Henry Buhl Library: WWII Special Topics: Holocaust

the Holocaust

Encyclopedia of the Holocaust
Call Number: Ref D 804.3 .E53 1990 v.1-4
This four-volume encyclopedia includes entries on cities, countries, people, movements, organizations, etc. Bibliographies are listed with each entry.
The Holocaust: an Encyclopedia and Document Collection
Call Number: Ref D 804.25 .H655 2017 v. 1-4
Provides reference entries, primary documents, and personal accounts from individuals who lived through the Holocaust that allow readers to better understand the cultural, political, and economic motivations that spurred the Final Solution.
Remembering : Voices of the Holocaust : a New History in the Words of the Men and Women who Survived by Lyn Smith
Call Number: D 804.195 .S65 2006
Provides first-hand accounts of more than 100 people persecuted during the Holocaust.
What We Knew: Terror, Mass Murder and Everyday Life in Nazi Germany : an Oral History by Eric Johnson; Karl-Heinz Reuband
Call Number: DD 256.5 .J64 2005
Includes interviews with Jewish Holocaust survivors, as well as "ordinary Germans."

Auschwitz : Inside the Nazi State
Call Number: DVD 594
The story of the Auschwitz death camp is told through archival footage, the accounts of eyewitnesses, and the stories of former Nazis.
Holocaust : the Liberation of Auschwitz
Call Number: DVD 634
Contains all of the film footage of Auschwitz which was filmed from January 27th through February 28th, 1945.

Try these subjects

Use the Advanced Search option.
Combine your search terms with the phrase Primary Sources as a Keyword.
For Primary Source videos, try an Advanced Search for War (Nonfiction) as a Subject and the keyword Primary Sources.
- This will locate all of the oral histories, newsreels, speeches and other primary source videos available.

Jewish Virtual Library
Includes primary and secondary sources on various aspects of Jewish history, including the Holocaust.
Nizkor Project
Provides access to biographies of important individuals associated with the Holocaust, as well as lots of information about the concentration camps.
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Locate links for further research, tools for teachers, access a Holocaust Encyclopedia, and more.
Yad Vashem Holocaust Resource Center
Includes "various kinds of original Holocaust-era documentation provided in English including letters and diaries written by Jews during the Holocaust, numerous photographs and original documents."
German History in Documents and Images
Oral histories, letters, speeches and other documents related to Nazi Germany are included in the collection.
Universal Newsreels
"In the pre-TV era, people saw the news every week in their neighborhood movie theaters. ... These newsreels offer a fascinating and unique view of an era when motion pictures defined our culture and were a primary source of visual news reporting" (from Internet Archive).