Skip to Main Content

Student Library Newsletter

Interlibrary Loan Service Update 


 

Interlibrary Loan Service has been restored with a few provisions. Here are the new guidelines:

  • For Faculty:  Please keep your requests limited to scholarly pursuits and course preparation. 

  • For Students: Requests will be limited to 300- and 400-level courses, research methods, independent studies, and internships. 

Please note:

  • Requests will be placed each week on the following days:  Monday through Friday 

  • Items will be received and processed on the following days:   Monday, Wednesday, & Friday 

  • We will request items but cannot guarantee fulfillment. 

  • Requests may take longer to arrive than normal.  This may be due to the lending library’s staffing and operations. 

Please continue to monitor our spring semester service update page on our website for the latest information.

 

Submit Interlibrary Loan Requests using our online form

 

Researching Your New Venture Event


 

 

Buhl Librarian Kim Marks will share library resources and research strategies to identify target markets and research the competition for your startup. This program is part of the VentureU Business Seminar Series through The Center for Entrepreneurship + Innovation. Register for this event and future events in the series on the E+ I website

Research Organization Tools 


 

Are you working on a research project or writing a book or article for publication? We have some great tools to share that you can use to help you keep your information and research organized. 

 

New Download Feature: Download to Mendeley | Elsevier Engineering Village  Blog

Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research:

  • Automatically generate bibliographies
  • Collaborate easily with other researchers online
  • Easily import papers from other research software
  • Find relevant papers based on what you're reading
  • Access your papers from anywhere online

Another option is Zotero. It's similar to Mendeley. We provide information on both of them so you can see which will be right for you. Take a look here

 

EBSCOhost – AskRI.org

 

Set up alerts and use the folder feature in EBSCO to easily organize, share and be notified when new resources becomes available. You will need to create a free EBSCO account and sign in to use this feature.

Search Alerts save valuable research time, and can be set up to provide automatic e-mail notification whenever new search results become available for your search terms. For instructions on how to set up search notifications click here.

Journal Alerts save valuable research time, and can be set up to provide automatic e-mail notification whenever a new issue of a particular journal becomes available in the EBSCO interface you are using. For instructions on how to set up journal notifications click here.

Using Folders provides the ability to create numerous folders in EBSCO, each on a particular topic, for example, in which various results can be sorted and stored. You can customize the name of each folder and determine which folders nest within other folders, to maximize efficiency when managing saved items. For instructions on how to create and use custom folders click here

Sharing Folders feature lets you add articles to your custom folders and share them with other users such as fellow students or professors. For instructions on how to create and use custom folders. For instructions on how to share folders click here

 

Administración de proyectos con Microsoft Planner - Know Learn

Microsoft Planner is a great resource if live by your to-do lists and need to organize the tasks that you need to accomplish. It's also great for collaboration allowing you to assign tasks and receive notifications and reminders when tasks are due. This great tool is included within the college's Office 365 suite of products. For more Planner features and to learn how to use it click here for Microsoft's help guides. 

 

Library Extension - See book availability from your local library's  catalogs | Library Extension

Browser Plugins are a great tool to make research tasks more efficient. If you're looking for a journal article or book and you want an easy way to see if the library has access let these tools do the work for you!

EndNote Click (Formerly Kopernio) This handy web browser extension works on thousands of academic websites to get you full-text PDFs, whether you are on or off campus. It will tell you whether Buhl has access to it with the click of a button. You can learn more and install it here

The Library Extension allows you to easily discover books and ebooks available at Buhl or your local library! It works in the background on popular book sites like Google Books, Amazon, Barnes and Noble and more to tell you whether Buhl has a copy of the book and will directly link you to the catalog. Install it today and learn more here

Research Paper Timeline Calculators 

Assignment calculators are a great tool to use if you have a large research project or lengthy paper to write. You simply enter your start/due date and it tells you when you should complete certain steps of the research process like background reading, evaluating resources, writing and editing. The University of Minnesota has a great one and there's even option for lab reports and speeches! You can find it here.  

Learning about the Research Process

Learning the steps of the research process will save you time and help make your next research paper go more smoothly. The great thing about these steps is they will work for most of your assignments and once you practice and become familiar with the process you'll become better at it each time. 

Buhl Library has a great guide on research basics that will walk you through all of the steps. You can find it here. Don't forget your Buhl librarians are here to help you every step of the way. We're experts in this process and can assist you. Find out about when you can stop in and see us or make a virtual appointment here. You can also email us too!

Comment Box 


 

When visiting the library this semester please observe the following guidelines to keep everyone safe. 

                 

What's New?


 

PLEASE NOTE: We have a new smaller new book display located in our library lobby. Some of our newest titles will be featured here every month. You can still browse the rest of our newest titles and featured collections from the library online on the landing page for our online catalog, HENRY.  

Click on the book titles for book descriptions.

What's New?


 

Click on the book titles for descriptions and to access the eBook

This Week in History


 

This new display in the library lobby features books about events that happened on a specific day throughout history. Stop in the library to browse this changing weekly display. Below are some titles for February 1 - 7th. Did you know the first session of the Supreme Court was held on February 1, 1790, Ronald Reagan was born on February 6, 1911 or that the first paper money was issued in the American colonies on February 3, 1690? Learn more about these topics and more. 

Featured Database  


 

 

TRAC (Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium) combines one of the world’s largest databases of terrorists, terrorist groups, hate groups and their abettors with original, analytical essays on seminal terrorism topics, profiles of vulnerable regions and cities, and live feed of news and analyses.

  • One of the world’s largest databases of terrorists, terrorists groups, lone wolves, hate groups, and abettors of political violence
  • Profiles of vulnerable regions and cities
  • Original analytical essays on seminal terrorism studies topics
  • Hot links that quickly navigate between concepts within articles, news feeds, and outside resources
  • Access to political violence experts worldwide

Blast from the Past Photo Collection - Renovation Edition!


 

With the future renovation planned for Buhl Library, we thought it might be fun to look back at some of the past renovations to the building. Take a look below!

Buhl's Blast from the Past

Renovation in 2008

The areas of the reference room, lobby and biblical reference room were just a few of the areas included in the 2008 renovation in the library.

Upgrades included new carpeting, tile, and ceiling fans 

Work was completed in the summer of 2008 while classes were not in session.

The stacks become the storage location of all of the tables and chairs in the library while work was being completed. 

Do you want to learn more about the library? Follow us on our social media channels!

       

Contact Us

Contact Us


 

 

Email: refdesk@gcc.edu | Phone: 724-264-4729 | Website: hbl.gcc.edu