Skip to Main Content

Citing the Bible and other Biblical Resources

This guide will help users cite the Bible, and Bible dictionaries, encyclopedias, commentaries, and atlases.

Atlas (Print)

Atlas (Print)

Access the Citation Key

APA	Lawrence, P. (2006). The IVP atlas of Bible history. IVP Academic.
MLA	Lawrence, Paul. The IVP Atlas of Bible History. IVP Academic, 2006.
Turabian	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Lawrence, Paul. The IVP Atlas of Bible History. Downers Grove: IVP Academic, 2006. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations): Lawrence, Paul. 2006. The IVP Atlas of Bible History. Downers Grove: IVP Academic.
Chicago	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Lawrence, Paul. The IVP Atlas of Bible History. Downers Grove: IVP Academic, 2006. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): Lawrence, Paul. 2006. The IVP Atlas of Bible History. Downers Grove: IVP Academic.

Map (Web)

Map (Web)

Access the Citation Key

APA	Lucidity Information Design. (n.d.). Map: First-century Galilee [Map]. Enter the Bible. Retrieved April 12, 2011, from http://www.enterthebible.org/resourcelink.aspx?rid=1107
MLA	Lucidity Information Design. Map: First-Century Galilee. Enter the Bible, Luther Seminary, www.enterthebible.org/resourcelink.aspx?rid=1107. Accessed 12 Apr. 2011.
Turabian	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): According to the Turabian Style Manual, maps are listed only in the Notes* of your paper. However, should your professor require its inclusion in your bibliography, use the following example:* Lucidity Information Design. "Map: First-Century Galilee." Luther Seminary. Accessed April 12, 2011. http://www.enterthebible.org/resourcelink.aspx?rid=1107. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations): According to the Turabian Style Manual, maps are listed only in the Parenthetical Citations of your paper. However, should your professor require its inclusion in your reference list, use the following example: Lucidity Information Design. n.d. "Map: First-century Galilee." Luther Seminary. Accessed April 12, 2011. http://www.enterthebible.org/resourcelink.aspx?rid=1107. Refer to sections 17.10.1.2 and 19.10.1.2** for more information and examples.
Chicago	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): According to the Chicago Style Manual, maps can usually be listed in the text without a note or bibliography entry needed. However, should your professor require its inclusion in your bibliography, use the following example: Lucidity Information Design. Map: First-Century Galilee. Luther Seminary. Accessed April 12, 2011. http://www.enterthebible.org/resourcelink.aspx?rid=1107. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): According to the Chicago Style Manual, maps can usually be listed in the text without a reference list entry needed. However, should your professor require its inclusion, use the following example: Lucidity Information Design. n.d. Map: First-Century Galilee. Luther Seminary. Accessed April 12, 2011. http://www.enterthebible.org/resourcelink.aspx?rid=1107. Refer to section 14.237** for more information and examples.