Henry Buhl Library: HIST 143: World History 1: Start your Research

Best Places to Start your Research

Best Places to Start

Salem History Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the Great Lives & Great Events Encyclopedias, which provide overviews of important events and major figures throughout history. Also available in print. Check HENRY for call numbers.

Feature examples include the Rise of the Samurai, Viking Era, Alexander the Great, Genghis Khan, Justinian I, and Theodora.

World Eras Series
The titles in this series provide introductions to topics including geography, the arts, communication, transportation, exploration, society, economics, politics, law, the military, leisure, daily life, family, religion, philosophy, science, and technology. Each volume includes chronologies, topical articles, and biographies. Bibliographies of both primary and secondary sources are included.

Encyclopedia of Christian Civilization
"A comprehensive reference work on the history and impact of Christianity. This four-volume work spans issues ranging from theology, politics and law, through to literature, art and architecture."

The Ancient World: Extraordinary People in Extraordinary Societies
Call Number: Ref CB 311 .A5354 2017 v. 1-4
Covers world cultures from prehistory through the year 700 C.E. Provides in-depth analysis of civilizations, key figures, cities, cultures and daily life in Greece, Rome, Egypt, China, the Near East, Europe, Africa, the Americas and more.
Conflict in Ancient Greece and Rome: the Definitive Political, Social, & Military Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref JC 73 .C675 2016 v. 1-3
The complex role warfare played in ancient Greek and Roman civilizations is examined through coverage of key wars and battles; important leaders, armies, organizations, and weapons; and other noteworthy aspects of conflict.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity
Call Number: Ref BR 66.5 .D5813 2014 v.1-3
The Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity covers eight centuries of the Christian church. ... This three-volume encyclopedia offers unparalleled, comprehensive coverage of the people, places and ideas of ancient Christianity.
The Encyclopedia of Ancient History
Contains "over 5,000 original entries spanning the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE. Entries extend to all Mediterranean civilizations, including the Near East and Egypt, and represent an unprecedented level of coverage of the ancient world."
The Encyclopedia of Empire
Call Number: Ref JC 359 .E466 2016 v. 1-4
Coverage includes individual empires, people, events and ideas that shaped the imperial experience as well as comparative themes such as environment, slavery, law, and weaponry.
Encyclopedia of the Roman Army
Call Number: Ref U 35 .E53 2013 v. 1-3
Offers broad coverage of the Roman army, from the lives of individual soldiers to military issues such as hierarchical command structure, tactics, strategy, and battle.
The Oxford Dictionary of Late Antiquity
Covers every aspect of history, culture, religion, and life in Europe, the Mediterranean, and the Near East (including the Persian Empire and Central Asia) between the mid-3rd and the mid-8th centuries AD, the era now generally known as Late Antiquity.
The Roman Empire: a Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: DG 16 .E76 2018 v. 1-2
Covering material from the time of Julius Caesar to the sack of Rome, this topically arranged reference set provides substantive entries on people, cities, government, institutions, military developments, material culture, and other topics related to the Roman Empire.
The World of Ancient Greece: A Daily Life Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref DF 16 .L68 2020 v.1-2
Provides easily accessible entries on topics essential to understanding Greek high culture and daily life. Includes primary source documents.
The World of Ancient Rome: a Daily Life Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref DG 77 .E77 2015 v. 1-2
This study of Ancient Rome offers a fascinating glimpse of what Roman society was like-from fashion, to food, to politics and recreation-gathered from literary works, art, and archaeological remains.

