Henry Buhl Library: Citing the Bible and other Biblical Resources: Citation Key

Commentary Examples

A Book in a Series (eBook)

Series Examples: Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture or the Pillar New Testament Commentary

APA	Keener C. S. (2009). Romans (M. F. Bird & C. Keener, Eds.). Lutterworth Press.
MLA	Keener, Craig S. Romans. Edited by Michael F. Bird and Craig Keener, Lutterworth Press, 2009. New Covenant Commentary Series. EBSCO eBook Collection, https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,cookie,url,uid&db=nlebk&AN=813805&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
Turabian	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Keener, Craig S. Romans. New Covenant Commentary Series, edited by Michael F. Bird and Craig Keener. Cambridge, UK: Lutterworth Press, 2009. EBSCO eBook Collection. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations): Keener, Craig S. 2009. Romans. New Covenant Commentary Series, edited by Michael F. Bird and Craig Keener. Cambridge, UK: Lutterworth Press. EBSCO eBook Collection.
Chicago	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Keener, Craig S. Romans. New Covenant Commentary Series. Cambridge, UK: Lutterworth, 2009. EBSCO eBook Collection. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): Keener, Craig S. 2009. Romans. New Covenant Commentary Series. Cambridge, UK: Lutterworth. EBSCO eBook Collection.

Key:

A Book in a Series (Print)

Series Examples: NIV Application Commentary, NICOT, NICNT

APA	Enns, P. ( 2000). Exodus ( T. Muck, Ed.). Zondervan.
MLA	Enns, Peter. Exodus. Edited by Terry Muck, Zondervan, 2000. The NIV Application Commentary Series.
Turabian	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Enns, Peter. Exodus. NIV Application Commentary Series, edited by Terry Muck. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2000. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations): Enns, Peter. 2000. Exodus. NIV Application Commentary Series, edited by Terry Muck. Grand Rapids: Zondervan.
Chicago	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Enns, Peter. Exodus. The NIV Application Commentary Series. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2000. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): Enns, Peter. 2000. Exodus. The NIV Application Commentary Series. Grand Rapids: Zondervan.

Key:

A Chapter in an Edited Book in a Multi-Volume Work (Print)

A Chapter in an Edited Book in a Multivolume Work (Print)

Series Examples: Expositor's Bible Commentary or the New Interpreter's Bible

APA	Longenecker, R. N. (1981). Acts. In F. E. Gæbelein (Ed.), The expositor’s Bible commentary: With the New International Version: Vol. 9. John and Acts (pp. 205-573). Zondervan.
MLA	Longenecker, Richard N. “Acts.” John and Acts, 1981, pp. 205-573. The Expositor’s Bible Commentary: With the New International Version, Frank E. Gæbelein, general editor, vol. 9, Zondervan, 1976-92. 12 vols.
Turabian	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Longenecker, Richard N. “Acts.” In John and Acts, vol. 9, The Expositor’s Bible Commentary: With the New International Version, edited by Frank E. Gæbelein, 205-573. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1981. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations): Longnecker, Richard N. 1981. "Acts." In John and Acts, vol. 9, The Expositor’s Bible Commentary: With the New International Version, edited by Frank E. Gæbelein, 205-573. Grand Rapids: Zondervan.
Chicago	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Longenecker, Richard N. “Acts.” In John and Acts. Vol. 9 of The Expositor’s Bible Commentary: With the New International Version, edited by Frank E. Gæbelein, 205-573. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1981. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): Longenecker, Richard N. 1981. "Acts." In John and Acts. Vol. 9 of The Expositor's Bible Commentary: With the New International Version, edited by Frank E. Gæbelein, 205-573. Grand Rapids: Zondervan.

Key:

One Volume of a Multivolume Work (Web)

