Henry Buhl Library: Gothic Literature: Find Author Information

Find Books & eBooks

Find biographical info about select Gothic Writers

Search for author as the Subject.

When your topic is the author, they become the subject (see below).
Searches the table of contents of anthologies of literature and criticism.

Search the Notes.

Searches the table of contents of anthologies of literature and criticism.

Screengrab of Henry Advanced Search of Mary Shelley as the Subject.

Need a book the library does not own?

You can request the book through Interlibrary Loan. Info and a downloadable form are available here!

To search for books available in other libraries, try using

WorldCat -- Search the holdings of more than 10,000 libraries to locate books and identify citation information.

Library of Congress -- Access to the Library of Congress catalog and other online collections.

NOTE: Users do not need to identify a library that owns the book. Simply provide the appropriate information on the form and library staff will do the rest!

Electronic Book Collections Containing Author Information

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
Signed essays written by scholars provide essential context for understanding the careers and writings of more than 12,000 authors from all time periods and from all parts of the world.
Twayne's Authors Series (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
In addition to providing American, British, and world literary criticism, each title includes a chapter or more about the life of the author.
Literary Reference Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Learn more about an American author(s) with the reference works, biographies, and interviews available here.
Salem Literature Online This link opens in a new window
eBook collection supporting literary studies, including the Critical Insights series focused on individual authors, works, and themes.
American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Contains over 19,000 biographies of significant, influential, or notorious figures from American history written by prominent scholars. The American National Biography (ANB) is the successor to The Dictionary of American Biography (DAB).
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Contains 60,000+ biographies of important British historical figures from the Roman era to the present day, with 11,000+ portraits

Ebsco eBooks