 Faculty Book Talk with Dr. Lisa Hosack | February 26 | 4 - 5pm | Buhl Library |
Faculty Book Talk
Dr. Lisa Hosack will discuss her newest book Development on Purpose: Faith and Human Behavior in the Social Environment on Wednesday February 26th from 4 - 5pm in the library.
APA 7th Edition - NEW!
The library has copies of the newest edition of the APA style guide in our collection. We have revised the APA examples on our citing the bible page. All other citation links for APA having been updated on our citations page with the exception of Purdue Owl. They are working on updating their page.
What's new in this edition?
Easy to Navigate - Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions.
Best Practices - The Publication Manual (7th ed.) has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing.
New Student Resources - Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials.
Accessibility Guidelines - Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options.
New-User Content - Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers.
Journal Article Reporting Standards - New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style.
Bias-Free Language Guidelines - New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality.
100+ Reference Examples - More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources.
40+ New Sample Tables and Figures - More than 40 new sample tables and figures, including student-friendly examples such as a correlation table and a bar chart as well as examples that show how to reproduce a table or figure from another source.
Ethics Expanded - Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process.
Mysteries of the Library Revealed
by: Kim Marks
Information is everywhere – anyone who has ever searched Google can see this. But even turning to reputable publications, such as trade publications and academic journals can leave researchers with a deluge of thousands of potential titles to go through to find the best information. For this reason, Buhl Library puts lots of work into making the process of searching for and accessing these resources look easy.
This month, our series Mysteries of the Library Revealed is going to shed some light on the work that goes on behind the scenes to enable researchers at GCC to access journals for their academic endeavors. Read on for this second installment, “How Did You Make that Journal Appear?”
Mystery #2: How Did You Make that Journal Appear?
As a scholar in your field, I am sure that you are familiar with the best and most respected publications in your discipline, but you may not be aware of how vast the journal holdings at GCC really are. At present, Henry Buhl Library has full text access to more than 45,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers, along with abstracts to articles from thousands of others that are searchable via the 100+ databases the library subscribes to.
With so many journals available and so many databases, you might wonder, "How do researchers find anything?" Of course, you can probably guess my answer to that question: Librarians. From purchasing to advertising, several librarians at Buhl are involved in making sure that the titles you and your students need are available and accessible. Continue reading to learn more about the work we do in this area. We’ll start at the beginning: Selecting & Subscribing to Titles.
Step 1: Selecting & Subscribing to Titles – How journal titles become part of the library’s collection is a complicated story that varies due to a number of factors. Some titles have been individually selected by faculty due to departmental interests and/or accreditation needs. Others actually join our virtual shelves because they are included in our subscription to a database that was chosen jointly by library staff and faculty based on curriculum needs. But no matter how these journals are identified, the task of purchasing access falls to our Serials Librarian, Joyce Kebert.
She is our sole contact with a variety of publishers handling subscriptions and licenses, questions, and contacting tech support. While this role keeps Joyce largely out of the public eye, her diligent work is something every scholar at GCC benefits from. Once Buhl has a subscription, the job of creating access points starts.
Step 2: Providing Access Points – However a title makes the lineup, it is essential that scholars have a way to find it. For that reason, one of the requirements the library has for purchasing access to any new journal is that the title be indexed – which means that the articles are searchable through a resource (usually a database) that is accessible to the GCC community.
But a searchable journal is just the start. From there librarians Amy Cavanaugh and Kim Marks will take over where Joyce left off by populating key parts of the library webpage with access points to the journal. First, Amy will add any new database to the library’s Articles & Databases list and categorize it based on the disciplines of literature it contains. If a new journal is purchased with particular majors or courses in mind, she will ensure that the database(s) that index the title are listed under the discipline’s subject category.
But having just one or two access points is not enough – the Library wants to make sure that any researcher looking for a journal will come across it. For this reason, Amy and Kim will also make sure that every relevant discipline- or course-specific research guide has a link to the database(s) that researchers can use to search for the journal. Because the library currently has more than 100 guides, this means a researcher may have dozens of access points to search a journal. Regardless of the number of access points, with so many resources for scholars to chose from, every resource needs some publicity so that is our next step: Raising Awareness.
Step 3: Raising Awareness – As librarians, we often suffer from a tendency toward information overload – meaning that we want to share everything that could possibly help a researcher. I can vouch for the fact that we try hard to resist this urge (though we don’t always succeed), which is one of the reasons that we take several opportunities to raise awareness about resources in an effort to break things into more manageable chunks.
Amy and Kim do their part to raise awareness by highlighting relevant journal titles/databases through information literacy instruction to students. New faculty orientations and questions from faculty preparing new courses also provide an opportunity to point out relevant resources. Beyond these methods, Megan Babal, Buhl’s Outreach Librarian, also reminds the GCC community about these resources by advertising them in the Faculty/Staff and Student Newsletters (today she’s giving a shout out to the Historic Documents series), and on our social media (Facebook, Twitter, and now Instagram). But no matter how our users get access to the journal(s) they need, we’re just happy that they do.
