Book orders are due November 16th
Each department or major program is allotted new book money each year and may determine how they as a faculty group wish to distribute the funds among themselves. Consult your group's Library Committee representative or department chair for allocation details and an explanation of the process used in ordering books and journals.
Book Ordering Resources
Provides bibliographic information about in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books and other media from publishers around the world
Book Ordering Process
Ready to place your order? Submit your book orders to Jill Forsythe, acquisitions (x2047, jaforsythe@gcc.edu). Please speak directly with Jill to expedite rush orders for reserve shelves or to check the status of an order.
Need help selecting books for your department? Please consult Barbra Munnell, coordinator of collection development, for assistance in finding and selecting books to order (x3824, bmmunnell@gcc.edu).
Featured Collection
The Reference Shelf Series
Each 200-page volume provides comprehensive, balanced coverage of an issue of importance in modern society. Each volume contains 35-45 notable documents and articles (complete or abstracted) from highly respected periodicals and media outlets. In addition, the Preface introduces the reader to the topic and 5-6 chapters within the text provide readers with thoughtful guidance on how to approach a particular aspect of the topic. Each chapter’s introductory material provides guidance and guarantees success in using these carefully-selected materials. A bibliography, index and important websites enhance further research.
Also available as an eBook!
Also available as an eBook
Also available as an eBook!
Meet your Library Staff
Each month we will feature a Q&A with a Buhl permanent staff member or student from the library.
Senior Student Worker Spotlight
Meet Caroline Kaucher!
What is your major? French
Do you have any post-graduation plans? I will be starting a Construction Engineering job in the DC area this December.
What is one of your favorite books and why? I just read The Color Purple by Alice Walker this past summer and it quickly became one of my favorite books. I really appreciate how Walker, from the style of writing to the characters themselves, wrote a "real" story that was up-front, in your face, and there was nothing to hide. She presents the readers with an honest portrayal of people, showing the good and the bad, but also allowing for some form of redemption for each character.
How has the library helped you during your time here at Grove City College? Working at Henry has been one of the biggest blessings at Grove City College. The people here, librarians and fellow student workers, are unbeatable and I wouldn't trade my time with them for the world. The kindness and just general care to get to know one another is something I appreciate most about this library. After graduation, I will definitely be missing all my chats with the librarians during shifts.
Buhl Library staff wish to sincerely thank Caroline for all of her hard work over the past few years while working at the library. She has been a wonderful asset to the library assisting patrons, library staff and fellow student workers with kindness, a helpful attitude, and a great sense of humor. Caroline, we wish you all the best on your next adventure! It has been a joy working beside you. Thank you for all that you do.
Library Resources We're Thankful For
Pennsylvania Collection -- This resource contains full runs and portions of runs of regional & state titles in addition to small local newspapers in Pennsylvania. Coverage varies with newspaper.
I'm thankful for our Discovery Search! it’s a great way to get started when doing library research. Especially in the times now where we can’t always get to the library, you can get started here with “Research Starters” – an authoritative encyclopedia entry about your topic with background information including names, dates, and keywords to begin your search. "
I'm thankful for our Ebsco ebooks this year. They have been tremendously helpful in providing great titles for researchers at a time when ILL isn't available and/or people haven't been able or comfortable visiting the library. I've even found some wonderful titles for my own leisure reading!
Our citing sources subject guide is well loved and used by students and librarians alike! If you need help with any citation style you'll find electronic copies of manuals and trustworthy web resources with all of the examples and sample papers needed to correctly cite your sources.
Online classical music library. Perfect for easy listening wherever you're working or studying. Did you know according to a University of Maryland Medical Center study music helped reduce stress and anxiety levels among listeners. Listening to music, especially classical music can help you with focus according to a study done by Stanford. So the next time you're prepping for that next exam check out what Naxos has to offer.
We have continued to add a growing collection of electronic bible commentaries this semester to assist students who may not be able to physically come into the library to use these resources. You can check them out in our EBSCO eBook collection. You can also search by book of the bible or if you're looking for a specific commentary series.
Blast from the Past Photo Collection
Reminiscent of the famous yellow brick road in The Wizard of Oz, Buhl's original brown and yellow tile in the first and second floor stacks was original to the building in 1954.
Use the arrow on the right to see how our stacks area recieved a makeover in 2010.
Librarian (now our current director), Barbra Munnell is very excited about the prospect of new carpet!
The new carpet was installed in the summer of 2010 and it's the same carpet you'll find in the stacks if you visit our building today.
What's New?
PLEASE NOTE: Our New Book Display has been temporarily removed and the books have been moved into our general collection. You can still browse the newest books and featured collections from the library online on the landing page for our online catalog, HENRY.
Click on the book titles for book descriptions.
Stamped from the Beginning by 
Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You by 
A Time to Build: From family and community to Congress and the campus, how recommitting to our institutions can revive the American dream by 
DNA Testing and Privacy by 
Voting and Political Representation in America [2 Volumes] by 
Together: the healing power of human connection in a sometimes lonely world by 
The Inklings, the Victorians, and the Moderns by 
They Called Us Enemy: Expanded Edition by What's New?
The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes (A Hunger Games Novel) by 
Afterlife by 
What Kind of Girl by 
The Death of Sitting Bear by 
Never Look Back by What's New?
Click on the book titles for descriptions and to access the eBook
The Music Maker: How One POW Provided Hope for Thousands by 
The English Reformation : A Very Brief History by Celebrating Native American Heritage Month
Native American Heritage Month recognizes the significant contributions the first Americans made to the establishment and growth of the U.S. Pictured above is 2019 Poet Laureate of the United States Joy Harjo, She is the first Native American to serve as poet laureate and is a member of the Muscogee Creek Nation. We have several collections of her poems and interviews listed below. You can also learn more about Native American Heritage Month here
She Had Some Horses by 
How We Became Human by 
The Spiral of Memory by 
The Cambridge Companion to Native American Literature by 
Native Nations: cultures and histories of native North America by 
Encyclopedia of Native Tribes of North America by 
An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States by 
North American Indians: a Very Short Introduction by 
America Is Indian Country by 
This Indian Country by 
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by 
The Plague of Doves by 
House Made of Dawn by 
The Round House by 
Spider Woman's Granddaughters by Comment Box
