Skip to Main Content

Citing the Bible and other Biblical Resources

This guide will help users cite the Bible, and Bible dictionaries, encyclopedias, commentaries, and atlases.

Unsigned Entry -- No publisher info (Web)

Unsigned Entry -- Dictionary or Encyclopedia (Web)

Use when:No author(s) is listed for the entry and/or city of publication and/or publisher information is missing.

Access the Citation Key

APA	Easton, M. G. (Ed.). (1897). Love. In Easton's Bible dictionary (3rd ed.). N.p. http://kingjamesbibledictionary.com/Dictionary/love
MLA	Easton, Matthew George, editor. “Love.” Easton's Bible Dictionary, 3rd ed., 1897. King James Bible Dictionary, www.kingjamesbibledictionary.com/Dictionary/love.
Turabian	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Easton, Matthew George, ed. Easton's Bible Dictionary. 3rd ed. N.p., 1897. http://kingjamesbibledictionary.com/Dictionary/love. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations): Easton, Matthew George, ed. 1897. Easton's Bible Dictionary. 3rd ed. N.p. http://kingjamesbibledictionary.com/Dictionary/love.
Chicago	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Easton, Matthew George, ed. Easton's Bible Dictionary. 3rd ed. N.p., 1897. http://kingjamesbibledictionary.com/Dictionary/love. Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): Easton, Matthew George, ed. 1897. Easton's Bible Dictionary. 3rd ed. N.p. http://kingjamesbibledictionary.com/Dictionary/love.

Signed Entry (Web)

Signed Entry -- Dictionary or Encyclopedia (Web)

Use when: An individual author(s) is listed for the entry.

Access the Citation Key

APA	Schaefer, G. E. (1996). Peace. In W. A. Elwell (Ed.), Baker’s evangelical dictionary of biblical theology. Baker Books. http://www.biblestudytools.com/dictionaries/bakers-evangelical-dictionary/
MLA	Schaefer, Glenn. E. “Peace.” Baker’s Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology, edited by Walter A. Elwell, Baker Books, 1996. Bible Study Tools Online, www.biblestudytools.com/dictionaries/bakers-evangelical-dictionary/.
Turabian	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Schaefer, Glenn E. "Peace." In Baker’s Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology, edited by Walter A. Elwell. Grand Rapids: Baker Books, 1996. http://www.biblestudytools.com/dictionaries/bakers-evangelical-dictionary/ Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): Schaefer, Glenn E. 1996. "Peace." In Baker’s Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology, edited by Walter A. Elwell. Grand Rapids: Baker Books. http://www.biblestudytools.com/dictionaries/bakers-evangelical-dictionary/.
Chicago	Bibliography Style (accompanies notes): Schaefer, Glenn E. "Peace." In Baker’s Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology, edited by Walter A. Elwell. Grand Rapids: Baker Books, 1996. http://www.biblestudytools.com/dictionaries/bakers-evangelical-dictionary/ Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references): Schaefer, Glenn E. 1996. "Peace." In Baker’s Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology, edited by Walter A. Elwell. Grand Rapids: Baker Books. http://www.biblestudytools.com/dictionaries/bakers-evangelical-dictionary/.