Henry Buhl Library: HIST 143: World History 1: Find Primary Sources

Find Primary Sources Using HENRY

Step 1: Use HENRY and select Advanced Search

Step 2: Enter your search term(s) in the first box; and "primary source" in the second box.

Note: You can restrict your search terms to the Title, Subject, or Author fields using the drop-downs provided.

Daily Life Through World History in Primary Documents
Call Number: Oversz CB 69 .D35 2008
A three-volume set of sources beginning with the ancient world and continuing through to modern times.

Volumes 1-2 cover the Ancient World and Middle Ages. The sources included cover topics such as government, warfare, religion, and education.
Milestone Documents in World History
Call Number: Oversz D 5 .M55 2010
Includes four volumes covering ancient history through the 21st century. Volumes 1-2 cover the Ancient World and Middle Ages. Highlighted documents include the "Code of Justinian" and "Usama Ibn Munqidh's 'A Muslim View of the Crusaders'."

Defining Documents in World History: the Ancient World (2700 B. C. E. - 50 C. E. )
Call Number: DS 59 .A53 2015
Covering topics from Gilgamesh to Ancient Egypt to the Fall of Rome, this volume provides easy-to-use tools to engage, enlighten, and give students a new frame of reference to study and analyze the most important documents from Ancient History.
Voices of Ancient Egypt: Contemporary Accounts of Daily Life
Call Number: Oversz DT 61 .V65 2014
Voices of Ancient Egypt includes original writings that span the period from circa 3100 BCE to 400 CE.
Voices of Ancient Greece and Rome: Contemporary Accounts of Daily Life
Call Number: Oversz DE 59 .V64 2012
Collecting documents culled from the writings of ancient Greek and Roman authors, this book provides a glimpse of what life was like in ancient times and illustrates the relevance of these long-ago civilizations to modern life.
Voices of Early Christianity: Documents from the Origins of Christianity
This fascinating resource examines the day-to-day lives of early Christians--as depicted through documented accounts of the period--from the beginning of Christianity through 325 CE.

Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
The Loeb Classical Library® is the only series of books which, through original text and English translation, gives access to all that is important in Greek and Latin literature.

Defining Documents in World History: the Middle Ages (476-1500)
Call Number: D 113 .M53 2015
This volume offers in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents and historic events that shaped law, government, religion, and culture throughout the Middle Ages.
Defining Documents in World History: The Middle East (141 BCE - 2017)
Call Number: DS 62 .M54 2018 v. 1-2
This new 2-volume set spans the history of the region and includes a variety of documents from several eras.
Voices of Medieval England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales: Contemporary Accounts of Daily Life
Call Number: Oversz DA 170 .V65 2016
This volume provides a selection of primary documents from medieval England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales, thereby enabling readers to directly access information about life long ago in the region.

Milestone Documents of World Religions
Call Number: Ref BL 31 .M56 2016
Includes three volumes covering ancient history through the 21st century. Available via Salem History Online.
Voices of Early Christianity: Documents from the Origins of Christianity
This fascinating resource examines the day-to-day lives of early Christians--as depicted through documented accounts of the period--from the beginning of Christianity through 325 CE.

Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Past Masters is the largest collection of primary source full-text electronic editions in philosophy. Works by Martin Luther, Sun Tzu, Confucius, Mencius, Motse, and others are included.

NOTE: Some of these sites may contain links that are no longer available.

Internet African History Sourcebook
Contains information and primary sources on ancient Africa and the history of various African countries (from Fordham University).
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
Contains information and primary sources on the ancient societies of Greece, Rome, and Egypt, as well as early Christianity (from Fordham University).
Internet East Asian History Sourcebook
Contains information and primary sources on the religions and countries of East Asia throughout their history (from Fordham University).
Internet Islamic History Sourcebook
Contains information and primary sources about the Islamic world from Pre-History through modern times (from Fordham University).
Internet Medieval History Sourcebook
Contains information and primary sources on the Renaissance, the Reformation and Luther, Sex and gender, and the medieval church (from Fordham University).
Internet Women’s History Sourcebook
Contains information and primary sources on women throughout history, beginning with the ancient world and continuing into the present (from Fordham University).

EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
Includes "selected transcriptions, facsimiles and translations" documenting European history from ancient through modern times (from Brigham Young University).
Hanover Historical Texts Project
"The Project's principal aim is to make primary texts readily available to students and faculty for use in history and humanities courses" (from Hanover College History Department). Sources are available for the Reformation, the Catholic Reformation, and the Religious Wars.
The Online Medieval and Classical Library
A small collection of full-text medieval primary sources.
The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies
Provides access to electronic resources in medieval studies. Note especially the International Culture: Philosophy and Theology link, which offers primary texts for Aristotle, Augustine, Plato and others (from Georgetown University).

Attalus.org
This site provides access to primary sources from ancient Greek and Roman history.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Try browsing by subject (early church) or author (which lists their dates). Contains a lot of information about the early church (from Calvin College).
Forum Romanum
Online links to Roman texts, as well as online books about the history and life in Ancient Rome.
Guide to Early Church Documents
Includes canonical documents, creeds, the writings of the Apostolic Fathers and other historical texts relevant to church history.
Internet Classics Archive
Online translations of the works of Josephus, Plutarch, and others.
Olmec Civilization
Pictures of colossal heads and links to other sites and articles about the Olmec.
Perseus
Contains the largest number of classical texts, fiction and non-fiction, on the web as well as a stunning number of artifact pictures (from Tufts University).
Silk Road Narratives: A Collection of Historical Texts
Access full-text primary sources about the Silk Road beginning in 91 BCE through the mid-17th century (from University of Washington).

OAIster
Use this resource to search digital archive collections listed in WorldCat and connect to those collections via a single link (from OCLC).