Henry Buhl Library: EXER 377 -- Research Methods in Exercise Science: Select a Topic & Develop your Research Design

Starting your Research Project

Browse the Table of Contents of journals in your field.

Here are a few to get you started:

Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine
The Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine describes all aspects of the field with perspectives, concepts, and methods from the medical, behavioral, and social sciences and physical education.
Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology
Entries explore the theory, research, and application of psychology as it relates to sport and fitness in a manner that is accessible and jargon-free to help readers better understand human behavior in sport and exercise settings.
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition
Call Number: Ref QP 141 .E526 2013 v. 1-4
Presents the latest understanding on a wide range of nutrition-related topics including food safety, weight management, vitamins, bioengineering of foods, plant based diet and raw foods among others.

Encyclopedia of Research Design
A collection of entries covering how to plan and conduct empirical research, including the use of both quantitative and qualitative methods.

Need some help with research terminology or deciding which method of data collection you should use? This encyclopedia can help. Check it out!

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world --- with its beginnings over 150 years ago.

The OED can be a valuable resource when defining variables for research.
Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary This link opens in a new window
A concise, up-to-date guide to the essential language of medicine including the latest brand names and generic equivalents of common drugs.