Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers
THE MOST COMPLETE AND CURRENT GUIDE TO ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING For more than a century, the Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers has served as the definitive source for all the pertinent electrical engineering data essential to both engineering students and practicing engineers. It offers comprehensive information on the generation, transmission, distribution, control, operation, and application of electric power. Completely revised throughout to address the latest codes and standards, the 16th Edition of this renowned reference offers new coverage of green technologies such as smart grids, smart meters, renewable energy, and cogeneration plants. Modern computer applications and methods for securing computer network infrastructures that control power grids are also discussed. Featuring hundreds of detailed illustrations and contributions from more than 75 global experts, this state-of-the-art volume is an essential tool for every electrical engineer. Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, 16th Edition, covers: Units, symbols, constants, definitions, and conversion factors * Electric and magnetic circuits * Measurements and instruments * Properties of materials * Generation * Prime movers * Alternating-current generators * Direct-current generators * Hydroelectric power generation * Power system components * Alternate sources of power * Electric power system economics * Project economics * Transmission systems * High-voltage direct-current power transmission * Power system operations * Substations * Power distribution * Wiring design for commercial and industrial buildings * Motors and drives * Industrial and commercial applications of electric power * Power electronics * Power quality and reliability * Grounding systems * Computer applications in the electric power industry * Illumination * Lightning and overvoltage protection * Standards in electrotechnology, telecommunications, and information technology
A Dictionary of Electronics and Electrical Engineering
This popular dictionary, formerly published as the Penguin Dictionary of Electronics, has been extensively revised and updated, providing more than 5,000 clear, concise, and jargon-free A-Z entries on key terms, theories, and practices in the areas of electronics and electrical science. Topicscovered include circuits, power, systems, magnetic devices, control theory, communications, signal processing, and telecommunications, together with coverage of applications areas such as image processing, storage, and electronic materials. The dictionary is enhanced by dozens of equations andnearly 400 diagrams.It also includes 16 appendices listing mathematical tables and other useful data, including essential graphical and mathematical symbols, fundamental constants, technical reference tables, mathematical support tools, and major innovations in electricity and electronics. More than 50 useful web linksare also included with appropriate entries, accessible via a dedicated companion website.A Dictionary of Electronics and Electrical Engineering is the most up-to-date quick reference dictionary available in its field, and is a practical and wide-ranging resource for all students of electronics and of electrical engineering.