In this issue:
Using Choice Reviews
If you haven't received Choice Cards for book ordering, don't worry, use Choice Reviews online! Choice Reviews is a great resource containing almost 200,000 reviews of academic titles ranging over the past 28 years. Use it to order books for your department and your classes to add to the library collection. As a faculty member at Grove City College your expertise in your fields of study is invaluable and we appreciate your help in selecting titles for our collection so our students have access to the newest and most important research from leaders in their fields of study during their time here at Grove City College. Learn about Choice Reviews below and how to get started by watching the tutorial below.
Working remotely? Don't worry, you can access Choice Reviews from home! You will need to be connected to GCC's VPN for access. Need help connecting? Click here for instructions.
Book Ordering Process
Book orders are due March 17th
Each department or major program is allotted new book money each year and may determine how they as a faculty group wish to distribute the funds among themselves. Consult your group's Library Committee representative or department chair for allocation details and an explanation of the process used in ordering books and journals.
Ready to place your order? Submit your book orders to Jill Forsythe, acquisitions (x2047, email@example.com). Please speak directly with Jill to expedite rush orders for reserve shelves or to check the status of an order.
Need help selecting books for your department? Please consult Barbra Munnell, coordinator of collection development, for assistance in finding and selecting books to order (x3824, firstname.lastname@example.org).
GCC Staff Resources
Did you know as a staff member at Grove City College that you have all of Buhl Library's resources available to you? You can checkout books, audiobooks, and DVDs. You also have access to all of our databases, ebooks and online resources from anywhere on your college-issued laptop.
Checkout Periods for Staff
- Books (90 Days, 2 Renewals)
- DVDS (3 Days, 2 titles, No Renewals)
- Audiobooks (21 Days, 1 title, No Renewals)
If you're a fiction reader, we have a great collection! You can browse our collection here. To see what movies and documentaries we have, browse here. We also welcome you to stop over anytime to browse in person. We're happy to help you find anything or give recommendations.
Stay tuned for next month's newsletter for more information on our leisure reading collection and the benefits of reading for fun!
Women's History Month: Women in Science
March is Women's History Month. Below are a list of resources from our collection that highlight the important role that women have and continue to play in science fields. From famous scientists, to important discoveries made by women, celebrate this month by checking out our collection and learning more about women in science. Here are some other great resources to check out:
PLEASE NOTE: We have a new smaller new book display located in our library lobby. Some of our newest titles will be featured here every month. You can still browse the rest of our newest titles and featured collections from the library online on the landing page for our online catalog, HENRY.
Click on the book titles for book descriptions.
Click on the book titles for descriptions and to access the eBook
Books on Mars & Space Exploration
The Mars rover, Perseverance landed on the surface of Mars on February 18th after almost a seven month long journey. It was launched on July 30, 2020 and since landing has been sending some really neat footage from the mission. You can check out video footage of the landing, new audio recordings and findings from the first flight of Ingenuity, the Mars Helicopter. Check it out on NASA's website here. You can also check out some of the great books and other resources we have on Mars and space exploration below.
Featured Collection - The Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture
Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. The specific collection featured below focuses on philosophy and religion.
If you want browse some some of the other topics covered in the Cambridge Companions series, including literature, classics, and music you can search or browse those titles here.
Fighting Disinformation During Covid-19
With a wealth of information available at our fingertips, it can be overwhelming in the digital age to wade through all of the information that we encounter everyday. Add in a global pandemic and it can be difficult to determine what information about Covid-19 and vaccines is true and what is misinformation or disinformation. Below are some resources that we hope will help guide you. As librarians, we are experts in finding quality information from trustworthy sources and determining whether a source may be providing misinformation or disinformation. Please reach out to us if you ever have a question or need help determining the credibility of a source.
Click here to view this interactive presentation in a larger window Facts In the Time of COVID-19 from the Pacific Science Center in collaboration with University of Washington’s Center for an Informed Public.
General Resources on Misinformation, Disinformation and Fake News
Learn more about Fake News, Misinformation, & Fact-Checking using this helpful guide from Ohio University
Fake News & Disinformation subject guide from Central Washington University Libraries
Check out this video called How to Separate Fact from Fiction Online by Markham Nolan at the TEDSalon in London. Markham Nolan shares the investigative techniques he and his team use to verify information in real-time, to let you know if that Statue of Liberty image has been doctored or if that video leaked from Syria is legitimate.
Email: email@example.com | Phone: 724-264-4729 | Website: hbl.gcc.edu