Why Learning Chicago (or APA, or MLA…) Style Might Have Been Good for You
We answer lots of questions about proper citations at the library reference desk. LOTS. And with those comes the occasional grumble from students about the burden of having to write in a particular style for a class. Or worse, having to write in multiple styles across different classes. (Your librarians can sympathize—we answer questions for 17 different style guidelines!) “Why do I have to follow these style rules?” “What good will these do me after college?”
So for you, graduating seniors, here is what all that suffering was for!
In the end, it doesn’t matter which style(s) you’ve learned or if you remember a single citation rule; you’re almost certainly a better writer/researcher/scholar/thinker for the effort. Chicago, APA, and MLA all say “you’re welcome”!
Happy Graduation To Our Buhl Library Senior Student Workers!
We want to wish our graduating senior library workers the best of luck as they move on from Grove City College and thank them for all the wonderful memories they shared with us at Buhl Library!
I have many fun memories from working in the library these past few years. I was able to see firsthand all the renovations going on throughout the library, I got to talk to the librarians, loved seeing friends walk through and counting the number of visits people have to go to the coffee shop. I also thought it was fun to do the duck hunt and help hide them. Not to mention I'm so thankful for the sweet treats the librarians spoil us with and the friendships made along the way. After graduation, I'm getting married and going to Accelerated Nursing Program in Charlotte NC.
My favorite memory from working at the library is when friends pass by the front desk and stop to share a quick hello and a smile. After graduation, I will move to northern Virginia and pursue a career in social work and/or ministry. I am excited to live near the mountains and enjoy a summer spent developing community!
My favorite memory from working at the library is falling asleep at the desk during the 11 pm -1 am shift and waking up to a student standing in front of me telling me that the printers weren’t working (oops!). After graduation, I am planning to move home and begin my career in Human Resources.
What's New?
Here is a sampling of new resources in Buhl Library. Be sure to also check out the new book display in the library lobby.
Hover over a book's title to view a summary.
All-In on AI by 
Guardians of the Valley by 
Christendom by 
How Data Happened by 
The Teachers by 
Essential Entomology by 
Internment Refugee Camps by 
Feminist Approaches to Early Medieval English Studies by 
Biopolymers in Nutraceuticals and Functional Foods by 
A Community of Practice Approach to Improving Gender Equality in Research by 
Accessible Archives, Inc. was founded in 1990 with the goal of utilizing computer technology to make available vast quantities of archived historical information, previously furnished only in microformat, hard copy form, or as images only. In pursuit of this vision, primary source material has been selected to reflect a broad view of the times and has been assembled into databases with strict attention to detail allowing access to specific information with pinpoint accuracy. Our online full-text search capability and digital imaging permit the user to search and manipulate this information in ways never before possible.
This approach has been highly acclaimed and Accessible Archives’ titles are now in use by universities, historical societies, primary/middle/secondary schools, individuals, and research libraries throughout the world. Titles will continue to be added, covering important topics and time periods for scholars, professors, students, genealogists, and historical societies.
You can access Accessible Archives through the library's A-Z Databases or by using the link included here!
Therapy Dogs Return To The Library!
Finals Week Hours
Summer Reading Returns to Buhl Library
We were so thrilled with how well last year's Summer Reading program did, we're relaunching it this summer! This year we've created a Libguide you can use to access the link to register your summer reads along with lists of fun reads we have in our collection as well as popular new releases.
Make sure you bookmark this page Summer Reading Libguide to join us for a summer of fun reading!
Collection of the Month: Summer Reading
Take a look at some of the books in our collections perfect for summer reading relaxation!
by Jodi Picoult and Jennifer Finney Boylan
Buhl - Open Stacks: PS3566.I372 M33 2022
Research for The Real World
Wondering about how to navigate the world after graduation? We have built a list of helpful resources that features helpful information from Career Services as well as useful tools for deciding where to live and other aspects associated with entering the adult world on your own. While some of these resources will only be available to you for as long as you have your student credentials please don't hesitate to reach out to the library for more information! To view the resources click here
New Faculty Publications
Professor of Biblical & Religious Studies Carl R. Trueman wrote the forward to the recently published The Freedom of a Christian: A New Translation. This work is a new translation of the original work written by Martin Luther in 1520 from the original German to English by renowned Reformation scholar Robert Kolb. The Freedom of a Christian reminds modern-day readers that it is ultimately grace that transforms God’s people and frees us to love and obey.
Follow Us!
Do you want to learn more about the library? Follow us on our social media channels!
Contact Us
Email: refdesk@gcc.edu | Phone: 724-264-4729 | Website: hbl.gcc.edu
