This 15-volume work covers topics relating to people, beliefs, religions, and movements from around the globe and throughout history.
Religions of the World: a Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices
Call Number: Ref BL 80.3 .R45 2010 v.1-6
The encyclopedia's six volumes offer entries on every country of the world, with particular emphasis on the larger nations, as well as Indonesia and the Latin American countries that are traditionally given little attention in English-language reference works.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices
Call Number: Ref BL 80.3 .W67 2006 v.1-3
Presents detailed information on current religious practices around the world, with an emphasis on how religion impacts the daily lives of its followers. Entries cover everything from central doctrines and sacred texts to dietary customs and significant holidays.
This encyclopedia is a groundbreaking collection of detailed scholarly articles that address a wide range of topics in American religious history and culture.
Religion and American Cultures: Tradition, Diversity, and Popular Expression
Call Number: Ref BL 2525 .R448 2015 v. 1-4
The entries cover virtually every religion in modern-day America as well as the role of religion in various aspects of U.S. culture.
Heaven, Hell, and the Afterlife by J. Harold Ellens
Call Number: BL 535 .H43 2013 v.1-3
In these three volumes, Judaic, Christian, and Muslim scholars join forces, providing an unprecedented review of their individual faith's traditions. Every significant issue and major theme is discussed; no controversial topic is avoided.
Includes three volumes covering ancient history through the 21st century. Available via Salem History Online.
Encyclopedia of Women in World Religions: Faith and Culture Across History
Call Number: Ref BL 458 .W5835 2019 v. 1-2
This reference offers reliable knowledge about women's diverse faith practices throughout history and prehistory, and across cultures.
RoutledgeCurzon Encylcopedia of Confucianism
Call Number: Ref BL 1840 .R68 2003 v.1-2
The Encyclopedia, the first of its kind, introduces Confucianism as a whole, with 1,235 entries giving full information on its history, doctrines, schools, rituals, sacred places and terminology.
Encyclopedia of PhilosophySince 1967, the Encyclopedia of Philosophy, described by Booklist as the best and most comprehensive English-language reference source for philosophy, has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. Lauded for its clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects, the Encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource for general readers, students and educators.
Covers theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, and more.
The Oxford Companion to Christian Thought
Call Number: Ref BR 95 .O94 2000
World Christian Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref BR 157 .W927 2020
Documents the changing status of World Christianity over the past 120 years from historical and social scientific perspectives. It records the continued shift of Christianity to the Global South and contains estimates for religious and nonreligious affiliation in every country of the world.
A Dictionary of Asian Christianity
Call Number: Ref BR 1065 .D52 2001
This superb dictionary is the first basic reference work for the study of Asian Christianity.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Jesuits
Call Number: Ref BX 3702 .A1 C36 2017
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
Call Number: Ref BP 40 .E525 2016 v.1-2
This title looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries.
Encyclopedia of Islam in the United States
Call Number: Ref BP 67 .U6 E53 2007 v.1-2
This A-to-Z encyclopedia will help students and other readers get a fast grip on pertinent holidays, terms, beliefs, practices, notables, and sects of the Islamic faith and Muslim practitioners in the United States.
Encyclopaedia of the Qur’an
Call Number: Ref BP 133 .E53 2001 v.1-5 + Index
An encyclopedic dictionary of qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history, and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'anic studies.
Islam: a Worldwide Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref BP 40 .C35 2017 v. 1-4
This expansive four-volume encyclopedia presents a broad introduction to Islam that enables learning about the fundamental role of Islam in world history and promotes greater respect for cultural diversity.
Contains primary source documents from 1917 to the present day.
History of Jewish-Muslim Relations
Call Number: Ref BP 173 .J8 H574 2013
This is the first encyclopedic guide to the history of relations between Jews and Muslims around the world from the birth of Islam to today.
Call Number: Ref DS 102.8 .E498 2007 v.1-22
With more than 22,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion, this second edition incorporates more than three decades of changes and the latest scholarship-such as new archaeological sites, theories and analytical methodologies.
The New Encyclopedia of Judaism
Call Number: Ref BM 50 .E63 2002
The New Encyclopedia of Judaism is a comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia that accessibly presents every aspect of the Jewish religion and represents current thinking among scholars in the Reform, Conservative, and Orthodox movements.
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences.