Henry Buhl Library: International Politics: Getting Started

Ebsco Discovery

Encyclopedias, Databases, & Websites

The Encyclopedia of Political Science
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Call Number: Ref JA 61 .E513 2011 v.1-5
Includes information on a wide-variety of political science topics, including American and international politics, political ethics, public policy, religion and politics, terrorism, and more.
Political Handbook of the World by Tom Lansford
"Provides thorough and accurate information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system."
Border Disputes by Emmanuel Brunet-Jailly (Editor)
Call Number: Ref JC 323 .B643 2015 v.1-3
An ideal resource for anyone studying current events, social studies, geopolitics, conflict resolution, and political science, this three-volume set provides broad coverage of approximately 80 current international border disputes and conflicts.
Encyclopedia of Global Studies
Call Number: Ref JZ 1318 .E626 2012 v.1-4
It covers both transnational topics and intellectual approaches to the study of global themes.
Encyclopedia of Globalization by Roland Robertson (Editor); Jan Aart Scholte (Editor)
Call Number: Ref JZ 1318 .E63 2007 v. 1-4
Coverage includes key cultural, ecological, economic, geographical, historical, political, psychological and social aspects of globalization.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era.
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics
Call Number: Ref JF 799 .H38 2014 v. 1-3
Explores how the rise of social media is altering politics both in the United States and in key moments, movements, and places around the world
Religion and Contemporary Politics
Call Number: Ref BL 65 .P7 R42575 2019 v. 1-2
With respect to the countries of the world, this work addresses two basic questions: "How does religion affect politics in this country?" and "How does politics affect religion in this country?"

The SAGE Handbook of Political Sociology
Offers a comprehensive and contemporary look at the evolving field of political sociology.

A to Z World Business
Business & Trade practices for over 100 countries. Also includes cultural facts intended for researchers, educators, travelers and logistics & international trade professionals.
Country Watch
Provides country-specific data including demographic, political, economic, business, and cultural information.
CQ Researcher
Covers today's most important issues and controversial subjects. Each weekly issue is an in-depth, single topic report featuring current status, outlook of the issue, timelines and extensive bibliographies.
Global Road Warrior
Cultural, social, travel and business information about countries around the world.
Passport GMID
Contains market research reports and company profiles. Most reports cover consumer goods and services. (previously called Euromonitor)

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
"Presents easy-to-understand information on 194 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders."

World at War: Conflict and Society
Provides background information, timelines, primary documents and more related to wars beginning in medieval Europe and continuing to the 21st century Middle East conflict (replaced United States at War: Understanding Conflict Society).

Contemporary Middle East
Contains primary source documents from 1917 to the present day.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Offers information on the religion and culture of Islam.

The Library of Congress provides a list of international organizations, as well as links to 2 other lists.

Other international organizations:

U.S. State Department (Countries and Regions Section)
Great for locating background information on a country, recent events in a country's history, the names of government officials, as well as contact information for people interested in conducting business in other countries.
United Nations
Access information and resources regarding peace and security, development, human rights, humanitarian efforts, and international law.
UNICEF
An organization dedicated to promoting the rights of children and making their lives better, including providing immunizations and promoting education. UNICEF has offices in many countries.
Doctors without Borders
World Health Organization
The World Health Organization (WHO), a branch of the United Nations, provides information on a variety of diseases and conditions, data & statistics, countries, and more.
International Monetary Fund (IMF)
Includes international monetary statistics, including the World Economic Outlook, Global Financial Stability Report, Primary Commodity Prices, as well as IMF financial data, exchange rates data, and government finance statistics.
World Bank
Provides a wide variety of data by country or topic, as well as current and historical indicators from the World Development Indicators (WDI) dataset.
World Trade Organization
The World Trade Organization (WTO) is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations.
INTERPOL
INTERPOL is the world’s largest international police organization, with 190 member countries. Our role is to enable police around the world to work together to make the world a safer place.
Peace Corps
As the preeminent international service organization of the United States, the Peace Corps sends Americans abroad to tackle the most pressing needs of people around the world.
World Tourism Organization
The World Tourism Organization (UNWTO) is the United Nations agency responsible for the promotion of responsible, sustainable and universally accessible tourism.

TRAC Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium
A comprehensive resource for the study of political violence of all kinds.
TRAC provides researchers in the fields of terrorism studies, political science, international relations, sociology, criminal justice, philosophy and history with content that enables intellectual clarity on a highly complex topic.

Counterterrorism: From the Cold War to the War on Terror
This great starting point for research on terrorism covers counterterrorism strategies and laws since WWII, key issues, counterterrorism since 9/11, and more.
The Sage Encyclopedia of Terrorism by C. (Clarence) Augustus (Gus) Martin (Editor)
Call Number: Ref HV 6431 .S225 2011
New introductory essays will explore the impact of terrorism on economics, public health, religion, and even pop culture. Ethical issues such as the role of torture in interrogations, competing notions of security versus liberty, and the debates over FISA legislation and Guantanamo Bay will also be covered.
Terrorism: the Essential Reference Guide
Call Number: Ref HV 6431 .T4977 2018
This reference is essential reading for anyone attempting to understand modern terrorism by studying the arc of terrorism throughout history, from anarchists to Al Qaeda, ISIS, and beyond.