Original publication Data and Online Publisher Only

APA	Henry, M. (1706). Matthew Henry commentary on the whole Bible (complete) (Vol. 1). Bible Study Tools. http://www.biblestudytools.com/commentaries/matthew-henry-complete/genesis/
MLA	Henry, Matthew. Matthew Henry Commentary on the Whole Bible (Complete). Vol. 1, 1706. Bible Study Tools, www.biblestudytools.com/commentaries/matthew-henry-complete/.
Turabian	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Henry, Matthew. Matthew Henry Commentary on the Whole Bible (Complete). Vol. 1. N.p., 1706. http://www.biblestudytools.com/commentaries/matthew-henry-complete/genesis/. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations): Henry, Matthew. 1706. Matthew Henry Commentary on the Whole Bible (Complete). Vol. 1. N.p. http://www.biblestudytools.com/commentaries/matthew-henry complete/genesis/.
Chicago	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Henry, Matthew. Matthew Henry Commentary on the Whole Bible (Complete). Vol. 1. N.p., 1706. http://www.biblestudytools.com/commentaries/matthew-henry-complete/genesis/. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): Henry, Matthew. 1706. Matthew Henry Commentary on the Whole Bible (Complete). Vol. 1. N.p. http://www.biblestudytools.com/commentaries/matthew-henry-complete/genesis/.

Key:

Commentary from Christian Classics Ethereal Library (Web)

Commentary from Christian Classics Etheral Library (Web)

No known publication date

APA	Calvin, J. ( n.d.). Commentaries on the Epistle of Paul the Apostle to the Romans ( J.Owen, Ed. & Trans.). Christian Classics Ethereal Library. Retrieved March 17, 2011, from http://www.ccel.org/ccel/calvin/calcom38.i.html
MLA	Calvin, John. Commentaries on the Epistle of Paul the Apostle to the Romans. Translated and edited by John Owen, CCEL. Christian Classics Ethereal Library, www.ccel.org/ccel/calvin/calcom38.i.html. Accessed 17 Mar. 2011.
Turabian	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Calvin, John. Commentaries on the Epistle of Paul the Apostle to the Romans. Translated and edited by John Owen. Grand Rapids: Christian Classics Ethereal Library, n.d. Accessed March 17, 2011. http://www.ccel.org/ccel/calvin/calcom38.i.html. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations): Calvin, John. n.d. Commentaries on the Epistle of Paul the Apostle to the Romans. Translated and edited by John Owen. Grand Rapids: Christian Classics Ethereal Library. Accessed March 17, 2011. http://www.ccel.org/ccel/calvin/calcom38.i.html.
Chicago	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Calvin, John. Commentaries on the Epistle of Paul the Apostle to the Romans. Translated and edited by John Owen. Grand Rapids: Christian Classics Ethereal Library, n.d. http://www.ccel.org/ccel/calvin/calcom38.i.html. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): Calvin, John. n.d. Commentaries on the Epistle of Paul the Apostle to the Romans. Translated and edited by John Owen. Grand Rapids: Christian Classics Ethereal Library. http://www.ccel.org/ccel/calvin/calcom38.i.html.

Key:

Dictionary & Encyclopedia Examples

Unsigned Entry -- Dictionary or Encyclopedia (Print)

Use for: Dictionary, encyclopedia and concordance entries with no author listed for the entry.

APA	Beck. J. (2011). Shepherd. In Zondervan dictionary of biblical imagery (pp. 235-237). Zondervan.
MLA	Beck, Jack. "Shepherd." Zondervan Dictionary of Biblical Imagery, Zondervan, 2011, pp. 235-37.
Turabian	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Beck, Jack. Zondervan Dictionary of Biblical Imagery. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2011. [Entry title only listed in Note] Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations): Beck, Jack. 2011. Zondervan Dictionary of Biblical Imagery. Grand Rapids: Zondervan. [Entry title only listed in Parenthetical Citation]
Chicago	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Beck, Jack. Zondervan's Dictionary of Biblical Imagery. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2011. [Entry title only listed in Note] Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): Beck, Jack. 2011. Zondervan's Dictionary of Biblical Imagery. Grand Rapids: Zondervan. [Entry title only listed in Parenthetical Reference]

Key:

Signed Entry (Print)

Signed Entry -- Dictionary or Encyclopedia (Print)

Use when: An individual author(s) is listed for the entry.

APA	Stewart, D. G. ( 2009). Mary, mother of Jesus. In M. Silva (Ed.), The Zondervan encyclopedia of the Bible ( Rev., full-color ed., pp. 116-122). Zondervan.
MLA	Stewart, D. G. "Mary, Mother of Jesus." The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible, edited by Moisés Silva, rev., full-color ed., vol. 4, Zondervan, 2009, pp. 116-22.
Turabian	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Stewart, D. G. "Mary, Mother of Jesus." In The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible. Rev. ed., edited by Moisés Silva, 116-22. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2009. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): Stewart, D. G. 2009. "Mary, Mother of Jesus." In The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible. Rev. ed., edited by Moisés Silva, 116-22. Grand Rapids: Zondervan.
Chicago	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Stewart, D. G. "Mary, Mother of Jesus." In The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible. Rev. ed., edited by Moisés Silva, 116-22. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2009. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): Stewart, D. G. 2009. "Mary, Mother of Jesus." In The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible. Rev. ed., edited by Moisés Silva, 116-22. Grand Rapids: Zondervan.

