Daily Life 1900 - 1969 - U.S. History 2: 1870 to Present - Henry Buhl Library at Grove City College

Encyclopedias & Books

Salem History Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the Great Lives & Great Events encyclopedias as well as the Decades in America series (1920's through the 2000's), and the Defining Documents series.

Encyclopedia of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era
Call Number: Ref E 661 .E53 2005 v. 1-3
Provides definitive coverage of all the social and cultural developments of the period as well as its political and economic history. The set features original documents, sidebars, and in-depth essays on major themes and developments, as well as hundreds of detailed entries on issues, events, people, and ideas.
Encyclopedia of the Jazz Age
Call Number: Ref E 784 .E53 2007 v. 1-2
Extending from the end of World War I in 1918 to the great Wall Street crash in 1929, the Jazz Age included historical developments such as the League of Nations, woman suffrage, Prohibition, the Red Scare, the Ku Klux Klan, the Lindberg flight, and the Scopes trial to the rise of organized crime, motion pictures, and celebrity culture.
Reforming America: a Thematic Encyclopedia and Document Collection of the Progressive Era
Call Number: Ref E 661 .R44 2017 v. 1-2
Presenting a detailed look at the individuals, themes, and moments that shaped this important Progressive Era in American history, this valuable reference spans 25 years of reform and provides multidisciplinary insights into the period. Includes primary sources.
Postwar America
Call Number: Ref E 169.12 .P654 2007 v. 1-4
Provides detailed coverage of all the remarkable developments within the United States during this period, as well as their dramatic impact on the rest of the world. Covers specific persons, groups, concepts, events, geographical locations, organizations, and cultural and technological phenomena.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences.

The 1910s in America
Call Number: Ref E169.1 .S3 1910 v. 1-3
Entries discuss America's love affair with the automobile, a "longer" day for urban dwellers made possible by electricity, changes in jobs and earnings due to the millions of immigrants who entered the country at the beginning of the decade, a rise in divorce, and, of course, the Great World War.
The Twenties in America
Call Number: Ref E 169.1 .S3 1920 v. 1-3
Flappers, prohibition, jazz, and the Lost Generation. This volume examines the iconic personalities and moments of the 1920s in America.
The Thirties in America
Call Number: Ref E 169.1 .S3 1930 v. 1-3
This title provides a thorough and comprehensive guide to the United States in the 1930s.
The Forties in America
Call Number: Ref E 169.1 .S3 1940 v. 1-3
The Forties in America discusses the important people, events and issues during the years of 1940 to 1949. Special attention is paid to the importance of World War II, including essays on not only the war itself, but its impact on daily life in America and Canada.
The Fifties in America
Call Number: Ref E 169.1 .S3 1950 v. 1-3
The Fifties in America surveys the events and people of North America during the 1950's.
The Sixties in America
Call Number: Ref E 169.1 .S3 1960 v. 1-3
The Sixties in America surveys the events and people of the 1960's. The set looks at the most important people and events in the arts, media, music and sports and covers the headline-grabbing news items of the period.

American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Contains over 19,000 biographies of significant, influential, or notorious figures from American history written by prominent scholars. The American National Biography (ANB) is the successor to The Dictionary of American Biography (DAB).
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Combines the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, and the Biography Index which includes full-text articles, page images, and abstracts.
Salem History Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the Great Lives & Great Events encyclopedias as well as the Decades in America series (1920's through the 2000's), and the Defining Documents series.

Suggested search terms

Depressions -- 1929 -- United States
New Deal -- 1933-1939
Nineteen fifties
Nineteen forties
Nineteen sixties
Popular culture -- United States -- History -- 20th century
United States -- Civilization -- 1918-1945
United States -- Economic conditions -- 1918-1945
United States -- History -- 1919-1933
United States -- Social life and customs -- 1918-1945

Journal Article Databases

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present with indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and abstracts for articles from 2,300+ academic journals back to 1955 for world history (excluding US and Canada) from 1450 to present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archival Database of full text scholarly journal articles
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Offers full text of 300+ journals providing current news and information pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Large collection of full-text scholarly articles and books supporting research in the humanities and social sciences.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of subject matter in both popular and scholarly periodicals.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and nearly 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.

Journal articles are very specific.

Finding articles is easier after you have read up on your topic.

Use more than one article database.

No database searches everything.
For thorough research, use more than one database and try different search terms.

A to Z List of Journals
Always check the A to Z list to see if we have access to the journal title and date of publication you need!

Need an article that isn't full text? Access the request form below.

Document Delivery Forms

Remember, scholarship is international.

You may come across some great articles in which the titles (and thus the articles) are not in English.

So, when you can, it is a good idea to limit your searches to articles in English.

