Henry Buhl Library: International Studies: Find Background Information & Books

Highlighted Resources for SOCW 280

Country Watch

Provides country-specific data including demographic, political, economic, business, and cultural information.

Global Road Warrior

Cultural, social, travel and business information about countries around the world.

Political Handbook of the World

"Provides thorough and accurate information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system."

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices

Presents detailed information on current religious practices around the world, with an emphasis on how religion impacts the daily lives of its followers.

Call Number: Ref BL 80.3 .W67 2006 v.1-3

Countries, Peoples and Cultures

Provides valuable insight into the social, cultural, economic, historical, and religious practices and beliefs of nearly every nation around the globe.

Call Number: Ref GN 307 .C696 2015 v.1-9

Helpful Series in the Stacks

In Focus ...
Historical Dictionary of ...

Check Henry for titles in these series related to your topic/country.

... On Countries (General)

Best Places to Start

Country Watch This link opens in a new window
Provides up-to-date news and data on all recognized countries of the world, offering demographic, political, economic, business, and cultural information.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Consists of 170+ country guides documenting culture, customs, history, business, and more.

Countries, Peoples and Cultures
Call Number: Ref GN 307 .C696 2015 v. 1-9
This brand-new series from Salem Press provides valuable insight into the social, cultural, economic, historical, and religious practices and beliefs of nearly every nation around the globe.
Native Peoples of the World: an Encyclopedia of Groups, Cultures, and Contemporary Issues
Call Number: Ref GN 380 .N383 2013 v. 1-3
Profiles 400 of these indigenous peoples, concentrating on historical, political, and social conditions that affect their lives today. The set is organized into three sections: groups, countries, and issues.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
13th edition (2012) -- Library has 14th edition (2017) in print, Ref G 63 .W67 2017 v.1-5. "Presents easy-to-understand information on 194 countries and dependencies from around the world."

Other Recommended Sources

Encyclopedia of Stateless Nations: Ethnic and National Groups Around the World
Call Number: Ref D 860 .M56 2016
This book addresses the numerous national movements of ethnic groups around the world seeking independence, more self-rule, or autonomy-movements that have proliferated exponentially in the 21st century.
Political Handbook of the World by Tom Lansford
"Provides thorough and accurate information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system."
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Call Number: Ref GN 333 .W67 2017 v.1-5

CIA World Factbook
Use this source to locate the following information about countries around the world: geography, people, economy, communication, transportation, military, transnational issues, and government.
U.S. State Department (Countries and Areas Section)
Great for learning about recent events in a country's history, the names of government officials, as well as details about the relationship between each country and the U.S.
Websites of U.S. Embassies, Consulates, and Diplomatic Missions
Use this page to locate the websites and contact information for the U.S. Embassy in other countries (U.S. State Department).
United Nations
Access information and resources regarding peace and security, development, human rights, humanitarian efforts, and international law.
United Nations Education, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
According to their website, "UNESCO works to create the conditions for dialogue among civilizations, cultures and peoples, based upon respect for commonly shared values."
UNICEF
An organization dedicated to promoting the rights of children and making their lives better, including providing immunizations and promoting education. UNICEF has offices in many countries.
Atlapedia Online
This site contains full color physical and political maps plus key facts and statistics on world countries. Other topics include facts, figures, statistical data, geography, climate, people, religion, language, history and economy.

Etiquette and Taboos Around the World: a Geographic Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Customs
Call Number: BJ 1815 .E86 2017
An interesting resource for learning about the cultural differences and characteristics of people across the globe, this encyclopedia covers the "do's" and "don'ts" of a breadth of countries and major ethnic groups.

Series with info on cities, regions, and/or countries

Culture and Customs of ...
Culture Shock!
Culture Smart!
Eyewitness Travel
Footprint Handbooks
Historical Dictionary of ...
In Focus ...
Insight Guides
Live and Work In ...
Lonely Planet
Traveller's History

Business Info

Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
A global market research database offering research reports and company profiles providing insight into industries, economies and consumers worldwide.
A to Z International Business This link opens in a new window
Business and trade information for 170+ countries, with coverage on importing/exporting, global logistics, international banking and law, e-commerce, and more

globalEDGE A knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities. Created by the Center for International Business Education and Research at Michigan State University (from MSU-CIBER).
- This link opens in a new window

Cultural Info

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence
Call Number: Ref HM 1211 .S24 2015 v. 1-2
Cultural competence refers to the set of attitudes, practices, and policies that enables a person or agency to work well with people from differing cultural groups. Other related terms include cultural sensitivity, transcultural skills, diversity competence, and multicultural expertise.

