Welcome, Debbie Brown!
We are happy to welcome Debbie Brown to the library staff as Reference, Instruction, and Engagement Librarian.
You'll find Debbie at the Reference Desk, in the classroom, and spearheading all sorts of library activities. Debbie hails from Sharon and currently resides in New Castle with her husband, three children, and two dogs. She worked most recently as Circulation Librarian at Thiel College and also taught high school English for ten years.
Please stop by to introduce yourself to Debbie and give her a warm Grove City welcome!
Last month's newsletter introduced information literacy and why it is needed by researchers more today than ever before. This month we'll dive deeper into the Association of College and Research Libraries’ Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education (ACRL Framework), exploring the first two frames.
FRAME 1: Authority is Constructed and Contextual
Expertise does not look the same in every situation—that's the crux of this portion of the ACRL Framework. Instead, who is an expert varies by the researcher’s purpose and discipline, so information seekers need to weigh these factors to determine what type of information will best meet their needs.
See this Frame in Action: Video Games
Use this Frame in your Courses
FRAME 2: Scholarship as Conversation
Researchers should understand that they are entering the middle of an ongoing effort to build knowledge, one that might have started a long time ago and for which there may continue to be multiple perspectives. Recognizing that questions continue to surround many topics in most disciplines, this frame teaches that what we know about those topics will continue to grow as new research is produced.
See this Frame in Action: Artificial Intelligence
Use this Frame in your Courses
Getting Jefferson right : fact-checking claims about Thomas Jefferson / by Warren Throckmorton and Michael Coulter. Second edition. Grove City, PA : Salem Grove Press, [2023]
Now available in the library stacks at E322.2 .T54 2023.
Searching Databases by Author Affiliation
We love to call out new books by faculty like the one above in the Newsletter. These are easy for library staff to spot because the books pass right across our desks, but articles by faculty are more difficult to track. Most of the library’s journal content is online, and new articles are posted in the databases all the time without our notice.
Here is a tip! Many databases, including the Discovery search tool, allow you to search by author affiliation. Databases like ACM Digital Library, Annual Reviews, Engineering Village, Science Direct, and Social Science Citation Index offer a search limit called “Affiliation” or “Author Affiliation”. In other databases, like ones from EBSCO and including Discovery, you can try using the Field Code AF, like this:
We recently queried Discovery for all of the GCC-affiliated peer-reviewed academic journal articles published in 2023. Here they are!
By: Kocur, Richard D. Christian Business Academy Review. Spring2023, p71-78.
By: Noakes TD; Prins PJ; Volek JS; D'Agostino DP; Koutnik AP, Frontiers in physiology, 2023 Mar 28; Vol. 14: 1150265.
By: Coyne, John M.; Arghode, Vishal; Bhattacharyya, Som Sekhar; Barker, David; Neupauer, Nicholas C. Indian Journal of Industrial Relations. 2023, Vol. 59 Issue 1, p142-159.
By: Buxton, Jeffrey; Shields, Kelly J.; Nhean, Holyna; Ramsey, Jared; Adams, Christopher; Richards, George A. Biomechanics (2673-7078). Sep2023, Vol. 3 Issue 3, p310-321.
By Scahill, Steven D.; Sherman, Kelly Jean; Guidry, Jessie J.; Walkowski, Whitney; Nguyen, Theresa; Ray, Durwood B.; Jones, David H.; Gould, Harry J., III; Paul, Dennis. In Advances in Cancer Biology - Metastasis. July 2023 7.
By: Buga, Alex; Crabtree, Chris D.; Stoner, Justen T.; Decker, Drew D.; Robinson, Bradley T.; Kackley, Madison L.; Sapper, Teryn N.; Buxton, Jeffrey D.; D'Agostino, Dominic P.; McClure, Tyler S.; Berardi, Anthony; Cline, Shawn; Fleck, Trevor; Krout, Jared; Newby, Doran; Koutnik, Andrew P.; Volek, Jeff S.; Prins, Philip J. Experimental Physiology. May 2023, Vol. 108 Issue 5, p715-727.
By: Conway III LG; Zubrod A; Chan L; McFarland JD; Van de Vliert E, Frontiers in psychology, ISSN: 1664-1078, 2023 Feb 08; Vol. 13: 1041391.
By: Prins, Philip J.; Noakes, Timothy D.; Buxton, Jeffrey D.; Welton, Gary L.; Raabe, Amy S.; Scott, Katie E.; Atwell, Adam D.; Haley, Sarah J.; Esbenshade, Noah J.; Abraham, Jacqueline. Biology of Sport. 2023, Vol. 40 Issue 2, p465-475.
By: Harp, Gillis J. Canadian Review of American Studies. Apr2023, Vol. 53 Issue 1, p54-69.
By: Kong, Jooyoung; Homan, Kristin J.; Goldberg, Jaime. Family Relations. Sep2023, p1.
By: Wan, Thomas T. H.; Wan, Hunter S. AI. Sep2023, Vol. 4 Issue 3, p482-490.
By: Prins PJ; Noakes TD; Buga A; D'Agostino DP; Volek JS; Buxton JD; Heckman K; Jones DW; Tobias NE; Grose HM; Jenkins AK; Jancay KT; Koutnik AP, Frontiers in nutrition, 2023 Feb 09; Vol. 10: 1084021.
In the beginning, the College's library collections were housed in Carnegie. Originally this was a shared college/township collection, but around 1905 the library became solely the College's.
In 1892, eight years after the College was officially founded, the library collections numbered 2,000 volumes. By the early 1950s the collection was climbing towards 50,000 volumes, necessitating a new space.
The new library was dedicated on Saturday, January 23rd, 1954, with a luncheon program presided over by J. Howard Pew, President of the Board of Trustees. The building was "open for inspection" to students, alumni, and townspeople later that day.
The building was designed to harmonize with the Harbison Chapel and Crawford Hall and is of modified Gothic design with a shot-sawed sandstone exterior trimmed with Indiana limestone.
Buhl Library's location was selected by the Olmsted Brothers as part of their original campus plan. The site was considered desirable because of its proximity to the residential halls and educational buildings. This overhead image is from 1962.
The new library was designed to hold as many as 200,000 volumes in its stacks and here in the Reading Room but moved in with only a quarter of that. Students even poked fun at the empty shelves in the Collegian that year. But President Harker (1956-1971) campaigned strongly for growth and by his retirement the library had 115,000 volumes.
Computer technologies began to impact the library in the 1980s. In 1988, the library began the conversion from a card catalog to a computerized catalog. And journal databases arrived, in the form of CD-ROMs. The library did not get internet access until 1998.
In 2002 Buhl Library changed the collections from Dewey Decimal Classification to the Library of Congress Classification system. That meant pulling, relabeling, and reshelving (in a different order!) every single volume. But it was a necessary change to bring the college in line with other research institutions and better prepare students for the libraries they would encounter as graduate students.
Student life in the library took a big turn for the better in 2007. That was the year that the library first offered extended hours during finals week AND went wireless!
Following major renovations in 2020-2022, Buhl Library is refreshed with new seating, technology, and collaborative workspaces, as well as a classroom and a café. It is ready for the students of today, tomorrow, and the next 70 years!
1954 Was a Good Year!
1954 saw the opening of Buhl Library. What else "was born" that year? We've got a list!
Want to Learn More?
Do you wonder what it was like being a student here back in 1954, or in any other era? Here are some sources to explore:
Check out our display on Grove City College History in the library's lower level as well!
This beautiful building was dedicated on January 23, 1954. Scroll to the bottom for more on the history of the library and join us on social media later this month to share some favorite Buhl memories!
Candy for Sale!
Are you stuck in the chocolate doldrums between Valentine’s Day and Easter? Stop by the library for Daffin’s Candy! The library is selling a variety of candy bars for $1 each in support of the Hopefield Children’s Complex in Grove City, helping local special needs children and their families.
Last Call for Faculty Book Orders!
March 22nd is almost here—that's the deadline for this semester's faculty book orders. If there are titles you'd like to see added to the library collection, send them in! Use the final Choice Review cards that are circulating in your department or identify important titles through other means like the Choice Reviews website, Books in Print, publishers' catalogs and websites, and more. Send the selected cards back to the library or email title information to Barbra Munnell or Jill Forsythe. Don't wait!
Library Staff Update
Kim Marks is taking on some new responsibilities. In addition to her ongoing work in the library, Kim will also be working in the Institutional Support department coordinating the publication of The Bulletin, assisting in the development and revision of academic curriculum, and helping to coordinate data reporting. Her new job title is Director of Academic Records/Reference and Instruction Librarian.
If you loved these recent blockbusters in the theater, then you should check out the library books on which they were based!
Dune / Frank Herbert. New York : Ace Books, 1999.
Buhl - Open Stacks PS3558.E63 D8 1999
American Prometheus : the triumph and tragedy of J. Robert Oppenheimer / by Kai Bird and Martin J. Sherwin. New York : A.A. Knopf, 2005.
Buhl - Open Stacks QC16.O62 B57 2005
The color purple / Alice Walker. New York : Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, c1992.
Buhl - Open Stacks PS3573.A425 C6 1992
Are you there God? It's me, Margaret / Judy Blume. New York : Antheum Books for Young Readers, 2001.
Curriculum Library - Juvenile Juv. B625ar 2001
Caste : the origins of our discontents / Isabel Wilkerson. New York : Random House, [2020]
Buhl - Open Stacks HT725.U6 W55 2020
The boys in the boat : nine Americans and their epic quest for gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics / Daniel James Brown. New York : Viking, [2013]
Buhl - Open Stacks GV796 .B76 2013
Killers of the Flower Moon : the Osage murders and the birth of the FBI / David Grann. New York : Doubleday, [2017]
Buhl - Open Stacks E99.O8 G675 2017
Death on the Nile : a Hercule Poirot mystery / Agatha Christie. New York : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2011.
Buhl - Open Stacks PR6005.H66 D4 2011
The ballad of songbirds and snakes / Suzanne Collins. New York : Scholastic Press, 2020.
Curriculum Library - Young Ad. Yng.Ad. C696ba 2020
Where the crawdads sing / Delia Owens. New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, [2018].
Buhl - Open Stacks PS3615.W447 W48 2018
White noise / Don DeLillo. New York : Penguin Books, 2009.
Buhl - Open Stacks PS3554.E4425 W48 2009
Did you know that the library has a collection of popular DVDs and that college staff members can check them out? Movie night, here we come! You can borrow 2 DVDs at a time for 3 days. Bring your staff ID with you to the library and browse the collection today!
What's New?
Here is a sampling of new resources in Buhl Library. Be sure to also check out the new book display in the library lobby.
Hover over a book's title to view a summary.
Birds and Us : a 12,000-year history from cave art to conservation by 
Tolkien's Faith: a Spiritual Biography by 
The Matter of Everything : how curiosity, physics, and improbable experiments changed the world by 
The Toxic Attack on Masculinity : how Christianity reconciles the sexes by 
As Gods among Men : a history of the rich in the West by 
Early New Testament Apocrypha by 
Artists' Lives by 
The Readable Darwin : the Origin of Species edited for modern readers by 
The Age of Prediction : algorithms, AI, and the shifting shadows of risk by 
Writing Wars : authorship and American war fiction, WWI to present by 
Little Species, Big Mysteries : The Story of Homo Floresiensis by 
Long Hard Road : The Lithium-Ion Battery and the Electric Car by 
Cave Biodiversity : Speciation and Diversity of Subterranean Fauna by 
Managing Environmental Conflict : An Earth Institute Sustainability Primer by 
SceneWriting : the missing manual for screenwriters by 
The Empire of Effects : Industrial Light & Magic and the rendering of realism by 
Christopher Nolan : filmmaker and philosophe by 
The American Blockbuster : movies that defined their generations by 
Moving Frames : photographs in German cinema by 
The Savvy Sphinx : how Garbo conquered Hollywood by 
Conversations with Sam Shepard by 
Transpacific Convergences : race, migration, and Japanese American film culture before World War II by 
Soundies and the Changing Image of Black Americans on Screen by 
A Very Nervous Person's Guide to Horror Movies by 
The Phoenix Economy : work, life, and money in the new not normal by 
Economics in America : an immigrant economist explores the land of inequality by 
Health Economics by 
Economic Foundations of Education by 
Legacy : how to build the sustainable economy by 
The Return of Inflation : money and capital in the 21st century by 
Tokens : the future of money in the age of the platform by 
A Crash Course on Crises : macroeconomic concepts for run-ups, collapses, and recoveries by 
The Cosmos Economy : the industrialization of space by 
Restarting the Future : how to fix the intangible economy by Right Now on Social Media— #BuhlBookface
There’s something fun happening on the library’s social media this month: #BuhlBookface!
A picture will explain better than words. Do you get the idea?
So grab a library book (there is a selection on display on the library’s lower level) or choose a book of your own, and post your best shot to Instagram or Facebook using #BuhlBookface!
Follow Us
Do you want to learn more about the library? Follow us on our social media channels!
Contact Us
Email: refdesk@gcc.edu | Phone: 724-264-4729 | Website: hbl.gcc.edu
