Skip to main content

Library Support During COVID-19

 

Library Services Update 

Library Hours Mon - Fri 8:30am - 3:45pm for Material Pick-Up | Place your Request

Browsing by Appointment ONLY Mon - Fri 10am - 3pm | Email or call 724-264-4729

Please view our new guidelines for in-person services belowWe ask that our campus community please observe these policies when visiting Buhl Library to keep everyone safe.  Due to limited staffing in the building and social distancing, our library staff are happy to continue to assist you virtually by phone or email

Requesting Print Materials for Pick-up

Faculty and staff who are authorized to be on campus may enter Buhl Library during business hours (8am - 3:45pm Monday - Friday) to pick up requested materials. Request materials using the link below.

Please note that at this time, library collections housed in the Curriculum Library, Career Services, and Rathburn Hall are not open for book requests or browsing.

*** Please refer to our Staying Safe in the Library Guidelines at the bottom of this page for important information that must be followed when coming into the library to pick up your materials. 

 

undefined

 

Request a Browsing Appointment 

Faculty and staff who are authorized to be on campus may schedule appointments to browse the library collection. These appointments are available on a first come, first served basis, with only a limited number of library users permitted in the library at any one time.

To schedule an appointment

  • Email or call the library (refdesk@gcc.edu ; 724-264-4729).
  • Appointments can be scheduled Monday-Friday 10:00 am-3:00 pm.

When you come FOR YOUR APPOINTMENT

  • Note that only faculty and staff who are authorized to be on campus can enter the building. Guests and family members are not permitted.

  • Bring a mask. State and national agencies advise wearing a cloth face covering that covers your nose and mouth in public places where social distancing cannot be maintained. We ask that you wear your mask when you come to the library desk or when near other library users.

  • Please check in at the library desk upon your arrival.
    • You will be given a freshly cleaned library cart to take with you. What is the cart for?
      • It is mobile workspace for you, cutting down on contact with other surfaces around the library. Please note that tables and seating in the stacks are currently unavailable.
      • It is a place to stack books that you wish to check out.
      • It is a place to set books you have taken off the shelves and handled but do not wish to check out. For the safety of everyone the library will “quarantine” those books for a set time before reshelving them. Please do not reshelve items.

  • Wash hands frequently or use hand sanitizer. For your convenience, there is a hand sanitizer station in the library lobby. Restrooms are located on the ground floor of the building (underneath the library).

  • When you finish, please check back in at the library desk for any book check-outs and to let staff know you are leaving. You can bring the cart back to the library desk with you or leave it in the stacks for staff to collect later.

At this time, library collections housed in the Curriculum Library, Career Services, and Rathburn Hall are not open for book requests or browsing.

Returning Materials

Faculty and staff, If you are authorized to be on campus and you would like to return your library materials we ask that you please use the return slot or the returns bin for larger items outside the front entrance of the building. There is also a cart inside the back entrance of the library building for returns.

 

Notice regarding print books from Buhl’s collection

The library will not mail books from our print collection to members of the campus community.  You are encouraged to use eBooks for your research needs.     

Many publishers have opened eBook collections during this unprecedented time of remote learning.  See our page for info and links to these resources (Free Access Resources). 

Librarians will work with you to locate resources – You may contact us by emailing the
REFDESK@gcc.edu

Interlibrary Loans

At this time ILL is still not available due to continued library closures.  Library staff are monitoring the situation and will update you as soon as ILL resumes.

 

undefined

Library Closure Notice for Visitors & Non-Essential Personnel

The library is currently open to only Grove City College faculty, staff and students. Our building is closed to all visitors and off-campus personnel.

 Thank you for your patience during these unprecedented times. We look forward to seeing everyone back in our library when it is safe to do so! You may email the library at refdesk@gcc.edu for any further assistance.

 

Today's Hours

 

   Please check the COVID - 19 Library page for current status.

   The library doors lock 15 minutes prior to closing.  Please plan accordingly.

   The library hours are subject to change according to staffing and campus directives

 

Our Online Resources are available 24/7 from anywhere! 

Our electronic resources include eBooks, databases, newspapers and so much more that you can find on our website. Don't forget about our list of freely available resources on the internet. 

Want to learn more about what's available electronically? Contact us and check out our eResources Newsletter.


 

Buhl Library staff are here to help you. Our contact Information & hours information can be found here