Global Resource Directory Current topics, such as outsourcing and social responsibility are covered, as well as sites dedicated to culture, travel/living abroad, statistics, trade law, and more (from globalEDGE).
International Business Etiquette, Manners & Culture This site is a "source for international business etiquette, manners, and cross cultural communication."
more...less...
Users can access information about doing business in more than 30 countries. Each entry includes an introduction, fun facts, a Geert Hofstede analysis, as well as details about religion, appearance, behavior, communication, and other resources.

... On Countries (By Region)

Africa: an Encyclopedia of Culture and Society
Call Number: Ref DT 14 .A3415 2016 v. 1-3
These volumes offer a one-stop resource for researching the lives, customs, and cultures of Africa's nations and peoples.
African Kingdoms: an Encyclopedia of Empires and Civilizations
Call Number: DT 25 .A646 2017
This history-rich volume details the sociopolitical, economic, and artistic aspects of African kingdoms from the earliest times to the second half of the 19th century.
Encyclopedia of Africa
Call Number: Oversz DT 3 .E53 2010 v.1-2
The Encyclopedia of Africa presents the most up-to-date and thorough reference on this region of ever-growing importance in world history, politics, and culture.
Africana: the Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience
Call Number: Ref DT 14 .A37435 2005 v.1-5
More than 4,000 articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religion, ethnic groups, organizations and countries on both sides of the Atlantic. African American history and culture in the present-day United States receive a strong emphasis, but African American history and culture throughout the rest of the Americas and their origins in African itself have an equally strong presence.
Encyclopedia of the Yoruba
Call Number: Oversz DT 474.6 .Y67 E53 2016
The Yoruba people today number more than 30 million strong, with significant numbers in the United States, Nigeria, Europe, and Brazil. This landmark reference work emphasizes Yoruba history, geography and demography, language and linguistics, literature, philosophy, religion, and art.

Encyclopedia of Modern China
Provides information on China including: the people, politics, economics, religion, philosophy, traditions, art, and literature from the beginning of the 19th century to the present day.
China Today: an Encyclopedia of Life in the People's Republic
Call Number: DS 777.6 .C458 2005 v.1-2
Containing over 200 entries written by scholars working in various disciplines both in the United States and in China, this two-volume resource provides current, accurate, and useful information on the politics, economics, society, and culture of both the People's Republic and Taiwan since 1949.
India Today: an Encyclopedia of Life in the Republic
This encyclopedia provides quality overviews on a wide range of topics related to contemporary India, including education, foreign affairs, media, religion, food and health, economics, and culture.

A bibliography and chronology are also included.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture
Call Number: DS 822.5 .E516 2001
In this work, the term Japanese culture is defined very broadly to include geographical, political, and economic influences. Coverage starts after the end of the Imperialist period in 1945 and is brought right up to date to reflect the changing nature of Japanese society and culture.
Cambridge History of Southeast Asia
"The Cambridge History of Southeast Asia is a multi-authored treatment of the whole of mainland and island Southeast Asia from Burma to Indonesia. Unlike other histories of the region, it is not divided on a country-by-country basis and is not structured purely chronologically, but rather takes a thematic and regional approach to Southeast Asia's history."
2 volumes.
Southeast Asia: a Historical Encyclopedia, from Angkor Wat to East Timor
Call Number: Ref DS 524 .S68 2004
An in-depth, historical encyclopedia of Southeast Asia, with coverage from prehistoric times to the end of the 20th century for each country in the region.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture
Call Number: Ref DD 290.26 .E53 1999
The Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture brings together myriad strands of social, political and cultural life in the post-1945 German-speaking world.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Italian Culture
Call Number: Ref DG 450 .E53 2000
This A-Z volume offers readable coverage of the diverse forms of post-1945 Italian culture. Interdisciplinary in character, it combines not only traditional political, economic and legal concerns but also emphasizes the rapid changes in popular culture which have transformed 20th century Italy.
Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe
Call Number: Oversz DJK 6 .E53 2000
This encyclopedia explores the history of this complex region over the last two centuries.
Eastern Europe
Call Number: Ref DJK 9 .E25 2005 v.1-3
A contemporary analysis of the people, cultures, and society within the regions that make up Eastern Europe.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Call Number: Ref F 1406 .E53 1996 v.1-5
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures
Call Number: Ref F 1406 .E515 2000 v.1-3
Handbook of Latin American Studies
According to the Library of Congress, "The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars." This site allows users to search the records of vols. 1 - 65.
Mexico Today: an Encyclopedia of Life in the Republic
This is the best ready-reference on the crucial topics that define Mexico today. More than 200 essay entries provide quick, authoritative insight into the Mexican politics and government, society, institutions, events, culture, economy, people, issues, environment, and states and places.
Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society & Culture
Call Number: Ref F 1210 .E63 1997 v.1-2
Presents a processual view of Mexican history, society and culture, from ancient civilizations to the present day.