The Byzantine Empire: a Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: DF 504.5 .B98 2019 v.1-2
An indispensable resource for investigating the history of the Byzantine Empire, this book provides a comprehensive summary of its overall development as well as its legacy in the modern world.
The Crusades
Call Number: Ref D 155 .C78 2006 v. 1-4
"The Crusades: An Encyclopedia" surveys all aspects of the crusading movement from its origins in the 11th century to its decline in the 16th century.
The Early Medieval World
Call Number: Ref D 114 .F73 2013 v. 1-2
This two-volume includes entries on the events, people, and ideas of the early medieval world. Primary documents are included.
The Encyclopedia of Empire
Call Number: Ref JC 359 .E466 2016 v. 1-4
Coverage includes individual empires, people, events and ideas that shaped the imperial experience as well as comparative themes such as environment, slavery, law, and weaponry.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Call Number: Ref B 51 .E53 2005 v.1-10
Provides valuable background information on Confucianism, as well as a bibliography of primary and secondary sources.
Historical Atlas of the Crusades
Call Number: Atlas D 158 .K66 2002
Historical Atlas of the Crusades chronicles this turning point in European history. Containing evidence from the latest discoveries and research, this book examines the causes, developments, and people who fought for their faith and themselves.
Historical Atlas of the Islamic World
Call Number: Atlas DS 35.63 .N5 2003
This work provides a comprehensive description of Islam's long and dynamic history. It provides a survey of the history of the Islamic world and of Islamic civilization from the time of the Prophet Mohammed until the consolidation of the Ottoman Empire.
The Mongol Empire: a Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: DS 19 .M589 2017 v. 1-2
Covering the rise and fall of the Mongol Empire, this essential reference presents the figures, places, and events that led this once-beleaguered region to rise up to become the largest contiguous empire in history.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military Technology
Provides an exhaustive and accurate view of how and why wars were waged throughout Europe, the Byzantine Empire, and the Crusader States between 500 C.E. to 1500. Highlighted entries include: the Crusades ; Justinian I ; the Vikings
The World of the Crusades: a Daily Life Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref D 155 .H65 2019 v.1-2
Includes primary source material.

Additional Resources by Topic

Dictionary of Daily Life in Biblical and Post-Biblical Antiquity
Call Number: Ref BS 440 .Y37 2017
The Dictionary of Daily Life in Biblical & Post-Biblical Antiquity is a unique reference work that provides background cultural and technical information on the world of the Hebrew Bible and New Testament from 4000 BC to approximately AD 600.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity
Call Number: Ref BR 66.5 .D5813 2014 v.1-3
The Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity covers eight centuries of the Christian church. ... This three-volume encyclopedia offers unparalleled, comprehensive coverage of the people, places and ideas of ancient Christianity.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Call Number: Ref B 51 .E53 2005 v.1-10
Provides valuable background information on Confucianism, as well as a bibliography of primary and secondary sources.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Call Number: Ref BL 31 .E46 2005 v. 1-15
This 15-volume work covers topics relating to people, beliefs, religions, and movements from around the globe and throughout history.

A lengthy entry on the Reformation, including the English Reformation, is included. The entry concludes with a substantial bibliography.
Great Events in Religion: an Encyclopedia of Pivotal Events in Religious History
Call Number: Ref BL 65 .H5 G74 2016 v. 1-3
This three-volume set presents fundamental information about the most important events in world religious history as well as substantive discussions of their significance and impact.
Historical Atlas of the Islamic World
Call Number: Atlas DS 35.63 .N5 2003
This work provides a comprehensive description of Islam's long and dynamic history. It provides a survey of the history of the Islamic world and of Islamic civilization from the time of the Prophet Mohammed until the consolidation of the Ottoman Empire.
New Catholic Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref BX 841 .N44 2002 v. 1-15
Online encyclopedia covering theology, philosophy, history, and more, such as the Counter-Reformation, English Reformation, Huguenots, and the Reformation.
War and Religion: an Encyclopedia of Faith and Conflict
Call Number: Ref BL 85 .W37 2017 v. 1-3
This three-volume reference provides a complete guide for readers investigating the crucial interplay between war and religion from ancient times until today, enabling a deeper understanding of the role of religious wars across cultures.

Best Places to Start

Encyclopedia of Invasions and Conquests
Call Number: Ref D 25 .A2 D38 2023
This new edition is a comprehensive guide to over 200 invasions, conquests, battles and occupations, from ancient times to the present.
The Encyclopedia of War
Covers all aspects of war, including battles, cultures and society, key figures, strategy and tactics, and weapons across all continents and all periods of human history.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of War: Social Science Perspectives
Call Number: Ref U 21.2 .S323 2017 v. 1-4
The SAGE Encyclopedia of War: Social Science Perspective views war through the lens of the social sciences, looking at the causes, processes and effects of war and drawing from a vast group of fields such as communication and mass media, economics, political science and law, psychology and sociology.
Wars That Changed History: 50 of the World's Greatest Conflicts
Call Number: Ref D 25 .T83 2015
A thorough study of significant wars throughout history and their influence on world affairs, from ancient times into the 21st century.

