Research Industries & Target Markets - ENTR 466 - Business Planning

Identify Potential Competitors

Academic Competitors

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Research database supporting all areas of academic study covering 8,500+ popular and scholarly periodicals, including 3000+ with full text.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and nearly 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Covers all disciplines of business including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics, with full text of 2,300+ popular and peer-reviewed journals back to 1886.
PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Search both PsycARTICLES & PsycINFO for Psychology articles, dating back to 1872. Contains citations and abstracts for scholarly literature in all areas of psychology, as well as full-text articles from the APA and other select publishers
Science Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Part of Web of Knowledge/Web of Science. Daily updates make it a good source for recent information. Gives the number of times each article has been cited. Use Journal Citation Reports (JCR) to find impact factors for journals in science, social sciences, and technology.
Social Science Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Provides access citations from 3,000 of the world's leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines.

Industry Competitors

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Covers all disciplines of business including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics, with full text of 2,300+ popular and peer-reviewed journals back to 1886.

Ebsco Discovery
Use Discovery to locate trade publications related to your product's industry.

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Access company and industry reports, and identify trade publications and associations.

Research Industries & Companies

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Covers all disciplines of business including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics, with full text of 2,300+ popular and peer-reviewed journals back to 1886.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Access company and industry reports, and identify trade publications and associations.
Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
A global market research database offering research reports and company profiles providing insight into industries, economies and consumers worldwide.
Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics search engine, Statista consolidates over 3 million data points on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.

Find Statistics & Market Sizes

Explore Census Data (data.census.gov)
Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
A global market research database offering research reports and company profiles providing insight into industries, economies and consumers worldwide.
Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics search engine, Statista consolidates over 3 million data points on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.

Using Global Consumer Survey (now Consumer Insights) -- video tutorial
This brief video highlights the features of the Global Consumer Survey (part of Statista), as well as how to search the survey.

ENTR 466 - Business Planning

Identify Potential Competitors

Research Industries & Companies

Find Statistics & Market Sizes

Estimating Statistics