Contemporary Middle East
Contains primary source documents from 1917 to the present day.

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East
Call Number: Ref DS 43 .E53 1996 v.1-4
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East presents a clear, precise, and unbiased explanation of the people, places and events that have shaped the Middle East since 1800.

... On International Literature

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
Signed essays written by scholars provide essential context for understanding the careers and writings of more than 12,000 authors from all time periods and from all parts of the world.

Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century
Call Number: Ref PN 771 .E5 1993 v. 1-5
Articles cover the authors and literatures of countries around the globe during the 20th century.
Critical Survey of Short Fiction
Call Number: Ref PN 3321 .C7 2012 v. 1-6
Profiles of major short-story writers throughout history and the world, including American, British, European, and World Authors volumes.
Critical Survey of World Literature
Call Number: Ref PN 523 .M29 2018 v. 1-6
A unique combination of biography and critical analysis, covering major writers from around the world and their significant works in fiction, drama, poetry, and nonfiction.
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003
Call Number: Ref PQ 7081 .A1 E558 2003
Draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies
The Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies brings together the most wide-ranging and up-to-date scholarship ever assembled on the colonial, postcolonial and neo-colonial condition, covering the period from 1492 to the present.
The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Fiction
Offers an indispensable reference guide to twentieth-century fiction in the English-language.
Folktales and Fairy Tales: Traditions and Texts from Around the World
Call Number: Ref GR 74 .F65 2016 v. 1-4
Encyclopedic in its coverage, this one-of-a-kind reference is ideal for students, scholars, and others who need reliable, up-to-date information on folk and fairy tales, past and present.

1. Go to HENRY.

Screengrab of HENRY, highlighting the link to original HENRY.

2. Click Browse and choose Subject from the drop-down.

3. Enter the Country, followed by the word Fiction (ex: Israel -- Fiction; Korea -- Fiction).

Original HENRY screengrab, highlighting the Browse tab and Subjects selected in the drop-down. Turkey -- Fiction is in the searchbox.

For more info:

... Specific Topics

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices
Call Number: Ref BL 80.3 .W67 2006 v.1-3
Presents detailed information on current religious practices around the world, with an emphasis on how religion impacts the daily lives of its followers. Entries cover everything from central doctrines and sacred texts to dietary customs and significant holidays.
Religions of the World: a Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices
Call Number: Ref BL 80.3 .R45 2010 v.1-6
The encyclopedia's six volumes offer entries on every country of the world, with particular emphasis on the larger nations, as well as Indonesia and the Latin American countries that are traditionally given little attention in English-language reference works.

Encyclopedia of Human Services and Diversity
Diversity encompasses a broad range of human differences, including differences in ability and disability, age, education level, ethnicity, gender, geographic origin, religion, sexual orientation, socioeconomic class, and values.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Includes entries on specific minority groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns.
Native Peoples of the World: an Encyclopedia of Groups, Cultures, and Contemporary Issues
Call Number: Ref GN 380 .N383 2013 v. 1-3
Profiles 400 of these indigenous peoples, concentrating on historical, political, and social conditions that affect their lives today. The set is organized into three sections: groups, countries, and issues.
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by Alan Barnard (Editor); Jonathan Spencer (Editor)
Call Number: Ref GN 307 .E525 2010
Written by leading scholars in the field, this comprehensive and readable resource gives anthropology students a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline.
Ethnic Groups of Africa and the Middle East by John A. Shoup
Call Number: Ref GN 307 .E84 2011
This encyclopedia is an essential guide on the different ethno-linguistic groups in Africa and today's complicated Middle East region.
Ethnic Groups of Europe by Jeffrey E. Cole (Editor)
Call Number: Ref GN 307 .E841 2011
This comprehensive survey of ethnic groups of Europe reveals the dynamic process of ethnic identity and the relationship of ethnic groups to modern states.
Ethnic Groups of North, East, and Central Asia
Call Number: Ref GN 307 .E844 2014
Covering countries ranging from Afghanistan and China to Kazakhstan and Russia, this encyclopedia supplies detailed information and informed perspectives, enabling readers to comprehend Asian ethnic groups as well as Asian politics and history.
Ethnic Groups of South Asia and the Pacific by James B. Minahan
Call Number: Ref GN 307 .E842 2012
This comprehensive guide to the Pacific and South Asia provides detailed and enlightening information about the many ethnic groups of this increasingly important region of the world.
Ethnic Groups of the Americas by James B. Minahan
Call Number: Ref GN 307 .E843 2013
Combining up-to-date information with extensive historical and cultural background, the encyclopedia covers approximately 150 groups arranged alphabetically. Each engaging entry offers a short introduction detailing names, population estimates, language, and religion. Readers will also learn about demographic trends and major population centers, parallels with other groups, typical ways of life, and relations with neighbors. Major events and notable challenges are documented, as are key figures who played a significant political or cultural role in the group's history. Each entry also provides a list for further reading and research.

