Henry Buhl Library: Political Science: Background Reading

Political Science (General)

The Encyclopedia of Political Science
Call Number: Call Number: Ref JA 61 .E513 2011 v.1-5
Includes information on a wide-variety of political science topics, including American and international politics, political ethics, public policy, religion and politics, terrorism, and more.
Encyclopedia of Government and Politics
Call Number: JA 61 .C66 1991 v.1-2
Includes a collection of essays on topics in political theory, contemporary ideologies, contemporary political systems, political institutions, political forces, policy making, international relations, and more.
Encyclopedia of Politics: the Left and the Right
Call Number: Ref JA 61 .E54 2005 v.1-2
Includes articles on people, countries, "isms," political issues, laws, political parties, and political movements from both the right and left perspectives. Volume 1 covers The Left ; Volume 2 addresses The Right
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences.
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics
Call Number: Ref JF 799 .H38 2014 v. 1-3
According to the publisher, "the Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics explores how the rise of social media is altering politics both in the United States and in key moments, movements, and places around the world."

Oxford Reference Online Database - Politics & Social Sciences
Search the political science collection for quick and authoritative information from numerous dictionaries and encyclopedias.
The SAGE Handbook of Political Sociology
Offers a comprehensive and contemporary look at the evolving field of political sociology.

Border Disputes by Emmanuel Brunet-Jailly (Editor)
Call Number: Ref JC 323 .B643 2015 v.1-3
An ideal resource for anyone studying current events, social studies, geopolitics, conflict resolution, and political science, this three-volume set provides broad coverage of approximately 80 current international border disputes and conflicts.
Colonialism: an International, Social, Cultural, and Political Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref JV 22 .C65 2003 v. 1-3
The most exhaustive reference work available on this critical subject in world history, focusing on the politics, economy, culture, and society of both colonizers and colonized. Volume 3 consists of primary documents.

Contemporary Middle East
Contains primary source documents from 1917 to the present day.

Country Watch This link opens in a new window
Provides up-to-date news and data on all recognized countries of the world, offering demographic, political, economic, business, and cultural information.

A Dictionary of 20th-Century Communism
Call Number: Ref HX 40 .D5913 2010
The first book of its kind to appear since the end of the Cold War, this indispensable reference provides encyclopedic coverage of communism and its impact throughout the world in the 20th century.

Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Consists of 170+ country guides documenting culture, customs, history, business, and more.

Encyclopedia of Globalization by Roland Robertson (Editor); Jan Aart Scholte (Editor)
Call Number: Ref JZ 1318 .E63 2007 v. 1-4
Consisting of over 400 entries, coverage includes key cultural, ecological, economic, geographical, historical, political, psychological and social aspects of globalization. All entries provide bibliographical references for further reading and research. Volume 4 includes a collection of primary documents.

Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
A global market research database offering research reports and company profiles providing insight into industries, economies and consumers worldwide.

Worldmark Conflict and Diplomacy by Gale Editors (Editor)
Call Number: Ref D 443 .W675 2014 v.1-2
Worldmark Modern Conflict and Diplomacy is a two-volume set that explores specific modern-day conflicts that have had a truly global impact, as well as the efforts and organizations focused on solving these conflicts.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
13th edition (2012) -- Library has 14th edition (2017) in print, Ref G 63 .W67 2017 v.1-5. "Presents easy-to-understand information on 194 countries and dependencies from around the world."

TRAC Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium This link opens in a new window
A database of terrorists, terrorist groups, and hate groups with original, analytical essays, profiles of vulnerable regions and cities, and live feeds of news and analyses.

Counterterrorism: From the Cold War to the War on Terror
This great starting point for research on terrorism covers counterterrorism strategies and laws since WWII, key issues, counterterrorism since 9/11, and more.

SAGE Encyclopedia of Terrorism
Call Number: Ref HV 6431 .S225 2011
This encyclopedia covers known terrorist leaders and organizations, both foreign and domestic, as well as important dates and terms related to terrorism. Entries are signed and include a list of further readings.
Terrorism: the Essential Reference Guide
Call Number: Ref HV 6431 .T4977 2018
This reference is essential reading for anyone attempting to understand modern terrorism by studying the arc of terrorism throughout history, from anarchists to Al Qaeda, ISIS, and beyond.

U.S. Federal & State Politics

Federal Government Resources

The 21st-Century Voter: Who Votes, How they Vote, and Why they Vote
Call Number: Ref JK 1967 .A17 2016 v. 1-2
This comprehensive reference covers all aspects of politics and voting from elections and campaigns, to major political figures and parties, to the role of media and major activist groups. * Traces the changing population of the United States and its impact on voting.
American Political Culture: an Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref E 169.12 .A428 2015 v. 1-3
This all-encompassing encyclopedia provides a broad perspective on U.S. politics, culture, and society, but also goes beyond the facts to consider the myths, ideals, and values that help shape and define the nation.
Encyclopedia of Right-Wing Extremism in Modern American History by Stephen E. Atkins
Call Number: Ref HN 90 .R3 A753 2011
Encyclopedia of Right-Wing Extremism in Modern American History provides useful, authoritative information about right-wing extremists, Neo-Nazis, racist skinheads, or white supremacists and their histories, covering conservative extremism from the 1930s onward, white supremacist groups and neo-Nazis, Christian Identity and other right-wing religious movements, and anti-American government extremists. An introductory overview, insightful conclusion chapter, and useful, up-to-date bibliography is also included.
Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History
Call Number: Ref E 183 .E53 2009 v.1-7
Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History explores the events, policies, activities, institutions, groups, people, and movements that have created and shaped political life in the United States.
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law (3rd ed.)
Covers leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and primary documents.
Issues in U. S. Immigration by Salem Press (Editor)
Call Number: JV 6450 .I565 2015 v. 1-2
Religion and Politics in America: An Encyclopedia of Church and State in American Life
Call Number: Ref BL 2525 .R46125 2016 v. 1-2
This encyclopedia provides a comprehensive overview of the interrelation of religion and politics from colonial days to the present.
Voting in America by Morgan E. Felchner (Editor)
Call Number: Ref JK1976 .V69 2008
Publication Date: 2008-06-30
Covers issues and topics related to the voting process in America, including voter participation, interest groups, the media, and how voting is changing.

CQ Press Library & Individual Titles

CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text encyclopedias and handbooks focused on American and international political science.
Congress and the Nation This link opens in a new window
Authoritative series on the US Congress that documents trends, actions, and controversies over the years. Includes informative summaries of legislative activities.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news covering areas such as health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, and more.

CQ Magazine (formerly CQ Weekly)
Weekly news magazine featuring in-depth reporting on public policy, politics, congressional legislation, and elections, including: a complete wrap-up of news on Congress, the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates, and all roll-call votes.
Coverage is from 1983-2017

Congressional Record -- Provides users with the ability to search and access the full-text of the Congressional Record (1873 to date), as well as its forerunners, the Annals of Congress (1789-1824), the Register of Debates (1824-1837), and the Congressional Globe (1833-1873). It is an indispensable resource for political science, American history, and legal studies. Coverage: 1789 -- Present