In this issue:
Library Renovation Updates
New This Semester!
The new staircase in the library lobby is open! This provides a much better connection between the main level and the new lower-level library spaces and some extra seating along the right-hand side of the stairs on the built-in benches!
Here is a look at the new lower level of the library where you'll find all the reference books formerly located from upstairs situated in their new homes along with plenty more study spaces!
Meanwhile upstairs, the large reference room is closed off for renovations but we've added tables to use for studying in the small reference room for the semester! More of the “request-only collections” is available for use again, including print journals, local history, and storage books (now called Special Collections). These items have returned from off-site storage and can again be requested at the main desk starting in late January.
Document Delivery Services
Document Delivery services allow faculty, staff, and students of the college to borrow resources not available at Buhl Library. These are available for current GCC students, faculty, staff, and Emeritus faculty. Using this service you can obtain
Please double-check Buhl's A to Z List of Journals to be sure we do not have access to the journal you need.
Guidelines and Restrictions:
You can access the forms with these links:
If you have any questions, contact
Joyce Kebert, x3821, email@example.com
Celebrate Charles Dickens's Birthday
Celebrate Charles Dickens turning 210 this February with some of his memorable works!
Christianity Today's 2022 Book Awards
Professor Jeffrey Bilbro's recently published book Reading the Times: A Literary and Theological Inquiry into The News was selected for the Award of Merit under Culture & The Arts by Christianity Today for their 2022 Book Awards. A reviewer had this to say about Bilbro's work: "This book is like the best class you ever took in college. Big ideas are delivered in a winsome and enticing way. We all know we are consuming bad news and it is eroding our society. Bilbro identifies the problem, shows how it’s likely worse than you imagined, and offers hope. Reading the Times helps us think about time itself and how beauty, faith, and simple human practices can shift our perspective in healthy, God-honoring ways that will, in the end, enable us to read and respond to news wisely." —Ned Bustard, author, illustrator, and founder of World’s End Images
Professor Carl Trueman's recent book The Rise and Triumph of the Modern Self: Cultural Amnesia, Expressive Individualism, and the Road to Sexual Revolution was recognized as a finalist for Christianity Today's 2022 Book Awards for Award of Merit under Politics & Private Life. One reviewer describes Dr. Trueman's work this way: "...The Rise and Triumph of the Modern Self is a signal achievement of cultural analysis. Readers wishing to understand the cultural convulsions and social upheavals taking place in the West will find this an indispensable book. It’s a masterclass on the fact that, while all ideas have consequences, some ideas are more consequential than others. Trueman shows that the consequences arising from ideas about human nature and identity can be especially revolutionary." - Timothy Kleiser is a teacher and writer from Louisville, Kentucky. His writing has appeared in National Review, The American Conservative, Modern Age, The Boston Globe, Front Porch Republic, and elsewhere.
Stockings for Veterans
This year’s Stockings for Veterans drive was our most successful one yet with 200 stockings donated.
From Buhl Library and GCC Mortarboard, thank you for your help supporting the region’s homeless veterans!
Meet the Newest Member of the Buhl Library Staff
We have a new member to the library staff at Buhl Library. David Roberts recently joined us as the Public and Outreach Services Librarian. He arrives here after starting his career working in public libraries working as a research and social media librarian. As part of his role at Grove City College, he will be assisting with reference work and handling our outreach services.
Get To Know Your Librarians: What was a favorite class you took in school?
Kim Marks - My favorite class in college was called Culture, Illness, and Curing. It was a course in medical anthropology where we studied how different cultures see and treat illness. It was fascinating and made me want to get a second masters in anthropology.
Gretchen Maxeiner - My favorite class in college was on Icelandic Sagas. I knew nothing about them, but that's what I felt electives were for--exploring something totally new and different! I loved that class and still read the sagas sometimes.
Amy Cavanaugh - Favorite class (undergrad) was Material Culture (History). Material Culture is the study of objects, images, spaces, consumption. Most fascinating to me was learning how architecture and houses changed over time to accommodate modern society.
Janet Elder - I loved all the business courses in high school! My 2 favorite classes were Shorthand and Typing. I enjoyed being able to decipher what all those squiggly lines meant! Who knew typing would become such a vital course in the computer area and that shorthand would become nearly obsolete. I think the reason I liked these 2 subjects was the ability to set yourself goals to improve your words per minute and your accuracy.
David Roberts - My favorite class in college was a Wine Tasting honors seminar. We had a few meetings where we discussed the history of wine-making, the science behind the process, and the terminology involved in both the creation and tasting of wine. Afterward, we took a field trip to a local winery to view their operations and try their wine, and in our last class, we tried to identify different kinds of wine by taste. It just felt like an outside-of-the-box course offering and I really appreciated the uniqueness of it.
Conni Shaw - I would say that as an elementary education major here at GCC that I remember the Science Methods class for teachers was really fun. We got to do lots of science experiments in class such as playing with handheld microscopes to investigate items up close and making oobleck which is a combination of corn starch and water which has both solid and liquid properties. It was fun to be a kid again and experiment and also to build a repertoire of ideas for teaching.
Barbra Munnell - I think my fave classes were Social Problems and Sociological Research Methods because as part of research methods we had the opportunity to conduct a research project on a social issue on campus.
Using Choice Reviews
If you haven't received Choice Cards for book ordering, don't worry, use Choice Reviews online! Choice Reviews is a great resource containing almost 200,000 reviews of academic titles ranging over the past 28 years. Use it to order books for your department and your classes to add to the library collection. As a faculty member at Grove City College, your expertise in your fields of study is invaluable and we appreciate your help in selecting titles for our collection so our students have access to the newest and most important research from leaders in their fields of study during their time here. Learn about Choice Reviews below and how to get started by watching the tutorial.
Working remotely? Don't worry, you can access Choice Reviews from home! You will need to be connected to GCC's VPN for access. Need help connecting? Click here for instructions.
Book Ordering Process
Book orders are due March 24th
Each department or major program is allotted new book money each year and may determine how they as a faculty group wish to distribute the funds among themselves. Consult your group's Library Committee representative or department chair for allocation details and an explanation of the process used in ordering books and journals.
Ready to place your order? Submit your book orders to Jill Forsythe, acquisitions (x2047, firstname.lastname@example.org). Please speak directly with Jill to expedite rush orders for reserve shelves or to check the status of an order.
Need help selecting books for your department? Please consult Barbra Munnell, coordinator of collection development, for assistance in finding and selecting books to order (x3824, email@example.com).
Featured Database: Engineering Village
Engineering Village is a helpful database for research and information related to applied engineering and physical science domains. It features both current and archival as well as disciplinary content from a variety of journals, conferences, trade publications, dissertations, books, and technical manuals.
Within Engineering Village is access to 14 different databases that are curated and indexed with abstracts for search and discovery with a link to full-text articles. For assistance navigating the database, Elsevier created a helpful LibGuide to walk you through getting the most from this resource.
Here is a sampling of new resources in Buhl Library. Be sure to also check out the new book display in the library lobby.
Hover over a book's title to view a summary.
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org | Phone: 724-264-4729 | Website: hbl.gcc.edu