Henry Buhl Library: Advanced Sociology Research: Home

Sociology Research Methods Books

Encyclopedia of Research Design
A collection of entries covering how to plan and conduct empirical research, including the use of both quantitative and qualitative methods.

Need some help with research terminology or deciding which method of data collection you should use? This encyclopedia can help. Check it out!
Abductive Analysis
Call Number: Q 175.32 .A24 T38 2014
In Abductive Analysis, Iddo Tavory and Stefan Timmermans outline a way to think about observations, methods, and theories that nurtures theory formation without locking it into predefined conceptual boxes.
Reading Statistics and Research by Schuyler W. Huck
Call Number: QA 276 .H788 2012
Employing a non-intimidating writing style that emphasizes concepts rather than formulas, this uniquely welcoming text shows consumers of research how to read, understand, and critically evaluate the statistical information and research results contained in technical research reports.
Research Design: Quantitative, Qualitative, Mixed Methods, Arts-Based, and Community-Based Participatory Research Approaches
Call Number: H 62 .L396 2017
This user-friendly book provides a step-by-step guide to using the five major approaches to research design: quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods, arts-based, and community-based participatory research.

Internet, Phone, Mail, and Mixed-Mode Surveys
Call Number: HM 538 .D55 2014
This invaluable resource is crucial for any researcher seeking to increase response rates and obtain high-quality feedback from survey questions.
The Oxford Handbook of Polling and Survey Methods
Call Number: HM 1236 .O945 2018
The Oxford Handbook on Polling and Survey Methods brings together a unique mixture of academics and practitioners, from various backgrounds, academic disciplines, and experiences.
The SAGE Handbook of Survey Methodology
Call Number: HA 31.2 .S23 2016
The SAGE Handbook of Survey Methodology explores both the increasingly scientific endeavor of surveys and their growing complexity, as different data collection modes and information sources are combined.

Basics of Qualitative Research by Juliet M. Corbin; Anselm C. Strauss
Call Number: HA 29 .S823 2015
Highly accessible in their approach, authors Juliet Corbin and Anselm Strauss (late of the University of San Francisco and co-creator of grounded theory) provide a step-by-step guide to the research act, from the formation of the research question through several approaches to coding and analysis, to reporting on the research.
Learning from Strangers
Call Number: HN 29 .W42 1994
Learning From Strangers is the definitive work on qualitative research interviewing. It draws on Robert Weiss's thirty years of experience in interviewing and teaching others how to do it.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research
Call Number: H 62 .H2455 2018
The substantially updated and revised Fifth Edition of this landmark handbook presents the state-of-the-art theory and practice of qualitative inquiry.