Other Recommended Titles

The Crusades
Call Number: Ref D 155 .C78 2006 v. 1-4
"The Crusades: An Encyclopedia" surveys all aspects of the crusading movement from its origins in the 11th century to its decline in the 16th century.
Historical Atlas of the Crusades
Call Number: Atlas D 158 .K66 2002
Historical Atlas of the Crusades chronicles this turning point in European history. Containing evidence from the latest discoveries and research, this book examines the causes, developments, and people who fought for their faith and themselves.
Middle East Conflicts from Ancient Egypt to the 21st Century
Call Number: Ref DS 63.15 .M53 2019 v. 1-4
This authoritative and comprehensive encyclopedia covers all the key wars, insurgencies, and battles that have occurred in the Middle East roughly between 3100 BCE and the early decades of the twenty-first century. Volume 4 consists of primary documents.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military Technology
Provides an exhaustive and accurate view of how and why wars were waged throughout Europe, the Byzantine Empire, and the Crusader States between 500 C.E. to 1500. Highlighted entries include: the Crusades ; Justinian I ; the Vikings
War and Religion: an Encyclopedia of Faith and Conflict
Call Number: Ref BL 85 .W37 2017 v. 1-3
This three-volume reference provides a complete guide for readers investigating the crucial interplay between war and religion from ancient times until today, enabling a deeper understanding of the role of religious wars across cultures.

Conflict in the Early Americas: an Encyclopedia of the Spanish Empire's Aztec, Incan, and Mayan Conquests
Call Number: Ref E 123 .C729 2013
This detailed study is the only reference work of its kind to address Spain's conquest of Central and South America, providing in-depth coverage of native and European ideologies, political motivations, and cultural practices of the region.
The Encyclopedia of Empire
Call Number: Ref JC 359 .E466 2016 v. 1-4
Coverage includes individual empires, people, events and ideas that shaped the imperial experience as well as comparative themes such as environment, slavery, law, and weaponry.
Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society & Culture
Call Number: Ref F 1210 .E63 1997 v.1-2
Presents a processual view of Mexican history, society and culture, from ancient civilizations to the present day.
Encyclopedia of the Ancient Maya
Call Number: Ref F 1435 .E65 2015
Encyclopedia of the Ancient Maya offers an A-to-Z overview of the ancient Maya culture from its inception around 3000 BC to the Spanish Conquest after AD 1600.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
Call Number: Ref F 1218.6 .O95 2000 v.1-3
"Covers art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography" of pre-Columbian Mesoamerican civilizations, including the Olmec, Aztec, and Mayans.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mexican History and Culture
Provides a compendium of the best available scholarship on Mexico’s rich history and culture.

The Spanish Empire: a Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: DP 64 .S63 2016 v.1-2
Through reference entries and primary documents, this book surveys a wide range of topics related to the history of the Spanish Empire, including past events and individuals as well as the Iberian kingdom's imperial legacy.

The Sea in World History: Exploration, Travel, and Trade
Call Number: Ref G 80 .S39 2017 v. 1-2
This two-volume set documents the essential role of the sea and maritime activity across history, from travel and food production to commerce and conquest. Includes primary source material.

Search for these series

Very Short Introductions
Highlighted Titles in this Series:
the Crusades; the Mongols, Roman Empire, Vikings
The Cambridge Illustrated History
Highlighted Title in this Series: China
Historical Dictionary of ...
Highlighted Titles in this Series:
the Byzantium ; the Crusades ; Egypt ; Mesopotamia ; the Vikings
Greenwood Histories of the Modern Nations
Highlighted title in this series:
The History of Sweden

Start with some background reading.

Otherwise, identifying books and articles will take longer.

Tip: Use the links and books on this tab to help you locate names, dates, and keywords.

Your research will be better and take less time!
Use bibliographies to locate other books and articles.
Watch out for authors and/or titles that are cited over and over; they may be important.

Concept Map