Henry Buhl Library: British Literature: Find Literary Works

Find Books & eBooks

For freely available online books, also check out:

E-Books & Online Books
A collection of links for locating books that are available through library subscriptions and in the public domain.

Books are organized by subject categories and an A to Z list is provided for quick access to specific e-book databases.

Use the Advanced Search.

This is helpful for prolific writers and/or common titles.

Screengrab of Henry Advanced Search for the Title Rape of the Lock and Author Pope.

Search the Notes field.

Searches the table of contents of anthologies of literature and criticism.

Need a book the library does not own?

You can request the book through Interlibrary Loan. Info and a downloadable form are available here!

To search for books available in other libraries, try using

WorldCat -- Search the holdings of more than 10,000 libraries to locate books and identify citation information.

Library of Congress -- Access to the Library of Congress catalog and other online collections.

NOTE: Users do not need to identify a library that owns the book. Simply provide the appropriate information on the form and library staff will do the rest!

Locating Literary Works in Databases and Online

General Literature

Bartleby.com
Bartleby.com publishes thousands of free online classics of reference, literature and nonfiction.
Victorian Women Writers Project
According to the website, "the Victorian Women Writers Project (VWWP) began in 1995 at Indiana University and is primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century" (from Indiana University).

Medieval Literature

Luminarium
A full-text anthology of medieval, renaissance, and 17th century literature.
TEAMS Middle English Texts
The Consortium for the Teaching of the Middle Ages (from University of Rochester)
Anglo-Saxon Riddles of the Exeter Book
Full-text of the 1963 edition by Paul F. Baum. Both the Old English and modern English translations of the riddled are provided.
Beowulf: A New Translation for Oral Delivery
Part of the University of Wisconsin's Digital Collections.
Robin Hood Project
A database of texts, images, bibliographies, and basic information about the Robin Hood stories and other outlaw tales (from University of Rochester).

Shakespeare

Complete Works of William Shakespeare--the Plays
Searchable database of Shakespeare's plays. Titles arranged in categories of Comedy, History, Tragedy, and Poetry. Also includes Shakespearean quotes from Bartlett's Quotations.
Folger Digital Texts
These "free, high-quality digital texts of Shakespeare's plays start with the basics: superb source texts, meticulously edited on the basis of current scholarship."
Shakespeare's Sonnets
"The heart of this site is the (keyed in) full texts of all Shakespeare's sonnets from Thomas Thorpe's 1609 edition. But the site also provides commentary on the sonnets" ... and more.

Other Individual Authors

Rossetti Archive
For researchers of Dante Gabriel Rossetti, "the Archive provides students and scholars with access to all of DGR's pictorial and textual works and to a large contextual corpus of materials" (from University of Virginia and the National Endowment for the Humanities).
The Shelley-Godwin Archive
According to the site, "the Shelley-Godwin Archive will provide the digitized manuscripts of Percy Bysshe Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, William Godwin, and Mary Wollstonecraft, bringing together online for the first time ever the widely dispersed handwritten legacy of this uniquely gifted family of writers."