Henry Buhl Library: CHEM 488 -- Chemistry Seminar: Select a Topic & Locating Review Articles

Chemistry Quick Reference

Cambridge Structural Database This link opens in a new window
Online access to the Cambridge Structural Database, a repository of small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structure data.

Selecting a Topic

Looking for an interesting research topic?

Browse the Table of Contents of journals in your field.

Here are a few to try:

Chemical Reviews
Journal of Organic Chemistry
Journal of the American Chemical Society
Journal of Analytical Chemistry
Full-text via Academic Search Premier (2003-Present [1 year embargo]).

Use the Publications link at the top of the page, or search for this title as the journal name, to limit your search to articles from this journal.

Getting Started with Review Articles

Chemistry Databases:

You can limit to locate review articles:

American Chemical Society Archives This link opens in a new window
Full collection of publications from the American Chemical Society (ACS) from 1879 to 1995 (use the GCC A to Z list of Journals to access current content)
CAS SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
CAS SciFinder-n is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. **AVAILABLE ONLY FOR CHEMISTRY AND BIOCHEM MAJORS AS WELL AS OTHER DESIGNATED MAJORS. YOU MUST OBTAIN A USERNAME & PASSWORD FROM YOUR PROFESSOR.
**AVAILABLE ONLY FOR CHEMISTRY AND BIOCHEM MAJORS AS WELL AS OTHER DESIGNATED MAJORS. YOU MUST OBTAIN A USERNAME & PASSWORD FROM YOUR PROFESSOR.
Science Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Part of Web of Knowledge/Web of Science. Daily updates make it a good source for recent information. Gives the number of times each article has been cited. Use Journal Citation Reports (JCR) to find impact factors for journals in science, social sciences, and technology.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access to peer-reviewed journals in the fields of biology, chemistry, earth sciences, engineering, medicine, nursing, physics, and more.

Biochemistry Databases:

Medline with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information from 1400+ full-text journals to support research in medicine, nursing, dentistry, and more.

PubMed Central (PMC)
This is the open access portal for all government funded research publications after six months.

Annual Reviews offer "comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists" in a variety of disciplines, including:

To find research articles, start by reading review articles.

Review articles provide:

important keywords and terms
a timeline of existing research,
great bibliographies of previous research,
the names of important authors on that area of scientific research.

After you have read some review articles, you are ready to move onto finding Research Articles.

Need an article that isn't full text? Access the request form below.

Document Delivery Forms