Faculty/Staff Library Newsletter

In this issue:

Interlibrary Loan Service Update 

Interlibrary Loan Service has been restored with a few provisions. Here are the new guidelines:

• For Faculty:  Please keep your requests limited to scholarly pursuits and course preparation. 

• For Students: Requests will be limited to 300- and 400-level courses, research methods, independent studies, and internships. 

Please note:

• Requests will be placed each week on the following days:  Monday through Friday 

• Items will be received and processed on the following days:   Monday, Wednesday, & Friday 

• We will request items but cannot guarantee fulfillment. 

• Requests may take longer to arrive than normal.  This may be due to the lending library’s staffing and operations. 

Please continue to monitor our spring semester service update page on our website for the latest information.

Library Book Orders

Book orders are due March 17th

Each department or major program is allotted new book money each year and may determine how they as a faculty group wish to distribute the funds among themselves. Consult your group's Library Committee representative or department chair for allocation details and an explanation of the process used in ordering books and journals.

Book Ordering Resources

Book Ordering Process

Ready to place your order? Submit your book orders to Jill Forsythe, acquisitions (x2047, jaforsythe@gcc.edu).  Please speak directly with Jill to expedite rush orders for reserve shelves or to check the status of an order. 

Need help selecting books for your department? Please consult Barbra Munnell, coordinator of collection development, for assistance in finding and selecting books to order (x3824, bmmunnell@gcc.edu).

Research Organization Tools 

Are you working on a research project or writing a book or article for publication? We have some great tools to share that you can use to help you keep your information and research organized. 

Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research:

• Automatically generate bibliographies
• Collaborate easily with other researchers online
• Easily import papers from other research software
• Find relevant papers based on what you're reading
• Access your papers from anywhere online

Another option is Zotero. It's similar to Mendeley. We provide information on both of them so you can see which will be right for you. Take a look here. 

Set up alerts and use the folder feature in EBSCO to easily organize, share and be notified when new resources becomes available. You will need to create a free EBSCO account and sign in to use this feature.

Search Alerts save valuable research time, and can be set up to provide automatic e-mail notification whenever new search results become available for your search terms. For instructions on how to set up search notifications click here.

Journal Alerts save valuable research time, and can be set up to provide automatic e-mail notification whenever a new issue of a particular journal becomes available in the EBSCO interface you are using. For instructions on how to set up journal notifications click here.

Using Folders provides the ability to create numerous folders in EBSCO, each on a particular topic, for example, in which various results can be sorted and stored. You can customize the name of each folder and determine which folders nest within other folders, to maximize efficiency when managing saved items. For instructions on how to create and use custom folders click here. 

Sharing Folders lets you add articles to your custom folders and share them with other users such as fellow students or your GCC colleagues.  For instructions on how to share folders click here. 

Microsoft Planner is a great resource if live by your to-do lists and need to organize the tasks that you need to accomplish. It's also great for collaboration allowing you to assign tasks and receive notifications and reminders when tasks are due. This great tool is included within the college's Office 365 suite of products. For more Planner features and to learn how to use it see click here for Microsoft's help guides. 

Browser Plugins are a great tool to make research tasks more efficient. If you're looking for a journal article or book and you want an easy way to see if the library has access let these tools do the work for you!

EndNote Click (Formerly Kopernio) This handy web browser extension works on thousands of academic websites to get you full-text PDFs, whether you are on or off campus. It will tell you whether Buhl has access to it with the click of a button. You can learn more and install it here. 

The Library Extension allows you to easily discover books and ebooks available at Buhl or your local library! It works in the background on popular book sites like Google Books, Amazon, Barnes and Noble and more to tell you whether Buhl has a copy of the book and will directly link you to the catalog. Install it today and learn more here. 

Featured Database  

TRAC (Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium) combines one of the world’s largest databases of terrorists, terrorist groups, hate groups and their abettors with original, analytical essays on seminal terrorism topics, profiles of vulnerable regions and cities, and live feed of news and analyses.

• One of the world’s largest databases of terrorists, terrorists groups, lone wolves, hate groups, and abettors of political violence
• Profiles of vulnerable regions and cities
• Original analytical essays on seminal terrorism studies topics
• Hot links that quickly navigate between concepts within articles, news feeds, and outside resources
• Access to political violence experts worldwide

Blast from the Past Photo Collection - Renovation Edition!

With the future renovation planned for Buhl Library, we thought it might be fun to look back at some of the past renovations to the building. Take a look below!

Comment Box