Use this page to locate online newspaper databases, historical newspapers and local paper links!
Last Updated: Dec 10, 2012
- 19th Century U.S. Newspaper Digital Archive
Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the entire 19th century, from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Access the Harper's Archive, 1850 - present. Full text availability.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2007) with Index (1851-1993)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times (1851-2007)
Chronicling America -- Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Chronicling America produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Supported by NEH, this rich digital resource will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress.
- Proquest National Newspapers
This database provides access to 12 full-text major newspapers, including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, and Washington Post, as well as USA Today, the Chicago Tribune, and the Boston Globe.
Years of coverage vary by publication, with most titles beginning in the mid- to late 1980s and continuing through to the present. New York Times coverage includes the entire archive, beginning in 1851 and continuing through the present.
- Newspaper Source
Provides full-text access to many local newspapers across the U.S., including the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, Philadelphia Inquirer, and the Boston Globe
- LexisNexis Academic
Full-text of more than 1,000 newspapers from the U.S. and around the world. More than 300 magazines and journals and over 600 newsletters as well as hard-to-find broadcast transcripts from major television stations and radio networks. Non-English language news sources available in Spanish, French, German, Italian and Dutch, including both newspapers and magazines.