Use of e-books is restricted by licensing agreements to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff of Grove City College. These resources are only available from the GCC campus network. Click herefor more information.
Full-text access to the Great Lives & Great Events encyclopedias as well as the Encyclopedia of American Business, Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society, Decades in America series (1920's through the 2000's), and the Defining Documents series.
Access "...encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides" from a variety of subject areas, including crime & punishment, geography, religion, world history, military history, health & medicine, popular culture, sociology, and more.
Search history dictionaries and encyclopedias for information about topics, people, and time periods related to archaeology, the Byzantium, the Classical world, the Enlightenment, the Reformation, military history, and more.
"This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter." Subjects covered include business, education, literary criticism, philosophy, political science, religion, engineering, and others. New titles are added monthly.
Books can be read online or downloaded onto another device. Portions of books can be printed.
Access over 700 articles in this collection of e-books from Oxford University Press. The titles in this collection cover world history, including major events and topics (i.e. the Cold War, witchcraft, Fascism, etc.), as well as countries/regions (i.e. Latin America, Iran, Germany, etc.).
Features more than 830 entries covering key global historical events from a regional perspective. Covering ancient civilizations to the present, important events in history are explored with an emphasis on their significance to overall world history. Volumes are chronologically arranged by region: Africa, Asia and Oceania, Central and South America, Europe, Middle East, and North America.
This title is "the only comprehensive collection of twenty-first century scholarship available on the entire ancient Mediterranean world." It contains "over 5,000 original entries spanning the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE. Entries extend to all Mediterranean civilizations, including the Near East and Egypt, and represent an unprecedented level of coverage of the ancient world."
The Loeb Classical Library® is the only series of books which, through original text and English translation, gives access to all that is important in Greek and Latin literature.
This is the digital version of all Loeb volumes, searchable by author, subject, or series number. New volumes are added when published.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary (OCD) includes over 6,000 entries on a range of topics, and monthly updates with new and revised content. It covers a range of subjects including art, literature, philosophy, law, mythology, and science. It also provides details of daily life and cultural trends.
The Classical Studies area of OHO aims to offer high-quality scholarly coverage of all major fields and sub-fields of contemporary research into Classical and ancient Mediterranean culture. While Greco-Roman language, literature, history, religion and philosophy continue to be dominant areas of scholarly interest which are fully represented in this module, every effort is also made to cover dynamic growth-areas of research, especially in material culture, epigraphy and papyrology, art and architecture, the sciences, engineering and technology, reception studies, and gender studies.
The first comprehensive, multi-disciplinary reference work covering every aspect of history, culture, religion, and life in Europe, the Mediterranean, and the Near East (including the Persian Empire and Central Asia) between c. AD 250 to 750, the era now generally known as Late Antiquity.
Provides access to the Historic Documents Series from 1972-2014. The Series includes documents from American history related to a variety of fields, including business, defense, technology, politics, health care, education, international affairs, culture, and more.
Encyclopedia gives historical geographical insight as well as focuses on the current need to understand geography ( (1) globalization, (2) environmental destruction, (3) new geospatial technologies, and (4) cyberspace.)
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.
Explores the events, policies, activities, institutions, groups, people, and movements that have created and shaped political life in the United States from the 1500s to the present day (from CQ Press).
Explores more than 200 years of political, military, economic, and cultural connections between the United States of America and its neighbors to the south. Topics and features include: Maps, photographs, country-specific entries as well as biographies of major Latin American leaders and U.S. presidents. Also includes coverage of the U.S. economic and military policy in the region from the Monroe doctrine to the present day.
Includes topics ranging from the westward movement of settlers and farmers in the 18th and 19th centuries, the transformation of work over time, the women's suffrage movement, counterculture, leisure activities, to the issues of voting habits, population movements and racial divides.
This work provides a compendium of the best available scholarship on Mexico’s rich history and culture. Themes include the expected topics of politics and economics, combined with powerful articles on biography, environment, gender, and culture, including music, art, and cinema.
This title is a great starting point for research on terrorism. Topics covered include a historical look at counterterrorism strategies and laws since WWII, key issues, counterterrorism since 9/11, and more.
This five-volume encyclopedia includes entries on the people, battles, armies, and states involved in the War, as well as topics related to society and culture such as music, religion, newspapers, medicine, and more.
A Civil War chronology; bibliography; and collection of primary documents are also included.
Access 10 contextual essays, maps, and a chronology, along with entries covering the people, places, battles, and other related events and topics of the French Revolution and Napoleonic eras (from ABC-CLIO).
Just as the Cold War colored global relations in the last half of the 20th century, developments in the Middle East and the proliferation of terrorism are coloring global relations during the opening years of the 21st century. A knowledge of these issues is critically important to understanding both the cultural clashes between East and West and U.S. military, diplomatic, and national security policy in the new millennium.
According to the publisher, "this reference work is an ideal resource for anyone interested in better understanding the controversial Iraq War. It treats the war in its entirety, covering politics, religion, and history, as well as military issues." Essays discussing the causes and consequences of the war are included (from ABC-CLIO).
Use this title to learn more about military robots and drones, including their background and history and the controversies surrounding their use in the U.S. and abroad. This reference handbook also includes a chronology, bibliography, and documents (from ABC-CLIO).
Provides religious and theological literature from the late 13th century to 1922. Series 1 includes monographs prior to the 1893 World Parliament of Religions.
Preserved and curated by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), this collection contains more than 29,000 titles and features over 50 languages, including German, Italian, and Spanish. Topics covered include church life, demographics, doctrinal disputes, higher criticism, Judeo-Christian religions, Non-Western religions, and social movements.
Series 2 covers 1893 through 1922. Preserved and curated by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), this collection contains more than 29,000 titles and features over 50 languages, including German, Italian, and Spanish. Topics covered include church life, demographics, doctrinal disputes, higher criticism, Judeo-Christian religions, Non-Western religions, and social movements.
"The Early Americas Digital Archive (EADA) is a collection of electronic texts and links to texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820."
Both primary and secondary sources are included. Texts are available for authors such as Christopher Columbus, John Smith, Hernan Cortes, Benjamin Franklin, and others (from Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities).