Skip to Main Content

Citing the Bible and other Biblical Resources

This guide will help users cite the Bible, and Bible dictionaries, encyclopedias, commentaries, and atlases.

Unsigned Entry (Database)

Unsigned Entry -- Dictionary or Encyclopedia (Database)

Database example: Oxford Reference Online

Use when: No author is listed for the entry.

Access the Citation Key

APA	Cross, F. L., & Livingstone, E. A. (Eds.). (2005). Grace. In The Oxford dictionary of the Christian Church (3rd ed., rev.). Oxford University Press. https://doi.org/10.1093/acref9780192802903.001.0001
MLA	Cross, F. L., and E. A. Livingstone, editors. "Grace." The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, 3rd ed., rev., Oxford UP, 2005. Oxford Reference Online, www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t257.
Turabian	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Cross, F. L., and E. A. Livingstone, eds. The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church. 3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005. http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/ENTRY.html?subview=Main&entry=t257.e2966. [Entry title only listed in Note] Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations): Cross, F. L., and E. A. Livingstone, eds. 2005. The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church. 3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press. http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/ENTRY.html?subview=Main&entry=t257.e2966. [Entry title only listed in Parenthetical Citation]
Chicago	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Cross, F. L., and E. A. Livingstone, eds. The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church. 3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005. http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/ENTRY.html?subview=Main&entry=t257.e2966. [Entry title only listed in Note] Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): Cross, F. L., and E. A. Livingstone, eds. 2005. The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church. 3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press. http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/ENTRY.html?subview=Main&entry=t257.e2966. [Entry title only listed in Parenthetical Reference]

Signed Entry (Database)

Signed Entry -- Dictionary or Encyclopedia (Database)

Database examples: Oxford Reference Online or New Catholic Encyclopedia

Use when: An individual author(s) is listed for the entry.

Access the Citation Key

APA	North, R. (2003). Sabbath. In New Catholic encyclopedia (2nd ed., pp. 455-460). Gale.
MLA	North, R. "Sabbath." New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed., vol. 12, Gale, 2003, pp. 455-60. New Catholic Encyclopedia, go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?&id=GALE7CCX3407709778&v=2.1&u=grov34532&it=r&p=GVRL.newcatholic&sw=w.
Turabian	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): North, R. "Sabbath." In New Catholic Encyclopedia. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale, 2003. Gale eBooks. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations): North, R. 2003. "Sabbath." In New Catholic Encyclopedia. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale. Gale eBooks.
Chicago	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): North, R. "Sabbath." In New Catholic Encyclopedia. 2nd. ed. Detroit: Gale, 2003. Gale eBooks. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): North, R. 2003. "Sabbath." In New Catholic Encyclopedia. 2nd. ed. Detroit: Gale. Gale eBooks.