Henry Buhl Library: HIST 209: Renaissance & Early Modern Europe: Starting your Research

Best Places to Start your Research

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
Call Number: Ref CB 361 .E52 1999 v. 1-6
Covers all aspects of the Renaissance, including countries, people, events and more. Some highlighted entries include absolutism, the Counter-Reformation, England and the Reformation, the Holy Roman Empire, the Reformation, and the Wars of Religion.

Global Events Milestone Events Throughout History
Covering ancient civilizations to the present, important events in history are explored with an emphasis on their significance to overall world history.

Salem History Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the Great Lives & Great Events Encyclopedias. Feature examples include the Decline of the Ottoman Empire, English Civil Wars, French Wars of Religion, Glorious Revolution, Louis XIV, and Martin Luther.

World Eras Series
The titles in this series provide introductions to topics including geography, the arts, communication, transportation, exploration, society, economics, politics, law, the military, leisure, daily life, family, religion, philosophy, science, and technology. Each volume includes chronologies, topical articles, and biographies. Bibliographies of both primary and secondary sources are included.

The Encyclopedia of War
Covers all aspects of war, including battles, cultures and society, key figures, strategy and tactics, and weapons across all continents and all periods of human history.

Oxford Reference Online Database -- History
Search history dictionaries and encyclopedias for information about topics, people, and time periods related to archaeology, the Byzantium, the Classical world, the Enlightenment, the Reformation, military history, and more.

The Holy Roman Empire: a Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: DD 125 .P38 2019 v.1-2
Reference entries, overview essays, and primary source document excerpts survey the history and unveil the successes and failures of the longest-lasting European empire.
The World of Renaissance Italy
Call Number: Ref DG 445 .W67 2017 v. 1-2
Students of the Italian Renaissance who wish to go beyond the standard names and subjects will find in this text abundant information on the lives, customs, beliefs, and practices of those who lived during this exciting time period.

Encyclopedia of Protestantism
Call Number: Ref BX 4811.3 .E53 2004 v. 1-4
This work "strives to be neutral" as it provides information and history on important terms, people, and events related to Protestantism. The Reformation, Counter-Reformation, and English Reformation are covered.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Call Number: Ref BL 31 .E46 2005 v. 1-15
This 15-volume work covers topics relating to people, beliefs, religions, and movements from around the globe and throughout history. A lengthy entry on the Reformation, including the English Reformation, is included.
New Catholic Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref BX 841 .N44 2002 v. 1-15
Covers theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, and more.

Search for these series

Very Short Introductions
Highlighted Titles in this Series: Stuart Britain ; French Revolution ; the Reformation ; the Renaissance
Cambridge Illustrated History
Highlighted Titles in this Series: France ; Germany
Historical Dictionary of ...
Highlighted Titles in this Series: the British Monarchy ; Ottoman Empire ; Spain
Greenwood Histories of the Modern Nations
Highlighted titles in this series:
The History of France
Call Number: DC 35 .H35 2000
Available in print and online.
The History of Germany
Call Number: DD 90 .T87 1999
Available in print and online.
The History of Great Britain
Call Number: DA 30 .R625 2004
Available in print and online.
The History of Turkey
Call Number: DR 441 .H69 2001
Available in print and online.

Start with some background reading.

Tip: Use the links and books on this tab to help you locate names, dates, and keywords.

Your research will be better and take less time!
Use bibliographies to locate other books and articles.
Watch out for authors and/or titles that are cited over and over; they may be important.

Use of bibliographies is very valuable when you are building a comprehensive bibliography.