Henry Buhl Library: Electrical Engineering: ELEE 351 Resources

Books

Inventors and Inventions by Alvin K. Benson (Editor)
Call Number: Ref Q141 .G75 2009 Volume 1 - 4
ISBN: 9781587655227
This work features in-depth critical essays on important men and women inventors of all time, from around the world. For purposes of this publication, the term 'invention' was defined to include not only mechanical and other physical devices but also processes (e.g., the Bessemer process for making steel), software (such as Grace Hopper's invention of COBOL), and systems such as those applied to business management.

Reference Books

New Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Call Number: Ref Q 141 .N45 2008 v.1 - 8
American Women of Science Since 1900
Call Number: Ref Q141 .W42 2011 Volume 1 & 2
The Timetables of Science
Call Number: Ref Q 125 .H557 1988

Biographical Resources

Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window Large biographical database offering in-depth biographical profiles as well as journal articles, images, interviews, obituaries, and more. Covers 500,000+ people with 36,000+ images.
American National Biography This link opens in a new window  Contains over 19,000 biographies of significant, influential, or notorious figures from American history written by prominent scholars.    The American National Biography (ANB) is the successor to The Dictionary of American Biography (DAB).  
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window Contains 60,000+ biographies of important British historical figures from the Roman era to the present day, with 11,000+ portraits

Famous Women Inventors Throughout history, and now into the 21st century, famous women inventors have played a vital role in the world of innovation. In fact, women have become increasingly prevalent in the field and are responsible for such momentous advances as windshield wipers, disposable diapers, the first computer language and the Mars Rover.
The Black Inventor Online Museum the #1 resource on the web focusing on the ingenuity and accomplishments of the top Black inventors over the last 300 years. Their contributions are chronicled and the inventors are profiled, providing information for students and others interested in these pioneers of Black History.

Databases to Try

Engineering Village (Ei Compendex) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive engineering database containing journals, conference proceedings, technical standards, trade magazines, and more.
Social Science Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Part of Web of Knowledge/Web of Science. Gives the number of times each article has been cited.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Research database supporting all areas of academic study covering 8,500+ popular and scholarly periodicals, including 3000+ with full text.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and nearly 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.