In this issue:
Help for Students in Isolation, Quarantine and Q2
How do I get help if I'm in isolation, quarantine or Q2?
I need to borrow a physical copy of a book and I can't come into the building. What should I do?
Email us at email@example.com. We'll help you get the physical copy of the book you need.
How Do I access electronic resources from off-campus?
Access via the College's VPN
To access the library's online ebooks, journal articles, newspapers and more you will need to be connected to the college's VPN (virtual private network).
What is the VPN and why do I need to connect to it?
This allows you to access all of the library's over 100 databases seamlessly without the need to sign in separately with a username/password for each database. The VPN automatically authenticates that you are a GCC student and gives you access. The college uses the Global Protect VPN.
How do I download it?
You can download the Global Protect VPN using the instructions below. If you have problems with installing the VPN or questions about entering your GCC username/password the Technological Learning Center (TLC) can be reached by phone: 724-458-2255 or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org
Fighting Disinformation During Covid-19
With a wealth of information available at our fingertips, it can be overwhelming in the digital age to wade through all of the information that we encounter everyday. Add in a global pandemic and it can be difficult to determine what information about Covid-19 and vaccines is true and what is misinformation or disinformation. Below are some resources that we hope will help guide you. As librarians, we are experts in finding quality information from trustworthy sources and determining whether a source may be providing misinformation or disinformation. Please reach out to us if you ever have a question or need help determining the credibility of a source.
Click here to view this interactive presentation in a larger window Facts In the Time of COVID-19 from the Pacific Science Center in collaboration with University of Washington’s Center for an Informed Public.
General Resources on Misinformation, Disinformation and Fake News
Learn more about Fake News, Misinformation, & Fact-Checking using this helpful guide from Ohio University
Fake News & Disinformation subject guide from Central Washington University Libraries
Check out this video called How to Separate Fact from Fiction Online by Markham Nolan at the TEDSalon in London. Markham Nolan shares the investigative techniques he and his team use to verify information in real-time, to let you know if that Statue of Liberty image has been doctored or if that video leaked from Syria is legitimate.
Featured Collection: ABC-CLIO eBooks
Our collection of ABC-CLIO eBooks Access includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from a variety of subject areas, including crime & punishment, geography, religion, world history, military history, health & medicine, popular culture, sociology, and more. The books included in this collection are a great option for your research because "the titles go beyond surface-level knowledge or what you might find in an encyclopedia." They "publish new reference material that provides deeper understanding and analysis and promotes the development of critical thinking skills."
Helpful Tip - Use the eBook search button on the left hand side of your screen to search by keyword or browse books by topic using the handy topic drop-down menu!
How to Create a Hanging Indent for Citations
So, you've completed your work cited page or bibliography with all of your sources. Now your last step is to make sure that it's formatted correctly. That includes creating a hanging indent if your citation style requires it. Do you know there's an easy way to do this in Microsoft Word and Google Docs? Find the tutorials below:
Not sure what formatting your citation style requires? Check out our guide to citations for information on APA, MLA, Chicago, APSA and more!
PLEASE NOTE: We have a new smaller new book display located in our library lobby. Some of our newest titles will be featured here every month. You can still browse the rest of our newest titles and featured collections from the library online on the landing page for our online catalog, HENRY.
Click on the book titles for book descriptions.
Click on the book titles for descriptions and to access the eBook
Books on Mars & Space Exploration
The Mars rover, Perseverance landed on the surface of Mars on February 18th after almost a seven month long journey. It was launched on July 30, 2020 and since landing has been sending some really neat footage from the mission. You can check out video footage of the landing, new audio recordings and findings from the first flight of Ingenuity, the Mars Helicopter. Check it out on NASA's website here. You can also check out some of the great books and other resources we have on Mars and space exploration below.
Women's History Month: Women in Science
March is Women's History Month. Below are a list of resources from our collection that highlight the important role that women have and continue to play in science fields. From famous scientists, to important discoveries made by women, celebrate this month by checking out our collection and learning more about women in science. Here are some other great resources to check out:
Email: email@example.com | Phone: 724-264-4729 | Website: hbl.gcc.edu