Key:

Unsigned Entry (Database)

Unsigned Entry -- Dictionary or Encyclopedia (Database)

Database example: Oxford Reference Online

Use when: No author is listed for the entry.

APA	Cross, F. L., & Livingstone, E. A. (Eds.). ( 2005). Grace. In The Oxford dictionary of the Christian church ( 3rd ed., rev.). Oxford University Press. https://doi.org/10.1093/acref9780192802903.001.0001
MLA	Cross, F. L., and E. A. Livingstone, editors. "Grace." The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, 3rd ed., rev., Oxford UP, 2005. Oxford Reference Online, www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t257.
Turabian	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Cross, F. L., and E. A. Livingstone, eds. The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church. 3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005. Oxford Reference Online. [Entry title only listed in Note] Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations): Cross, F. L., and E. A. Livingstone, eds. 2005. The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church. 3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press. Oxford Reference Online. [Entry title only listed in Parenthetical Citation]
Chicago	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Cross, F. L., and E. A. Livingstone, eds. The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church. 3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005. Oxford Reference Online. [Entry title only listed in Note] Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): Cross, F. L., and E. A. Livingstone, eds. 2005. The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church. 3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press. Oxford Reference Online. [Entry title only listed in Parenthetical Reference]

Key:

Signed Entry (Database)

Signed Entry -- Dictionary or Encyclopedia (Database)

Database examples: Oxford Reference Online or New Catholic Encyclopedia

Use when: An individual author(s) is listed for the entry.

APA	North, R. ( 2003). Sabbath. In New Catholic encyclopedia ( 2nd ed., pp. 455-460). Gale.
MLA	North, R. "Sabbath." New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed., vol. 12, Gale, 2003, pp. 455-60. New Catholic* Encyclopedia*, go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?&id=GALE7CCX3407709778&v=2.1&u=grov34532&it=r&p=GVRL.newcatholic&sw=w.
Turabian	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): North, R. "Sabbath." In New Catholic Encyclopedia. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale, 2003. New Catholic Encyclopedia. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations): North, R. 2003. "Sabbath." In New Catholic Encyclopedia. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale. New Catholic Encyclopedia.
Chicago	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): North, R. "Sabbath." In New Catholic Encyclopedia. 2nd. ed. Detroit: Gale, 2003. New Catholic Encyclopedia. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): North, R. 2003. "Sabbath." In New Catholic Encyclopedia. 2nd. ed. Detroit: Gale. New Catholic Encyclopedia.

Key:

Unsigned Entry -- No publisher info (Web)

Unsigned Entry -- Dictionary or Encyclopedia (Web)

Use when:No author(s) is listed for the entry and/or city of publication and/or publisher information is missing.

APA	Easton, M. G. (Ed.). ( 1897). Love. In Easton's Bible dictionary ( 3rd ed.). N.p. http://kingjamesbibledictionary.com/Dictionary/love
MLA	Easton, Matthew George, editor. “Love.” Easton's Bible Dictionary, 3rd ed., 1897. King James Bible Dictionary, www.kingjamesbibledictionary.com/Dictionary/love.
Turabian	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Easton, Matthew George, ed. Easton's Bible Dictionary. 3rd ed. N.p., 1897. http://kingjamesbibledictionary.com/Dictionary/love. [Entry title only listed in Note] Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations): Easton, Matthew George, ed. 1897. Easton's Bible Dictionary. 3rd ed. N.p. http://kingjamesbibledictionary.com/Dictionary/love. [Entry title only listed in Parenthetical Citation]
Chicago	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Easton, Matthew George, ed. Easton's Bible Dictionary. 3rd ed. N.p., 1897. http://kingjamesbibledictionary.com/Dictionary/love. [Entry title only listed in Note] Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): Easton, Matthew George, ed. 1897. Easton's Bible Dictionary. 3rd ed. N.p. http://kingjamesbibledictionary.com/Dictionary/love. [Entry title only listed in Parenthetical Reference]

Key:

Signed Entry (Web)

Signed Entry -- Dictionary or Encyclopedia (Web)

Use when: An individual author(s) is listed for the entry.

