Use this guide to access e-books and freely available online books from general or subject categories.
Last Updated: Jun 18, 2013
E-Books & Online Books
Use the tabs above or the links below to access online books from these specific subject areas:
For a complete list of E-Books, click on the E-Books A-Z tab.
Use of e-books is restricted by licensing agreements to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff of Grove City College. These resources are only available from the GCC campus network. Click here for more information.
- *************** Recommended Places to Start ***************
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Full-text of the complete encyclopedia.
- Oxford Reference Online Database
Online reference library covering a wide-variety of subjects.
- ABC-CLIO e-Book Collection
Access "...encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides" from a variety of subject areas, including crime and punishment, geography, religion, world history, and others.
- Cambridge Histories Online
Includes 14 subject areas: General History, Regional History, Literary Studies, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Music History, Economic History and more.
- NOTE: These resources have been prioritized to make finding quality information easier.
- Google Books
Search the full text of scanned books and read selections or the full text of these digitized texts.
- Directory of Open Access Books
This site currently provides access to "854 Academic peer-reviewed books from 25 publishers." Some of the publications are as recent as 2011 (from OAPEN Foundation).
Classic books, poetry, Bartlett's Quotations, The Cambridge History of English and American Literature, Inaugural Addresses of the Presidents of the United States and more!
- HathiTrust Digital Library
Representing over 50 universities, the HathiTrust currently boasts more than 10.2 million volumes, equaling some 3.5 billion indexed pages.
- Internet Archive: Text Archive
This site is open to the community for the contribution of any type of text, many licensed using Creative Commons licenses.
- The Online Books Page
This extensive collection of English texts is browsable by author, title, or Library of Congress subject heading (from the University of Pennsylvania).
- Classic Reader
"Search our online library of thousands of free books by authors such as Dickens, Austen, Shakespeare and many others."
Titles are available for fiction, non-fiction, poetry, short stories, Shakespeare, drama, young readers, and classic works. Each of the titles available through this site no longer has copyright restrictions on its use.
- Project Gutenberg
Incredible collection of "light" literature (e.g. Alice in Wonderland), "heavy" literature (e.g. Red Badge of Courage), and reference works (e.g. Roget's Thesaurus). The collection includes over 12,000 texts.
- Universal Digital Library
Also known as the Million Book Project. Contains over 1 million books, in 12 languages and is browsable by subject; language and date of publication (from Carnegie Mellon University).
- World Digital Library
This site "makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world." It is browsable by time, topic, place, type and institution and includes a wealth of manuscripts, maps, rare books, films, sound recordings, and prints and photographs.