Primary Sources

Defining Documents in World History: The 20th Century (1900-1950)
Call Number: D 411 .A2 2018 v. 1-2
This set offers in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents, including legal codes, letters, speeches, constitutions, reports, and books, from "Essential Truths" by Rufus Jones to the Nato Treaty.
Defining documents in American History: The 1900's (1900-1909)
Call Number: E 756 .A19 2016
Defining Documents in American History: the 1900's offers an in-depth analysis of primary source documents from that decade.
Defining Documents in American History: The 1910s (1910-1919)
Call Number: E 761 .A19 2016
Topics covered include, The Mann Act; Establishment of Income Tax; The Clayton Anti-Trust Act; The Sedition Act of 1918; Standard Oil Co. v. United States; Creation of the Federal Reserve System; Entry of the United States into World War I.
Defining Documents in American History: 1920s
Call Number: E 784 .A19 2014
The 1920's offers in-depth critical analysis of 40 primary source documents important to this uproarious decade in American history.
Defining Documents in American History: 1930s
Call Number: E 806 .A19 2014
Defining Documents in American History: The 1930s offers in-depth critical analysis of 40 primary source documents.
Defining Documents in American History: Post-War 1940s (1945-1949)
Call Number: E 813 .P67 2015
The text offers in-depth critical analysis of more than 40 primary source documents important to this significant decade in American History.
Defining Documents in American History: The 1950s (1950-1959)
Call Number: E 813 .A19 2016
This important resource provides students and researchers new insights into the 1950s in the U.S., through an in-depth analysis of forty important primary source documents and their lasting effect on American history.
Defining Documents in American History: The 1960s (1960-1969)
Call Number: E 841 .A19 2016
This important resource provides students and researchers new insights into the 1960s in the U.S., through an in-depth analysis of forty important primary source documents and their lasting effect on American history.

The Depression and New Deal
Call Number: E 806 .M43 2000
The Depression and New Deal is a collection of primary sources documenting American life during the longest and deepest economic collapse in American history.
The Fireside Conversations
Call Number: E 806 .L479 2010
In this indispensable book, Lawrence W. Levine and Cornelia R. Levine illuminate the period from 1933 to 1938 by setting each of the Fireside Chats in context and reprinting a moving selection of the letters that poured into Washington from an extraordinary variety of ordinary Americans.
Peacetime Administrations, 1933-1941 by G. Harry Bennett
Call Number: E 806 .R797 2004
Incorporating archival discoveries at the Roosevelt Presidential Library, this documentary collection focuses on the debates and controversies surrounding the implementation and practice of New Deal policies. It highlights the meanings, flaws and outcomes of Roosevelt's attempts to refashion American society.

The Progressive movement, 1900-1915 by Richard Hofstadter, ed.
Call Number: E 743 .H633 1963
This collection of primary documents covers the Muckrakers, social & moral issues, political reform, and big business. Writers include Upton Sinclair, Theodore Roosevelt, Woodrow Wilson, and many others.
Reforming America: a Thematic Encyclopedia and Document Collection of the Progressive Era
Call Number: Ref E 661 .R44 2017 v. 1-2
Presenting a detailed look at the individuals, themes, and moments that shaped this important Progressive Era in American history, this valuable reference spans 25 years of reform and provides multidisciplinary insights into the period. Includes primary sources.
The Papers of Martin Luther King, Jr.
Call Number: E 185.97 .K5 A2 1992 v.1-6
Includes texts of his letters, speeches, sermons, student papers, and articles. Each volume also contains a chronology of key events in his life and a "Calendar of Documents" that lists all important, extant documents authored by King or by others, including those that are not transcribed in the document itself.
Reporting Civil Rights
Call Number: E 185.61 .R47 2003 pt. 1-2
Presents firsthand accounts of the revolutionary events that overthrew segregation in the United States. This two-volume anthology brings together for the first time nearly 200 newspaper and magazine reports and book excerpts, and features 151 writers.
Voices of the African American Experience
Call Number: Ref E 184.6 .V65 2009 v. 1-3
This collection of primary sources includes excerpts from slave narratives; letters, diaries, and other correspondence; government documents, press coverage, and more.
Defining Documents in World History: Women's History (1429-2017)
Call Number: HQ 1236 .W664 2018 v. 1-2
From the European calls for the rights of women to the modern feminist movement, these volumes provide thoughtful analysis of documents and speeches allowing readers to gain a better understanding of the roles, opinions, and changing attitudes of and toward women in world history.

American Presidency Project
Call Number: Search HENRY by President as AUTHOR for call numbers
Search the papers of the presidents from George Washington through Joe Biden. Users can search by president, date, keyword, document type, and more.

Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to journal and magazine articles, books, government documents, speech transcripts, etc. relating to the military and government. Both primary and secondary sources are available here.
Congressional Record This link opens in a new window
Provides users with the ability to search and access the full-text of the Congressional Record (1873 to date), as well as its forerunners, the Annals of Congress (1789-1824), the Register of Debates (1824-1837), and the Congressional Globe (1833-1873). It is an indispensable resource for political science, American history, and legal studies. Coverage: 1789 -- Present

The Korean War and its Origins: 1945-1953
Access memos, messages, reports, and other primary sources related to the Korean War (from Harry S. Truman Library & Museum).

Search Across Multiple Titles

The New York Times (1851-current) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text of the complete run of the New York Times, including full page and article images (1851 - current)
Coverage dates: 1851-current

Chronicling America
"Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."

Individual Journals & Magazines

Harper's
Access the Harper's Archive, 1850 - present. Full text availability.
more...less...
Harper’s is a monthly magazine of literature, politics, culture, finance, and the arts. It is the second-oldest continuously published monthly magazine in the U.S., beginning in June 1850 when it was launched as Harper's New Monthly Magazine
The Nation
Users can search and access the complete backfile of The Nation, "an unabashedly left-wing publication." The database includes 145 years of articles, editorials, letters, reviews, and more beginning with the first issue in 1865.

Suggested search terms

Depressions -- 1929 -- United States -- Personal narratives
New Deal, 1933-1939 -- Sources
United States -- History -- 1933-1945
United States -- Politics and government -- 1933-1945 -- Sources

Simply, add "primary source" to your search using the Note field.

Visit the locate primary sources page for a refresher.

HENRY
The Library Catalog