Skip to Main Content

Map of Henry Buhl Library

Library of Congress Classification

Find Where Items are Located

Discovery 

Look for:

  • Location = an item's collection
    • Use the Collections tab to find where each collection is located.
  • Call Number = a book's address
    • See the How to Read a Call Number box below for help.
  • Status = an item's availability 
    • Unavailable means an item is already checked out to someone else.

Screengrab of Discovery search result for Pride & Prejudice, highlighting the Retrieve Catalog Item link, as well as the Location, Call Number, and Status fields.

 


Other Important Notes:

  • Looking for more info? Click on the Retrieve Catalog Item link to see more in HENRY.
     
  • There are two libraries on campus, Hamilton Curriculum Library and Henry Buhl Library. Items located in the Curriculum Library are housed in Hal 106.

HENRY

Look for:

  • Collection = location
    • Use the Collections tab to find where each collection is located.
  • Call Number = a book's address
    • See the How to Read a Call Number box below for help.
  • Status = an item's availability 
    • For items checked out, you will see when it is due back here.

Screengrab of Henry search result for Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Educational Issues, highlighting the Shelf Location information, as well as the Collection, Call Number, and Status fields.

Other Important Notes:

  • There are two libraries on campus, Hamilton Curriculum Library and Henry Buhl Library. Items located in the Curriculum Library are housed in Hal 106.
     
  • Click the All Copies button to see copies available at both libraries.

Original HENRY

Look for:

  • Library = Buhl Library or Curriculum Library
    • Items located in the Curriculum Library are housed in Hal 106.
  • Shelf Location = collection
    • Use the Collections tab to find where each collection is located.
  • Call Number = a book's address
    • See the How to Read a Call Number box below for help.
  • Item Status = an item's availability 
    • For items checked out, you will see when it is due back here.  

Screengrab of Original Henry search, highlighting the Library information, as well as the Shelf Location, Call Number, and Item Status fields.

Buhl - Atlases --

Buhl - Audiobooks -- 

  • Located in the Lobby area

Buhl - DVDs --

  • Request these titles at the Check-out Desk

Buhl - Earhart Coll. --

  • Located in the back of the Collaboration Area

Buhl - New Display --

  • All Call Numbers are located in the Lobby

Buhl - Open Stacks -- 

Buhl - Oversized --

Career Services --

  • Located in the Career Services Office (PLC)

Rathburn Hall --

  • Located in the Campus Ministries Office

Buhl - Reference -- 

Buhl - Style Manuals --

  • Request these titles at the Check-out Desk

 

How to Read a Call Number

Read a Call Number

1. Write the call number(s) down vertically so that it matches the book's spine.

  • Example: PS 3511 .A33 A6 1955 would be written

PS
3511
.A33
A6
1955

2. Use the Collections tab and Maps above to find the book's location.

3. Follow these rules to find your book on the shelf.

Book spine with call number PS 3511 .A33 A6 1955 PS

Line 1: Alphabetical by letter

  • Example: PG comes before PS
3511

Line 2: By whole numbers

  • Watch for decimals.
  • Example: 3511 comes before 3511.2
.A33

Line 3: Alphabetically, then by number (digit by digit)

  • Example: .A3 comes before .A39
A6

Line 4: Again, alphabetically, then by number (digit by digit)

1955 Line 5: By date, oldest to newest