Encyclopedia of Social Movement MediaContains essays on "issues such as human rights media, indigenous peoples' media, and environmentalist media, and on key concepts widely used in the field such as alternative media, citizens' media, and community media."
Encyclopedia of Social Networks"Offer[s] comprehensive coverage of the theory and research within the social sciences that has sprung from the analysis of such groupings, with accompanying definitions, measures, and research."
Encyclopedia of Social TheoryExplores the roots of contemporary social theory. It examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of World Poverty, 2nd Edition addresses the persistence of poverty across the globe while updating and expanding the landmark first edition, originally published in 2006 prior to the economic calamities of 2008.
Online edition of 26 volume encyclopedia covering all fields of the social and behavioral sciences. Subjects covered include: aging, psychology, demography, education, gender studies, law, linguistics, public policy, sociology, urban planning, etc.
A Dictionary of Social Work and Social Care
Call Number: Ref HV 12 .H37 2013
Encyclopedia of Human Services and DiversityReflects the changes in the mission of human services professionals as they face today's increasingly diverse service population. Diversity includes differences in ability and disability, age, education level, ethnicity, gender, geographic origin, religion, sexual orientation, socioeconomic class, and values.
The "Encyclopedia of Social Work [is] the first continuously updated online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers (NASW Press) and Oxford University Press (OUP). Building off the classic reference work, a valuable tool for social workers for over 85 years, the online resource of the same name offers the reliability of print with the accessibility of a digital platform. Over 400 overview articles, on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards, offer students, scholars, and practitioners a trusted foundation for a lifetime of work and research, with new articles and revisions to existing articles added regularly."
Encyclopedia of Social Deviance
Call Number: Ref HM 811 .E53 2014 v. 1-2
American Prisons and Jails: an Encyclopedia of Controversies and TrendsProvides a comprehensive and authoritative examination of the history and current character of American prisons and jails and their place in the U.S. corrections system.
Families in AmericaFamilies in America presents a wide selection of information from the American Community Survey that helps us describe American living arrangements, relationships, marriages, births, children, and incomes.
The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Family Studies
Call Number: Ref HQ 728 .W535 2016 v. 1-4
Encyclopedia of Adolescence
Call Number: Ref HQ 796 .E583 2011 v. 1-5
Aging in America 2020Aging in America focuses on the economic and demographic portrait of the senior population and can provide a context for analysis of broader population issues.
Call Number: Oversz HQ 1060 .A345 2020
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care
Call Number: Ref RC 954 .E53 2014
Encyclopedia of MotherhoodInformation on the central terms, concepts, topics, issues, themes, debates, theories, and texts as well as to examine the topic of motherhood in various contexts such as history and geography and by academic discipline.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public HealthAlphabetically arranged encyclopedia provides coverage of important public health concerns. Topics include diseases and conditions, health and wellness efforts, nutrition, ethics and law related topics and statistics, sanitation issues, and everyday environmental effects.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Cancer and SocietyThe SAGE Encyclopedia of Cancer and Society, Second Edition serves as a reliable and precise source for students and researchers with an interest in social and behavioral sciences and seeks to better understand the continuously evolving subject matter of cancer and society.
The SAGE Reference Series on Disability is a cross-disciplinary and issues-based series which incorporates links from varied fields making up disability studies.
The eight volumes in the series discuss topics related to the Arts & Humanities; Assistive Technology & Science; Disability through the Life Course; Education; Employment & Work; Ethics, Law & Policy; Health & Medicine; and Rehabilitation Interventions.
Encyclopedia of Latino Culture: From Calaveras to QuinceanerasThis three-volume encyclopedia describes and explains the variety and commonalities in Latina/o culture, providing comprehensive coverage of a variety of Latina/o cultural forms -- popular culture, folk culture, rites of passages, and many other forms of shared expression.
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Call Number: Ref E 169.1 .J3 2013 v. 1-5
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural AmericaIncludes entries on specific minority groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns.
Multicultural America: A Multimedia EncyclopediaIncludes "more than 900 signed entries not just providing a compilation of specific ethnic groups and their histories but also covering the full spectrum of issues flowing from the increasingly multicultural canvas that is America today."
Call Number: Ref E 184 .A1 M8145 2013
Asian American Society: an EncyclopediaThis 4 volume encyclopedia is designed to aid an understanding of Asian American influences on American life, as well as the impact of American society on reshaping Asian American identities and social structures over time. Includes a core collection of primary documents and key demographic and social science data provide historical context and key information.
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences.
Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Nationalism
This book addresses a variety of current religious issues, analyzing religion's role in the rise of fundamentalism, censorship, human rights, environmentalism and sustainability, sexuality, bioethics, and other areas.
Encyclopedia of Educational Reform and DissentSearchable by Subject, A-Z listing of entries as well as includes a "Reader's Guide" which allows for browsing through thematic categories. Key Themes include accountability, diversity, public policy, religion and religious education, school types, special needs and technology.