Henry Buhl Library: Primary Sources -- World War I: Journalism, War Correspondents, &amp; Press Coverage

News Sources & Other Press Coverage

World War I Rotogravures: 1914-1919
(newspaper pictorials) -- Includes an essay: the sinking of the Lusitania, 7 May 1915. [Part of American Memory]
Military Newspapers, 1918-1919
Stars and Stripes (from the Serial and Government Publications Division) – covers 8 February 1918 through 13 June 1919. [Part of American Memory]

GALE Primary Sources (Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of The Sunday Times (London, UK : 1822-2006), and The Times (London, UK : 1785-2014), and a collection of 19th-century U.S. newspapers
New York Times (1851-current) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Searchable full text of the complete run of the New York Times, including full page and article images (1851 - current)
Coverage dates: 1851-current

Chronicling America
"Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."

Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Index to newspapers and magazines published from 1890-1982.

The Nation
Users can search and access the complete backfile of The Nation, "an unabashedly left-wing publication." Coverage: 1865 -- Present (1 month embargo)
The New Republic
The New Republic has been used as a liberal to moderate companion to the National Review in the past, though its stance has shifted since its early publication and is now considered to be "solidly middle-of-the-road." Coverage: 1914 -- Present
Harper's
Access the Harper's Archive, 1850 - present. Full text availability.
more...less...
Harper’s is a monthly magazine of literature, politics, culture, finance, and the arts. It is the second-oldest continuously published monthly magazine in the U.S., beginning in June 1850 when it was launched as Harper's New Monthly Magazine
Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science
Coverage: 1890-Present via JSTOR (2008 - Present is available via Sage)
Current History
Coverage: 1914-2004 (print holdings)

American Women Report World War I: An Anthology of their Journalism
Call Number: D 632 .A73 2021
Collects more than 35 of the best articles and those that highlight the richness of their contribution to the history of the Great War.
The Times Documentary History of the War: diplomatic [v.1,2,9], naval [v.3,4,7], military [v.5,8], overseas [v.6, 10]
Call Number: STOR D 505 .T5 1917 v.1-11
“A collection of documents concerning the war in all its aspects, so arranged as to record the events of the great struggle on which the nations are now involved and the circumstances which led up to them”—Introd. [issued in weekly parts from Aug. 25, 1914-July 27, 1920]. 11 volumes in all.

Ask at the Circ/Reference Desk
Wipers Times
Call Number: STOR D 501 .W616 1918
Includes New Church Times, Kemmel Times, Somme Times, B.E.F. Times, various trench newspapers.
With the Allies by Richard Harding Davis
Call Number: STOR D 544 .D3 1914
Ask at the Circ/Reference Desk