Henry Buhl Library: Applied Statistics: Find Books & Review Articles

Find Books

Search for Books
Ebsco eBook Help

Or, search both separately:

HENRY
Search Buhl Library's book catalog.

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 200,000 eBooks across all subject areas, allowing limited printing and chapter saving and for many titles temporary downloads for offline reading.

Searching Ebsco eBooks: Step by step

2. Scroll below the search box and find the Browse By Category options. Choose a category, such Business & Economics, Education, or Health & Medicine.

Screengrab of Ebsco eBooks search screen with the Browse By Category option for Business & Economics highlighted.

3. Add your Keywords.

Screengrab of Ebsco eBooks search bars with Total Quality Management entered as a Keyword.

4. Still too many results? Try adding additional keywords or use the limiters on the left, such as Date or Language.

Screengrab of Ebsco eBooks results screen with date and language limiters highlighted.

6. To see if a book is relevant to your research topic, review the

Subjects
Table of Contents
and Most Relevant Pages From This eBook sections (see screengrab below).

Ready to view the full text?

All titles will be full text, but you have the following options:

PDF -- provides page numbers for easy citing
EPUB -- works well when using a small screen (no stable page #s)
Full Download -- optional
- If you would like to download a book, you must create an Ebsco account and download Adobe Digital Editions. Instructions are available.
- You can view a title as many times as you like without ever downloading it.

Screengrab of Ebsco eBooks results screen with the PDF, EPUB, Full Text, Table of Contents, and Most Relevant Pages From This eBook buttons highlighted.

Getting Started with Review Articles

Best Bets

Annual Review of Statistics and Its Application
Full text from 2014 - date.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Large database of citations across the sciences and social sciences from 1973 to the present based on the Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citations include the number of times the article has been cited.

Other Databases to Try

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers research for all levels of education and all educational specialties, with indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals and full text for more than 1,200 journals and about 500 books.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Large database of educational research and literature including journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, and books dating back to 1966, many available as full text.
PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Search both PsycARTICLES & PsycINFO for Psychology articles, dating back to 1872. Contains citations and abstracts for scholarly literature in all areas of psychology, as well as full-text articles from the APA and other select publishers
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Features citations, abstracts, and some full text for journal articles back to 1895 to support research in sociology.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles from 500+ journals on sports and sports medicine.

To find research articles, start by reading review articles.

Review articles provide:

important keywords and terms
a timeline of existing research,
great bibliographies of previous research,
the names of important authors on that area of scientific research.

After you have read some review articles, you are ready to move on to finding Books, Articles, and/or Dissertations.

Need an article that isn't full text? Access the request form below.

Document Delivery Forms