"The mission of the American National Election Studies (ANES) is to inform explanations of election outcomes by providing data that support rich hypothesis testing, maximize methodological excellence, measure many variables, and promote comparisons across people, contexts, and time."
The survey gathers the opinions of Americans on issues such as religion, politics, race, gender, and free speech. Data is available from 1972 to the present. Users can download into SPSS or STATA formats.
Archive of digital analysis-ready social science data in multiple software formats including SPSS, SAS, and Stata. Summary statistics for online analysis datasets.
While you may be able to view some information on ICPSR -- GCC students, faculty & staff will need to create an account in order to download datasets, etc. This can be done by clicking "Log In / Create Account" on the top right.
According to their website, "Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research." Data sets cover media & news, social trends, and Internet & technology.
The Kaiser Family Foundation Question Finder allows you to search for individual survey questions asked on all Kaiser Family Foundation polls since 1992. Search by keyword and/or date to find full question wording and results.
According to GeoLytics.com, the American Community Survey (ACS) "was designed to measure the changing social and economic characteristics of the US population but not to provide official counts. Among other things the ACS is collected over multiple years and then merged into a common file" (U.S. Census Bureau).
"IPUMS is not a collection of compiled statistics; it is composed of microdata. Each record is a person, with all characteristics numerically coded. In most samples persons are organized into households, making it possible to study the characteristics of people in the context of their families or other co-residents" (Minnesota Population Center, University of Minnesota).
Established in 1978, the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 2,600 curated studies or statistical data series.
The National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS) series was designed to achieve three primary objectives: to develop detailed information about the victims and consequences of crime, to estimate the number and types of crimes not reported to police, and to provide uniform measures of selected types of crime.
The Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention sponsored three series of national juvenile corrections data collections: Census of Juveniles in Residential Placement (CJRP), Juvenile Residential Facility Census (JRFC), and the predecessor to the CJRP series, Children in Custody (CIC).
START seeks to collect and disseminate valuable datasets so that academics, analysts, and practitioners can take these objective baselines as their starting point for future analysis and decision-making. Most of the datasets provided here, but not all, can be downloaded for free.
The European Social Survey (EES) is an academic social survey that attempts to explain the interaction between Europe’s changing institutions and the attitudes, beliefs, and behavioral patterns of its different population. The ESS were established in 2001 and is a biennial cross-sectional survey, covering 30 countries in Europe.
The National Archive of Data on Arts and Culture (NADAC) is a repository that facilitates research on arts and culture by acquiring data, particularly those funded by federal agencies and other organizations, and sharing those data with researchers, policymakers, people in the arts and culture field, and the general public. Data is available through ICPSR.
The World Values Survey (WVS) is an international research program devoted to the scientific and academic study of social, political, economic, religious and cultural values of people in the world. The project’s goal is to assess which impact values stability or change over time has on the social, political and economic development of countries and societies.
RCMD is a recent initiative of ICPSR. The changing demographic composition has expanded the scope of the U.S. racial and ethnic mosaic. As a result, interest and research on race and ethnicity has become more complex and expansive. Initially, ICPSR tapped its archives to assemble existing data files that focused upon communities of color. Since the late 1990's, there has been a marked increase in studies and projects on more minorities communities and exploring a wider range of experiences and relationships.
The Integrated Fertility Survey Series (IFSS) is a national resource that enhances knowledge about reproductive health, contraceptive use, pregnancy, and other issues vital to understanding and tracking the health of the U.S. population over five decades (data housed within ICPSR).
IFSS offers access to ten national studies of fertility encompassing the Growth of American Families (GAF; 1955, 1960), National Fertility Surveys (NFS; 1965, 1970), and National Surveys of Family Growth (NSFG; 1973, 1976, 1982, 1988, 1995, 2002) as well as a single dataset composed of harmonized variables across all ten surveys. Analytic tools and detailed documentation make it possible to quickly and easily explore the data and obtain information about changes in behaviors and attitudes across time.
The National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect (NDACAN) promotes secondary analysis of child abuse and neglect data by providing researchers with high quality datasets, documentation and technical support, and encourages collaboration within the scientific community.
NOTE: The data provided here is free to use, BUT you will need to submit a form and then download the dataset from Box.com in order to use it.
The National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health) is a longitudinal study of a nationally representative sample of adolescents in grades 7-12 in the United States during the 1994-95 school year. The Add Health cohort has been followed into young adulthood with four in-home interviews, the most recent in 2008, when the sample was aged 24-32. Add Health is re-interviewing cohort members in a Wave V follow-up from 2016-2018 to collect social, environmental, behavioral, and biological data with which to track the emergence of chronic disease as the cohort moves through their fourth decade of life.
The National Survey of America's Families (NSAF) is part of The Urban Institute's Assessing the New Federalism (ANF) multi-year research project. Its purpose is to track the effects of recent federal policy changes decentralizing many social programs from the federal government to the states, focusing primarily on health care, income security, job training, and social services (data housed within ICPSR).
In collaboration with Child Trends, researchers from the Urban Institute monitor program changes and fiscal developments, along with changes in the well-being of children and families. The NSAF is a household survey that can be used to produce cross-sectional estimates for a wide variety of child, adult and family well-being indicators at the state level for 13 states and the nation as a whole. Data collection for the NSAF was carried out in 1997, 1999 and 2002 by Westat.
The University of Michigan Health and Retirement Study (HRS) is a longitudinal panel study that surveys a representative sample of approximately 20,000 people in America, supported by the National Institute on Aging and the Social Security Administration.
The National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA), located within ICPSR, is funded by the National Institute on Aging. NACDA's mission is to advance research on aging by helping researchers to profit from the under-exploited potential of a broad range of datasets.
The Longitudinal Studies of Aging (LSOAs) is a collaborative project of National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) and the National Institute on Aging (NIA). It is a multicohort study of persons 70 years of age and over designed primarily to measure changes in the health, functional status, living arrangements, and health services utilization of two cohorts of Americans as they move into and through the oldest ages.
The 2007 National Home and Hospice Care Survey (NHHCS) is one in a series of nationally representative sample surveys of U.S. home health and hospice agencies. It is designed to provide descriptive information on home health and hospice agencies, their staffs, their services, and their patients. NHHCS was first conducted in 1992 and was repeated in 1993, 1994, 1996, 1998, and 2000, and most recently in 2007.
The National Nursing Home Survey (NNHS) is a series of nationally representative sample surveys of United States nursing homes, their services, their staff, and their residents. The NNHS was first conducted in 1973-1974 and repeated in 1977, 1985, 1995, 1997, 1999, and most recently in 2004. Although each of these surveys emphasized different topics, they all provided some common basic information about nursing homes, their residents, and their staff.
ARG and its Center have conducted a series of National Alcohol Surveys (NAS) of the adult (age 18 and older) US population at approximately 5-year intervals since the 1960s with considerable standardization of measurement methods since 1979 (the 6th NAS or N6). Although not unique in conducting repeated surveys including alcohol questions, the NAS has the longest time frame with commensurate, detailed alcohol use pattern and problem measures, which now extends over 35 years covered by 8 surveys (N6 TO N13), with the most recent survey conducted during 2014 and early 2015.
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA) provides public-use data files, file documentation, and access to restricted-use data files to support a better understanding of this critical area of public health.