Faculty/Staff Library Newsletter

In this issue:

New Faculty Publication 

Dr. Carl Trueman has published his most recent work The Rise and Triumph of the Modern Self: Cultural Amnesia, Expressive Individualism, and the Road to Sexual Revolution last month. Our copy is on order and will be added to our collection soon. Keep an eye out for it and in the meantime check out his other books that we have in our collection below. 

Featured Collection 

Very Short Introductions  

Check out the newest books added to our collection from Oxford's Very Short Introductions series. This series offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects -- from Islam to Sociology, Politics to Classics, and Literary Theory to History. Not simply a textbook of definitions, each volume provides trenchant and provocative - yet always balanced - discussions of the central issues in a given topic. Expert authors combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make often challenging topics highly readable. Whatever the area of study, whatever the topic that fascinates the reader, the series has a handy and affordable guide that will likely prove indispensable.

Blast from the Past Photo Collection - Christmas Edition!

View some photos from years past of our holiday decorating in the library and other Christmas scenes since our staff won't be together to decorate this year. 

Library Hours during Winter Break

Buhl Library will be open Monday - Friday from 8am to 5pm November 30th through December 23rd. We will be closed for Christmas break and will reopen on January 4th. To find more hours information please see the hours page on our website. 

If you need help while away from campus don't hesitate to reach out to us! We're available by email, phone, and virtually through Teams. Reach out to us here. 

Featured Database  

Morningstar is an independent source for stock & mutual fund research. Here's what you'll find: 

Get comprehensive financial information on New York Stock Exchange, American Stock Exchange, and NASDAQ stocks. Find comprehensive financial information on thousands of mutual funds, including the Morningstar star rating. See financial information on hundreds of exchange-traded funds with up-to-date information on returns, reports and Morningstar ratings. Get return information on various investment indexes, types, sectors, and styles. Find insightful investing articles and videos, as well as daily market commentary, written and recorded by our analysts, editors, and outside market leaders. Easy-to-use portfolio tools and calculators to determine what your asset mix should be, how your investments are working together, and more.

Meet your Library Staff

Each month we will feature a Q&A with a Buhl permanent staff member or student from the library.

 Senior Student Worker Spotlight 

Meet Emma Nitzsche! 

What is your major? Political Science

Do you have any post-graduation plans? I plan on working for a few months and then apply for law school!

What is one of your favorite books and why? Mere Christianity. It's a classic Grover answer, but I think Lewis does an excellent job at providing a logical basis for why Christianity makes sense.

How has the library helped you during your time here at Grove City College? When I was a freshman, I don't think I fully grasped the magnitude of resources the library had available. On top of being a quiet place to crank out papers, the library has super helpful librarians who will help you with every aspect of the research process (including citations which I hate:). Also! You can check out DVDs and DVD players! My friends and I have saved so much money from borrowing movies from the library instead of buying them online. It's a total life hack.

Buhl Library staff wish to sincerely thank Emma for all of her hard work over the past few years while working at the library. She has been a wonderful asset to the library sharing her knowledge of library resources to her peers and bringing her hardworking attitude, and desire to help others to work. Emma, we wish you all the best in law school! It has been a joy working beside you. Thank you for all that you do. 

Comment Box