Music Around the World: a Global Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref ML 100 M894 2020 v. 1-3
Includes entries on topics ranging from non-Western instruments to distinctive rhythms of music of various countries.

Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
Call Number: Ref GT 507 .E53 2005 v.1-3
Entries in this encyclopedia cover people, time periods and history, countries, fabrics and other materials, footwear, jewelry, etc.
The Encyclopedia of National Dress by Jill Condra (Editor)
Call Number: Ref GT 507 .E535 2013 v.1-2
The contributors to The Encyclopedia of National Dress examine clothing that is symbolic of the people who live in regions all over the world, providing a historical and geographic perspective that illustrates how people dress and explains the reasons behind the material, design, and style.
World Clothing and Fashion by Mary Ellen Snodgrass
Call Number: Oversz GT 507 .S6 2013 v. 1-2
From prehistoric times to the age of globalization, articles cover the evolution of clothing utility, style, production, and commerce, including accessories (shoes, hats, gloves, handbags, and jewelry) for men, women, and children.

Celebrating Life Customs Around the World: From Baby Showers to Funerals
Call Number: Ref GT 76 .W54 2016 v. 1-3
This book documents hundreds of customs and traditions practiced in countries outside of the United States, showcasing the diversity of birth, coming-of-age, and death celebrations worldwide.
Holiday Symbols and Customs
Call Number: Ref GT 3930 .T48 2015
"Describes the origins of over 365 holidays around the world. Explains where, when, and how each event is celebrated, with detailed information on the symbols and customs associated with the holiday."
They Do What?: A Cultural Encyclopedia of Extraordinary and Exotic Customs from Around the World by Javier A. Galván (Editor)
Call Number: Ref GT 76 .T43 2014
The entries explore the origins of the custom, explain how it was established as a tradition, and describe how and where it is practiced. A thematic guide enables readers to look up entries by the type of tradition or custom, such as birth, coming of age, courtship and wedding, funeral, daily customs, holidays, and festivals.
Death and the Afterlife by Richard P. Taylor
Call Number: Ref HQ1073 .T25 2000
This comprehensive reference work contains hundreds of entries on the sometimes obscure, complicated, and mysterious (but always fascinating) funeral customs of dozens of cultures.
International Encyclopedia of Dance
In six volumes, the Encyclopedia offers authoritative coverage of the full spectrum of dance, including theatrical, ritual dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Extensive historical and cultural overviews of many nations appear along with articles on specific dance forms, music and costumes, performances, biographies of dancers and choreographers, and much more.
Marriage Customs of the World
Call Number: Ref GT 2690 .M65 2013 v. 1-2
This book presents a comprehensive overview of global courtship and marriage customs, from ancient history to contemporary society, demonstrating the vast differences as well as the similarities across all of human culture.
The Traditional Festivals
Call Number: Ref GT 3925 .R69 2005 v. 1-2
"Traditional Festivals: A Multicultural Encyclopedia" travels around the world and across the centuries to uncover an often unexpected richness of meaning in some of the major sacred festivals of the world's religions, the hallowed calendars of ancient civilizations, and the seasonal celebrations of tribal cultures.

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Call Number: Ref GT 2850 .E53 2003 v. 1-3
This three-volume encyclopedia includes entries on countries and their cuisine, time periods, foods, famous chefs, food products and processes, and more. Each entry includes a lengthy bibliography.
Food and World Culture
Call Number: Ref GT 2850 .W38 2022 v.1-2
This book examines how food's history and geography remain inextricably linked to sociopolitical experiences of trauma connected with globalization, such as colonization, conquest, enslavement, and oppression.
Food, Feasts, and Faith: An Encyclopedia of Food Culture in World Religions
Call Number: Ref BL .65 2017 v. 1-2
An indispensable resource for exploring food and faith, this two-volume set offers information on food-related religious beliefs, customs, and practices from around the world.

Sports Around the World
Call Number: Ref GV 706.8 .S664 2012 v. 1-4
Sports Around the World: History, Culture, and Practice provides a unique, global overview of sports and sports cultures.
International Encyclopedia of Dance
In six volumes, the Encyclopedia offers authoritative coverage of the full spectrum of dance, including theatrical, ritual dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Extensive historical and cultural overviews of many nations appear along with articles on specific dance forms, music and costumes, performances, biographies of dancers and choreographers, and much more.

International Studies

Foreign Language Help