Henry Buhl Library: E-Books & Online Books: Modern Languages

Modern Languages eBooks & Online Books

World Language, Literature, & Culture Resources

Language Resources

Oxford Reference Online Database -- Bilingual Dictionaries
Search and access French-English, English-French, Spanish-English, English-Spanish, German-English, English-German, and other foreign language bilingual dictionaries.

Literature Resources

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative information while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history.
Twayne's Authors Series (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
eBook series of 800+ volumes covering the lives, works, and importance of writers from around the world.
Salem Literature Online This link opens in a new window
eBook collection supporting literary studies, including the Critical Insights series focused on individual authors, works, and themes.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to over 200,000 full text eBooks across a variety of subjects.

The Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies
Brings together the most wide-ranging and up-to-date scholarship ever assembled on the colonial, postcolonial and neo-colonial condition, covering the period from 1492 to the present.
University of Virginia's E-Book Library (VIRGO)
1,800 publicly-available e-books including classic British and American fiction, major authors, children's literature, the Bible, Shakespeare, American history, African-American documents, and much more.

Culture Resources

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Includes entries on specific minority groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
13th edition (2012) -- Library has 14th edition (2017) in print, Ref G 63 .W67 2017 v.1-5. "Presents easy-to-understand information on 194 countries and dependencies from around the world."

Spanish Language, Literature, & Culture Resources

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
Mexico Today: An Encyclopedia of Life in the Republic
"Everything from traditional folklore and music to pop culture such as television soap operas and Lucha Libre, a theatrical form of wrestling, make up the fabric of modern life in Mexico."
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
This encyclopedia "covers art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography" of pre-Columbian Mesoamerican civilizations, including the Olmec, Aztec, and Mayans.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mexican History and Culture
Provides a compendium of the best available scholarship on Mexico’s rich history and culture.
World Literature in Spanish: An Encyclopedia
Provides an introduction to the literature composed in Spanish. This linguistically based (rather than nationally defined) understanding of Spanish literature transcends genres, time periods, and political boundaries and recognizes that the growing diversity within national borders and the increasing interdependence between nations require new ways of understanding “national” literature.
Los Poetas.com
Biographies of poets and full text of some of their works. Authors are from Central & Latin America & Spain. Site is entirely in Spanish.
Poesia en Espanol
A large selection of full-text, Spanish poetry. The poems are searchable by author, time period, and title. Site is entirely in Spanish.

French Language, Literature, & Culture Resources

The Marandet Collection of French Plays
A digitized collection of 18th- and 19th-century French plays (University of Warwick).