Henry Buhl Library: World Literature: Find Author Information

Find Books & eBooks

In the Reference Room

World Authors
Call Number: Ref PN 451 .W673 1996
Provides almost 2700 articles on twentieth-century authors from all over the world who wrote in English or whose works are available in English translation.
21st-Century Brazilian Writers
Volume 384 of Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB). DLB provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history.
Latin American Writers
Call Number: Ref PQ 7081 .A1 L37 1989 v. 1-3
This collection of bio-critical essays on Latin American writers from the 16th century to the present, is enhanced by Supplement I, covering writers who have come to the fore since the publication of the base set in 1989.
The Dante Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref PQ 4333 .D36 2000
Provides entries and further references and information about Dante, his works, and his world, including names, places, and other important topics.
The Cervantes Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref PQ 6337 .A2 2004 v.1-2
Entries are included for his works, characters, and allusions, historical persons who figured prominently in his life and works, concepts and terms central to his literary career, and authors, artists, and musicians who were influenced by his writings.

Search for author as the Subject.

When your topic is the author, they become the subject (see below).

Search the Notes.

Searches the table of contents of anthologies of literature and criticism.

Screengrab of Henry Advanced Search of Charles Baudelaire as the Subject.

Need a book the library does not own?

You can request the book through Interlibrary Loan. Info and a downloadable form are available here!

To search for books available in other libraries, try using

WorldCat -- Search the holdings of more than 10,000 libraries to locate books and identify citation information.

Library of Congress -- Access to the Library of Congress catalog and other online collections.

NOTE: Users do not need to identify a library that owns the book. Simply provide the appropriate information on the form and library staff will do the rest!

eBook Collections

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
Signed essays written by scholars provide essential context for understanding the careers and writings of more than 12,000 authors from all time periods and from all parts of the world.
Twayne's Authors Series (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
In addition to providing American, British, and world literary criticism, each title includes a chapter or more about the life of the author.
Literary Reference Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Learn more about authors from around the globe with the reference works, biographies, and interviews available here.

Ebsco E-Books
Access to over 200,000 full text eBooks across a variety of subjects.

Salem Literature Online This link opens in a new window
eBook collection supporting literary studies, including the Critical Insights series focused on individual authors, works, and themes.

Databases & Outstanding Websites

Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Contains a searchable collection of over 35,000 images as well as biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, speeches, or obituaries.

El Poder de la Palabra
Includes biographies, images, and text fragments for authors from Spain and Latin America (as well as other countries); the site also incorporates art, architecture, music and cinematography. Site is entirely in Spanish.
Los Poetas.com
Biographies of poets and full text of some of their works. Authors are from Central & Latin America & Spain. Site is entirely in Spanish.