Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citing the Bible and other Biblical Resources

This guide will help users cite the Bible, and Bible dictionaries, encyclopedias, commentaries, and atlases.

Unsigned Entry (Print)

Unsigned Entry -- Dictionary or Encyclopedia (Print)

Use when: No author is listed for the entry.

Access the Citation Key


 

APA

Beck. J. (2011). Shepherd. In Zondervan dictionary of biblical imagery (pp. 235-237). Zondervan.

MLA

Beck, Jack. "Shepherd." Zondervan Dictionary of Biblical Imagery, Zondervan, 2011, pp. 235-37.

Turabian Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):

Beck, Jack. Zondervan Dictionary of Biblical Imagery. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2011.

[Entry title only listed in Note]
 

Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical citations):

Beck, Jack. 2011. Zondervan Dictionary of Biblical Imagery. Grand Rapids: Zondervan.

[Entry title only listed in Parenthetical Citation]

Chicago Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):

Beck, Jack. Zondervan's Dictionary of Biblical Imagery. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2011.
 

[Entry title only listed in Note]

 

Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references):

Beck, Jack. 2011. Zondervan's Dictionary of Biblical Imagery. Grand Rapids: Zondervan.
 

[Entry title only listed in Parenthetical Reference]

Signed Entry (Print)

Signed Entry -- Dictionary or Encyclopedia (Print)

Use when: An individual author(s) is listed for the entry.

Access the Citation Key


APA

Stewart, D. G. (2009). Mary, mother of Jesus. In M. Silva (Ed.), The Zondervan encyclopedia of the Bible (Rev., full-color ed., pp. 116-122). Zondervan.

MLA

Stewart, D. G. "Mary, Mother of Jesus." The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible, edited by Moisés Silva, rev., full-color ed., vol. 4, Zondervan, 2009, pp. 116-22.

Turabian

Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):

Stewart, D. G. "Mary, Mother of Jesus." In The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible. Rev. ed., edited by Moisés Silva, 116-22. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2009.

 

Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references):

Stewart, D. G. 2009. "Mary, Mother of Jesus." In The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible. Rev. ed., edited by Moisés Silva, 116-22. Grand Rapids: Zondervan.

Chicago

Bibliography Style (accompanies notes):

Stewart, D. G. "Mary, Mother of Jesus." In The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible. Rev. ed., edited by Moisés Silva, 116-22. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2009.

 

Reference List Style (accompanies parenthetical references):

Stewart, D. G. 2009. "Mary, Mother of Jesus." In The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible. Rev. ed., edited by Moisés Silva, 116-22. Grand Rapids: Zondervan.