Henry Buhl Library: Management & Marketing: Background Reading

Encyclopedias & Databases

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance
Call Number: Ref HF 1001 .E466 2022 v. 1-2
"The Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, 3rd edition, covers finance and banking; accounting; marketing; management; and information systems, and is designed for the non-specialist."
Encyclopedia of Management
Covers numerous topics in management theories and applications, such as aggregate planning, diversification strategy, supply chain management, and much more.
Encyclopedia of Management
Call Number: Ref HD 30.15 .E49 2006
This updated fifth edition of Encyclopedia of Management covers more than 300 topics in management theories and applications, written by academics and business professionals.
Encyclopedia of Public Relations by Robert L. Heath (Editor)
Call Number: Ref HD 59 .E48 2013 v.1-2
The Encyclopedia of Public Relations remains the sole reference source for any library serving patrons in business, communication, and journalism as it explores the evolution of the field with examples describing the events, changing practices, and key figures who developed and expanded the profession.
Encyclopedia of Sports Management and Marketing
Call Number: Ref GV 713 .E53 2011 v.1-4
Introduces principles and procedures on the management side using a sports context, as well as marketing of sport and of sport-related products, and using sports as a platform for marketing non-sports products.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence
Call Number: Ref HM 1211 .S24 2015 v. 1-2
Cultural competence refers to the set of attitudes, practices, and policies that enables a person or agency to work well with people from differing cultural groups. Other related terms include cultural sensitivity, transcultural skills, diversity competence, and multicultural expertise.

Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
A global market research database offering research reports and company profiles providing insight into industries, economies and consumers worldwide.
A to Z International Business This link opens in a new window
Business and trade information for 170+ countries, with coverage on importing/exporting, global logistics, international banking and law, e-commerce, and more
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Consists of 170+ country guides documenting culture, customs, history, business, and more.
Country Watch This link opens in a new window
Provides up-to-date news and data on all recognized countries of the world, offering demographic, political, economic, business, and cultural information.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
"Presents easy-to-understand information on 194 countries and dependencies from around the world."

Corporate Social Responsibility
Call Number: HD 60 .C69186 2013
This research handbook addresses some key areas of contention, theory and practice within CSR in order to address, challenge and inform debate in academia and practice.
Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society
Explores current topics, such as mass social media, cookies, and cyber-attacks, as well as traditional issues including accounting, discrimination, environmental concerns, and management.
Encyclopedia of White-Collar and Corporate Crime
This work incorporates information about a variety of white-collar crimes, and provides examples of persons, statutes, companies, and convictions.
Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Business Ethics
Call Number: Ref HF 5387 .B55 1998
The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Business Ethics provides clear, concise and highly informative definitions and explanations of the key concepts in one of the most important fields in contemporary business.

Historical Encyclopedia of American Business
Call Number: Ref HF 3021 .H67 2009 v.1-3
Covers a variety of topics in the history of business in America, including people, government agencies, industries, and more.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
Call Number: Ref HC 15 .O94 2003 v. 1-5
Includes 900 original articles on inventors, theoreticians, and industry leaders as well as markets, industries, and labor.

Find Books & eBooks

TIPS:

Use subjects to find more books on your topic.
Use bibliographies to expand your search (tips for determining if a citation is for a book, a journal article, or a chapter in an edited book).

Try our list of E-Books & Online Books.

A few subjects to start.

Advertising
Accounting
Business ethics
Commerce
Customer relations
Finance
Industrial management
International business enterprises
Marketing
Success in business
Social responsibility of business

Want to Browse the Shelves?

Some relevant call number ranges:

HB -- Economic theory

HC -- Economic history and conditions

HD -- Industries. Land use. Labor

HF -- Commerce

HG -- Finance

Need a book the library does not own?

You can request the book through Interlibrary Loan. Info and a downloadable form are available here!

To search for books available in other libraries, try using

WorldCat -- Search the holdings of more than 10,000 libraries to locate books and identify citation information.

Library of Congress -- Access to the Library of Congress catalog and other online collections.

NOTE: Users do not need to identify a library that owns the book. Simply provide the appropriate information on the form and library staff will do the rest!

Management & Marketing

Company Information

Encyclopedias & Databases

Find Books & eBooks