I hope that you’ve enjoyed this installment of Mysteries of the Library Revealed. Please be sure to check out our newsletter next month when I’ll be talking about the education and qualifications that make librarians information experts.
Buhl Library's Top Hits
by: Gretchen Maxeiner
As part of its 125th anniversary celebrations, the New York Public Library recently published a list of its top ten most circulated books throughout the library’s history. Their list is topped by a well-loved children’s book, Ezra Jack Keats’ The Snowy Day, and the list generally is full of classics and nostalgic favorites. After reading this, we were inspired to do a little digging ourselves and see what Grove City College has been reading over time. The results were not so interesting! College classwork has heavily driven library book borrowing, and, as a result, required class readings (course reserves) have dominated circulation history. This gave us a very dull top 10 list! Class size proved to be more a factor than book popularity. Calculus and American Political Thought, anyone? So instead of a most-circulated list, let us share some other library “tops” and fun facts. These seem more representative of our collective reading interests.
Comment Box
What's New?
Click on the book titles for book descriptions.
The Ethics of Whistleblowing by 
What Are Biblical Values? by 
Talking to Strangers by 
After Net Neutrality by 
Double Crossed: the missionaries who spied for the US during the Second World War by 
Becoming C. S. Lewis by What's New?
Click on the book titles for descriptions and to access the eBook.
The Handsome Monk and Other Stories by 
All This by Chance by 
Amreekiya by 
The Enchanted Clock by 
The Geography of Friendship by 
Dust and Other Stories by What's New?
Click on the book titles for descriptions and to access the eBook
The Technology Takers by 
The Challenges of Corporate Entrepreneurship in the Disruptive Age by 
The Primal Kitchen Cookbook by 
The Science of Recharging Yourself in an Age of Unrelenting Demands by 
Critical Conversations in Healthcare by 
Who Owns the News? by Oscar Award Winning Films
The Oscars are coming up on February 9th! Did you know that The Joker has the most nominations this year? Check-out other award winners from past years in our collection.
Wings
Dead Poets Society
Jaws
Maya Lin: A Strong Clear Vision
ArgoFeatured Database
Historic Documents Series
For more than 40 years, Historic Documents has made primary source research easy by presenting excerpts from documents on the important events of each year for the United States and the world. Each volume includes approximately 70 events with well over 100 documents from the previous year, from official or other influential reports and surveys, to speeches from leaders and opinion makers, to court cases, legislation, testimony, and much more. Full-source citations are provided. Readers have easy access to material through a detailed, thematic table of contents and a cumulative five-year index that directs them to related material in earlier volumes.
Print & Electronic Reserves
Items that can be placed on the physical reserve shelf in the library include:
We can purchase books to put on your reserve shelf for your students at anytime during the year. if books need to be ordered please allow 3 - 4 weeks for books to be ordered, shipped by our book vendor and processed by library staff to be put on your reserve shelf.
Print reserve items circulate for two hours in library use only. Videos circulate for four hours and may be taken from the library for viewing. Items that can be placed on electronic reserve available on the library website include:
The Library will seek copyright permission for all electronic reserve items. Some restrictions may apply due to copyright. If you have questions about reserves please contact Conni Shaw and for book orders contact Jill Forsythe.
Meet HENRY
by: Gretchen Maxeiner
On the Carousel
Are you a visual learner? Are you happier engaging with images than with text? If so, check out some of these graphic features in our library catalog Henry, which aim to present information to you in a different way.
Carousels
On Henry’s home page you have probably noticed streams of book jackets and DVD covers. These are called “carousels”, and they offer an easy way for you to sit back and browse highlighted titles. Try it! There are two tabs that are passed through in rotation, or you can click on one in particular:
Flow Display
If you like the carousels, you’ll love the flow display option as a way to view your search results. By default in Henry, results appear in a vertical list, but if you change the “View As” setting, on the upper right of the results page, to “Flow”, you can view your results as a carousel. Here you can scroll through cover images of your results and click on any to bring up brief details about the title.
Virtual Shelf
Here is one last cool graphic feature. Once you find a book of interest, you can “virtually” browse the shelf around it. To do this, from the details page for an item, click the “Browse Virtual Shelf” button beneath the title header.
This will bring up a popup window of the virtual shelf, showing an image of your book and then the books that are before and after it in call number order. This is a great way to help you find resources on similar topics, which are typically grouped together by the call numbers.
Meet your Library Staff
Each month we will feature a Q&A with a Buhl permanent staff member or student from the library.
Meet Janet Elder
How long have you worked at Buhl Library?
Tell us a little about your work at GCC:
Name 2 things that people might not know about you?
1. I live on a 40+ acre farm where we raise beef cattle and sheep.
2. I really enjoy gardening. I have both flower and vegetable gardens at my home.
Book & Movie Recommendations
It Happened One Night
The Lake House by Contact Us
Email: refdesk@gcc.edu | Phone: 724-264-4729 | Website: hbl.gcc.edu
