Faculty/Staff Library Newsletter

In this issue:

Faculty Book Talk

Thursday Oct 10, 2019 4:15 - 5:15pm 

All are welcome to come join us for our first Faculty Book Talk of the fall semester. Hear Dr. Paul Kemeny and Dr. Gary Smith speak about their newest book, The Oxford Handbook of Presbyterianism.

Used Book Sale

Buhl Library's Annual Used Book Sale

Monday October 21st - Sunday October 27th

The book sale will open daily 1 hour after the library opens and will close one hour before the library closes.

All items are $1 and proceeds will be donated to a campus organization. 

Looking for Data in all the Wrong Places?

by: Kim Marks

It seems like everything we do these days requires data -- assessment data, population data, research data. The list goes on and on. The good news is there's data everywhere; the bad news is, there's data everywhere. Finding the right data can be a challenge, so why not let the library help.

Buhl Library provides access to quality statistics and data sets, as well as current information literacy assessment data for GCC. Highlighted resources and additional information about our services are provided below.

Statistics Resources

When it comes to statistics, one of the best resources available to the GCC community is Statista. This searchable database of free and fee-based statistics and reports provides access to over a million U.S. and international statistics covering the gamut of topics. Graphs and infographics from Statista can also be downloaded and used for educational and academic work on campus.

Beyond Statista, Buhl Library has identified a variety of other sources for statistics and organized them by discipline for easy browsing. For the full list of disciplines and resources, visit our Statistics and Data Sets LibGuide. 

Locating Data Sets

If your research or teaching needs call for research data, rather than statistics, we've got resources to help you there too. For the largest collection of social and political science data sets from academic institutions in the U.S. and abroad, check out ICPSR. With more than 250,000 data files, as well as ready-made classroom exercises, this is an incredible tool for researching and teaching with data.

For additional sources of research data, visit our Statistics and Data Sets LibGuide. If you would like to use data sets, but don't see the data you need among our resources, we can help you identify other data sources. Please contact the library for more information.

Information Literacy Assessment Data

Is your department seeking first-time accreditation or renewing current accreditation that calls for documentation of information literacy? If so, then you will be happy to know that the library collects assessment data from a number of courses in both the general education curriculum, as well as in individual departments. We are happy to share this information with departments, as needed.

If you would like more information about the assessments already occurring or would like to learn how you can partner with the library to assess information literacy in your department, please contact the library or see our Library Assessment Plan LibGuide for more information.  

For More Information, Visit the Links Below:

GCC Staff Resources

Did you know as a staff member at Grove City College that you have all of Buhl Library's resources available to you? You can checkout books, audiobooks, and DVDs. You also have access to all of our databases, ebooks and online resources from anywhere on your college issued laptop. 

Checkout Periods for Staff 

 - Books (90 days, 2 renewals)

-  DVDS (3 days, 2 titles, No Renewals)

- Audiobooks (21 Days, 1 title, No renewals)

If you're a fiction reader, we have a great collection! You can browse our collection here. To see what movies and documentaries we have, browse here. We also welcome you to stop over anytime to browse in person. We're happy to help you find anything or give recommendations. 

Using the Atla Religion Database

Atla is a great resource when searching for books, journal articles and commentaries about the bible. It is particularly helpful if you're looking for a certain book or passage in the bible.  Atla allows you to search using their scriptures list. 

Find the book, chapter and verse that you wish to research 

Click on the verse link and your results list will appear. You can enter additional search terms above in the search box. 

You can limit and filter your search results using your options on the left hand side - 

If you ever have any questions or problems searching Atla or any of our databases, contact us at refdesk@gcc.edu. We're also available to give database tutorials and teach helpful search strategies. 

Fall Break Hours

Wednesday October 16th - 7:30am - 7pm 

Thursday October 17th - 8am - 7pm 

Friday October 18th - 8am - 5pm

Saturday October 19th - 8am - Noon

Sunday October 20th - 5pm - 1am

Meet your Library Staff

Each month we will feature a Q&A with a Buhl permanent staff member or student from the library.

 Meet Kim Marks, Buhl Library Assistant Director 

How long have you worked at Buhl Library? 13 years

Tell us a little about your educational background & work at GCC: I have a B.A. in Criminal Justice from Edinboro University and my Master's degree in Library Science from Clarion University. My main role at GCC is helping students and faculty with their research, but I also enjoy answering other questions especially ones related to movies. I'm a huge movie fan and would love to help you find your next favorite film!

Name 2 things that people might not know about you?

1. My favorite sport is bowling - I go a couple of times a week. To date, my highest score is a 290!

2. I'm a huge animal lover. My dog (her name is Cake) and I walk on campus a lot and she loves to be petted by students

Book & Movie Recommendations

Therapy Animals for Midterms 

Comment Box