APA	Schafer, G. E. (1996). Peace. In W. A. Elwell (Ed.), Baker’s evangelical dictionary of biblical theology. Baker Books. http://www.biblestudytools.com/dictionaries/bakers-evangelical-dictionary/
MLA	Schaefer, Glenn. E. “Peace.” Baker’s Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology, edited by Walter A. Elwell, Baker Books, 1996. Bible Study Tools Online, www.biblestudytools.com/dictionaries/bakers-evangelical-dictionary/.
Turabian	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Schaefer, Glenn E. "Peace." In Baker’s Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology, edited by Walter A. Elwell. Grand Rapids: Baker Books, 1996. http://www.biblestudytools.com/dictionaries/bakers-evangelical-dictionary/ Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): Schaefer, Glenn E. 1996. "Peace." In Baker’s Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology, edited by Walter A. Elwell. Grand Rapids: Baker Books. http://www.biblestudytools.com/dictionaries/bakers-evangelical-dictionary/.
Chicago	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Schaefer, Glenn E. "Peace." In Baker’s Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology, edited by Walter A. Elwell. Grand Rapids: Baker Books, 1996. http://www.biblestudytools.com/dictionaries/bakers-evangelical-dictionary/ Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): Schaefer, Glenn E. 1996. "Peace." In Baker’s Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology, edited by Walter A. Elwell. Grand Rapids: Baker Books. http://www.biblestudytools.com/dictionaries/bakers-evangelical-dictionary/.

Key:

Atlas & Map Examples

Atlas (Print)

APA	Lawrence, P. ( 2006). The IVP atlas of Bible history. IVP Academic.
MLA	Lawrence, Paul. The IVP Atlas of Bible History. IVP Academic, 2006.
Turabian	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Lawrence, Paul. The IVP Atlas of Bible History. Downers Grove: IVP Academic, 2006. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations): Lawrence, Paul. 2006. The IVP Atlas of Bible History. Downers Grove: IVP Academic.
Chicago	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Lawrence, Paul. The IVP Atlas of Bible History. Downers Grove: IVP Academic, 2006. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): Lawrence, Paul. 2006. The IVP Atlas of Bible History. Downers Grove: IVP Academic.

Key:

Circled 1 icon Author of Book | Circled 2 icon Title of Book | Circled 3 icon City of Publication | Circled 4 icon Publisher | Circled 5 icon Year of Publication

Map (Web)

APA	Lucidity Information Design. (n.d.). Map: First-century Galilee [Map]. Enter the Bible. Retrieved April 12, 2011, from http://www.enterthebible.org/resourcelink.aspx?rid=1107
MLA	Lucidity Information Design. Map: First-Century Galilee. Enter the Bible, Luther Seminary, www.enterthebible.org/resourcelink.aspx?rid=1107. Accessed 12 Apr. 2011.
Turabian	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): According to the Turabian Style Manual, maps are listed only in the Notes* of your paper. However, should your professor require its inclusion in your bibliography, use the following example:* Lucidity Information Design. "Map: First-Century Galilee." Luther Seminary. Accessed April 12, 2011. http://www.enterthebible.org/resourcelink.aspx?rid=1107. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations): According to the Turabian Style Manual, maps are listed only in the Parenthetical Citations of your paper. However, should your professor require its inclusion in your reference list, use the following example: Lucidity Information Design. n.d. "Map: First-century Galilee." Luther Seminary. Accessed April 12, 2011. http://www.enterthebible.org/resourcelink.aspx?rid=1107. Refer to sections 17.10.1.2 and 19.10.1.2** for more information and examples.
Chicago	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): According to the Chicago Style Manual, maps can usually be listed in the text without a note or bibliography entry needed. However, should your professor require its inclusion in your bibliography, use the following example: Lucidity Information Design. Map: First-Century Galilee. Luther Seminary. Accessed April 12, 2011. http://www.enterthebible.org/resourcelink.aspx?rid=1107. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): According to the Chicago Style Manual, maps can usually be listed in the text without a reference list entry needed. However, should your professor require its inclusion, use the following example: Lucidity Information Design. n.d. Map: First-Century Galilee. Luther Seminary. Accessed April 12, 2011. http://www.enterthebible.org/resourcelink.aspx?rid=1107. Refer to section 14.237** for more information and examples.

Key: