Step 2:
It will ask you to log in to your account using your ID number and PIN (month and date of your birthday). Once you successfully Log In, your account will show on the page and say the placed hold was successful.
Remember, an item must be unavailable or "in-processing" for you to place a hold.
A to Z List of Journals
Ever find yourself starting a new research project and not quite sure what journal resources the library has on your subject to help you on your journey? Perhaps you're looking for a certain journal and want a quick way to see if we have it? The easy to use A to Z List of Journals is a great place to search.
Navigate to the Buhl Library homepage to start. After making your way to the home page you'll find a link that says A to Z List of Journals. Go ahead and click on that.
Once you click on that link, you'll find a list of all the publications we have access to through the library organized by Discipline. Happy researching!
Britannica IMAGEQUEST
IMAGEQUEST offers a catalog of millions of images with free usage rights. You can browse by curated albums or search using desired search terms. It also allows you to save your images into groupings so it's easy to access again.
Permitted Usage
All the images found in the database are approved for noncommercial educational use only.
Access
To access IMAGEQUEST you must either be on campus or using the VPN from elsewhere.
Additionally, you can find a LibGuide with links to several other image databases that allow for finding copyright-free images.
Follow Us!
Do you want to learn more about the library? Follow us on our social media channels!
Contact Us
Email: refdesk@gcc.edu | Phone: 724-264-4729 | Website: hbl.gcc.edu