Student Library Newsletter

In this issue:

Need Help from Home?

How Do I access electronic resources from home?

Access via the college's VPN

To access the library's online ebooks, journal articles, newspapers and more you will need to be connected to the college's VPN (virtual private network).

What is it a VPN and why do I need to connect to it? 

This allows you to access all of the library's over 100 databases seamlessly without the need to sign in separately with a username/password for each database. The VPN automatically authenticates that you are a GCC student and gives you access. The college uses the Global Protect VPN.

• If you are a freshman student you have the Global Protect VPN installed on your computer. Look for the gray world icon in your computer's taskbar. For instructions on how to sign in see the instructions below. 
• If you are a sophomore, junior or senior student and you do not see the Global Protect VPN in your computer's taskbar (look for a gray world icon) you will need to install it on your computer before getting started. See the instructions below to download it.

How do I download it? 

You can download the Global Protect VPN using the instructions below. If you have problems with installing the VPN or questions about entering your GCC username/password the Technological Learning Center (TLC) can be reached by phone: 724-458-2255 or by email at helpdesk@gcc.edu

How do I get help with research, citations or other questions about using the library's resources?

Buhl librarians will be here to help you while you're away from campus! If you have a question, here's how you can reach out to us. 

We also have a webpage dedicated to all of our online resources. You'll find tutorials on how to use EBSCO Discovery, using our eBook collection, finding journal articles, newspapers, citing your sources and more. Check out our Online Learning guide.

Featured Collection 

Very Short Introductions  

Check out the newest books added to our collection from Oxford's Very Short Introductions series. This series offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects -- from Islam to Sociology, Politics to Classics, and Literary Theory to History. Not simply a textbook of definitions, each volume provides trenchant and provocative - yet always balanced - discussions of the central issues in a given topic. Expert authors combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make often challenging topics highly readable. Whatever the area of study, whatever the topic that fascinates the reader, the series has a handy and affordable guide that will likely prove indispensable. The below titles are available in print. For ebook copies of this collection check out the titles available from EBSCO eBooks. 

Blast from the Past Photo Collection - Christmas Edition!

View some photos from years past of our holiday decorating in the library and other Christmas scenes since our staff won't be together to decorate this year. 

Comment Box 

New Faculty Publication 

Dr. Carl Trueman has published his most recent work The Rise and Triumph of the Modern Self: Cultural Amnesia, Expressive Individualism, and the Road to Sexual Revolution last month. Our copy is on order and will be added to our collection soon. Keep an eye out for it and in the meantime check out his other books that we have in our collection below. 

Click here to view more of Dr. Trueman's books. 

Featured Subject Guide: Research Basics

If you need research help get started with our Research Basics Subject Guide. Find helpful tutorials and information on all steps of the research process from choosing a topic to determining if your sources are credible and so much more. To get started, click on one of the tiles above or to view the guide in a new window click here. 

Meet your Library Staff

Each month we will feature a Q&A with a Buhl permanent staff member or student from the library.

 Senior Student Worker Spotlight 

Meet Emma Nitzsche! 

What is your major? Political Science

Do you have any post-graduation plans? I plan on working for a few months and then apply for law school!

What is one of your favorite books and why? Mere Christianity. It's a classic Grover answer, but I think Lewis does an excellent job at providing a logical basis for why Christianity makes sense.

How has the library helped you during your time here at Grove City College? When I was a freshman, I don't think I fully grasped the magnitude of resources the library had available. On top of being a quiet place to crank out papers, the library has super helpful librarians who will help you with every aspect of the research process (including citations which I hate:). Also! You can check out DVDs and DVD players! My friends and I have saved so much money from borrowing movies from the library instead of buying them online. It's a total life hack.

Buhl Library staff wish to sincerely thank Emma for all of her hard work over the past few years while working at the library. She has been a wonderful asset to the library sharing her knowledge of library resources to her peers and bringing her hardworking attitude, and desire to help others to work. Emma, we wish you all the best in law school! It has been a joy working beside you. Thank you for all that you do.