Henry Buhl Library: Latin American Civilization & Culture: Start your Research

Ebsco Discovery

Discovery
Librarian's Research Tips

Start with some background reading. While it is tempting to start your research by identifying available books and articles, this process will be very time-consuming if you have not read up on your topic.

Use some of the reference databases and/or books recommended on this guide to help you locate important names, dates, and keywords. Using this strategy, research is often better and takes less time!

After you have completed your background reading and developed a good list of keywords, you are ready to move onto finding Books.

History & Culture Resources

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
The original 1995 encyclopedia, an award winner from both the American Library Association (Dartmouth Certificate) and the American Historical Association, was celebrated as a landmark in the development of Latin American studies (The Americas). This new edition adds nearly 600 entirely new topics, replaces some 150 obsolete entries, and also provides substantial revisions to hundreds more. Every one of the 5,700+ entries has been reviewed for currency of content and bibliography.

Salem History Online
Full-text access to the Great Lives & Great Events encyclopedias from ancient times through the 20th century.

Also available in print.
Check HENRY for call numbers.

Cambridge History of Latin America
Includes articles on the history of Latin America. Volume 1 begins with colonial times and later volumes cover content since 1930.
11 volumes.

Topics include the economy, society, politics, ideas, and culture.
Conflict in the Early Americas: an Encyclopedia of the Spanish Empire's Aztec, Incan, and Mayan Conquests
Call Number: Ref E 123 .C729 2013
This detailed study is the only reference work of its kind to address Spain's conquest of Central and South America, providing in-depth coverage of native and European ideologies, political motivations, and cultural practices of the region.
Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society & Culture
Call Number: Ref F 1210 .E63 1997 v.1-2
Presents a processual view of Mexican history, society and culture, from ancient civilizations to the present day.

Federal Research Division: Country Studies
"A description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world" (from the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress).

Oxford Reference Online Database
Online version of many Oxford University Press reference works, ranging from specialized dictionaries and companions to major reference works such as the Encyclopedia of Human Rights, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States, and the Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History, among many others.

Mexico: an Encyclopedia of Contemporary Culture and History
Call Number: Ref F 1234 .C67 2004
This concise yet thorough study, covering the last 100 years of Mexican history, is the only one volume, A-Z reference work available to students, scholars, and readers curious about one of the world's most diverse and dynamic societies.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mexican History and Culture
Provides a compendium of the best available scholarship on Mexico’s rich history and culture.

The Spanish Empire: a Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref JV 4011 .S63 2016 v. 1-2
Through reference entries and primary documents, this book surveys a wide range of topics related to the history of the Spanish Empire, including past events and individuals as well as the Iberian kingdom's imperial legacy.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Call Number: Ref G 63 .W67 2012
Presents easy-to-understand information on 194 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.

Country Watch
Provides country-specific data including demographic, political, economic, business, and cultural information.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures
Call Number: Ref F 1406 .E515 2000 v.1-3
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Call Number: Ref F 1406 .E53 1996 v.1-5
Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society & Culture
Call Number: Ref F 1210 .E63 1997 v.1-2
Presents a processual view of Mexican history, society and culture, from ancient civilizations to the present day.

Global Road Warrior
Cultural, social, travel and business information about countries around the world.

Mexico: an Encyclopedia of Contemporary Culture and History
Call Number: Ref F 1234 .C67 2004
This concise yet thorough study, covering the last 100 years of Mexican history, is the only one volume, A-Z reference work available to students, scholars, and readers curious about one of the world's most diverse and dynamic societies.
Mexico Today: an Encyclopedia of Life in the Republic
This is the best ready-reference on the crucial topics that define Mexico today. More than 200 essay entries provide quick, authoritative insight into the Mexican politics and government, society, institutions, events, culture, economy, people, issues, environment, and states and places.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
Call Number: Ref F 1218.6 .O95 2000 v.1-3
"Covers art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography" of pre-Columbian Mesoamerican civilizations, including the Olmec, Aztec, and Mayans.

Oxford Reference Online Database
Online version of many Oxford University Press reference works, ranging from specialized dictionaries and companions to major reference works such as the Encyclopedia of Human Rights, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States, and the Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History, among many others.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Call Number: Ref GN 333 .W67 2017 v.1-5
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Call Number: Ref G 63 .W67 2012
Presents easy-to-understand information on 194 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.

In addition to dictionaries and encyclopedias, the library has a number of series that can provide valuable overviews and help you identify important keywords for additional searching.

HENRY
The Library Catalog

Use the link above to locate relevant titles from the series listed below.

Greenwood Histories of the Modern Nations
Historical Dictionaries of ...
Culture and Customs of ...
Culture Smart! ...
CultureShock! ...

Political Resources

Encyclopedia of U.S.- Latin American Relations
Explores more than 200 years of political, military, economic, and cultural connections between the United States of America and its neighbors to the south.
CIA World Factbook
Use this source to locate the following information about countries around the world: geography, people, economy, communication, transportation, military, transnational issues, and government. Government information includes constitutions, national holidays, political parties and leaders, and more.
Political Handbook of the World
According to CQ Press, the "Political Handbook of the World provides thorough and accurate information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system."
Handbook of Latin American Studies
According to the Library of Congress, "The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars." This site allows users to search the records of vols. 1 - 65.

Full-text available in print:
Ref F 1408 .H255 v. 8, 15, 19-65 (except vols. 30 & 56)
Historic Documents Series
Provides access to the Historic Documents Series from 1972-2014. The Series includes documents from American history related to a variety of fields, including business, defense, technology, politics, health care, education, international affairs, culture, and more.

Britannica Academic
Consists of the online equivalent of the printed Encyclopedia Britannica plus numerous supplementary resources, including the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, select magazine and journal articles, thousands of photographs and illustrations, and links to additional websites reviewed by the Britannica editors.

Religion Resources

Looking for information on Latin American religions and theology, liberation theology, or indigenous religions?

Check out these great encyclopedias in the Small Reference Room:

The Encyclopedia of Christianity
Call Number: Ref BR 95 .E8913 1999 v. 1-5
Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion
Call Number: Ref BL 65 .P7 E53 2007 v. 1-2
Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion is the only reference work that addresses the intersection of these two powerful forces as it plays out in our world today.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Call Number: Ref BL 31 .E46 2005 v. 1-15
This 15-volume work covers topics relating to people, beliefs, religions, and movements from around the globe and throughout history.

A lengthy entry on the Reformation, including the English Reformation, is included. The entry concludes with a substantial bibliography.
Religions of the World: a Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices
Call Number: Ref BL 80.3 .R45 2010 v.1-6
The encyclopedia's six volumes offer entries on every country of the world, with particular emphasis on the larger nations, as well as Indonesia and the Latin American countries that are traditionally given little attention in English-language reference works.